Federal Highway Administration **Every Day Counts** Innovation Initiative



State Transportation Innovation Council Team Charter May 28, 2014

Objective of State Transportation Innovation Council:

As a representative body of select transportation stakeholders in Minnesota, serve as a shared experience forum for initiating and overseeing the rapid deployment into routine practice innovative strategies to accelerate transportation project delivery and technologies proven to enhance project quality and effectiveness.

STIC Membership:

Chair:

- Jill Thomas, Executive Director, Minnesota Asphalt Pavement Association

Vice-Chair:

- Jim Grothaus, Senior Director of Technical Assistance and Customized Training, Center for Transportation Studies, University of Minnesota

Past-Chair:

- Rory Rhinesmith, Deputy Administrator, Division of Transportation System Development, Wisconsin Department of Transportation

Members:

- Jim Aardema, Engineering Manager, Caterpillar
- Leif Bakløkk, Department Head, Pavement Engineering Department, Norwegian Public Roads Administration
- Justin Black, Account Manager, Flint Hills Resources, LP
- Tom Bold, Pavement Design and Research Supervisor, North Dakota Department of Transportation
- Steven Bower, Engineer of Research, Research Administration, Michigan Department of Transportation
- Chris Brakke, Pavement Design Engineer, Iowa Department of Transportation
- Brandon Brever, Associate Director, Minnesota Asphalt Pavement Association

- Halil Ceylan, Associate Professor, Civil Engineering Pavement and Research Engineer, Institute for Transportation, Iowa State University
- Jon Chiglo, Division Director, Engineering Services, Minnesota Department of Transportation
- André Clover, Research Program Manager, Research Administration, Michigan Department of Transportation
- Fred Corrigan, Executive Director, Aggregate and Ready Mix of Minnesota
- Brian Cox, Technical Manager, Flint Hills Resources, LP
- Allen DeClerk, Senior Research Engineer, Caterpillar
- Glenn Engstrom, Director, Office of Materials and Road Research, Minnesota Department of Transportation
- Gary Frederick, Director, Transportation Research and Development, New York State Department of Transportation
- Larry Galehouse, Director, National Center for Pavement Preservation
- Julie Garbini, Executive Director, RMC Research and Education Foundation
- Ralph Hodek, Associate Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering and Director, Michigan Tech Transportation Institute, Michigan Technological University
- Ron Horner, Materials and Research Engineer, North Dakota Department of Transportation
- Tom Johnson, President, Midstate Reclamation and Trucking
- Steven Krebs, Chief Materials Management Engineer, Materials Management Section, Wisconsin Department of Transportation
- Joseph Labuz, Professor and Department Head, Department of Civil Engineering, University of Minnesota
- Mark Maloney, Director of Public Works, City of Shoreview, Minnesota Local Road Research Board
- Jim Moulthrop, Chair, NCPP Advisory Board and Executive Director, FP2, Inc., National Center for Pavement Preservation
- Matthew Oman, Senior Engineer, Braun Intertec
- Bob Orthmeyer, Senior Pavement Engineer, Federal Highway Administration
- Gerald Reinke, President Mathy Technology and Engineering Services
- David Rettner, Senior Vice President/Principal Engineer, American Engineering Testing, Inc.
- Dan Schellhammer, Project Engineer/Senior Estimator, Midstate Reclamation and Trucking
- Mike Sheehan, County Highway Engineer, Olmsted County, Minnesota Local Road Research Board
- Dan Staebell, Director of Pavement Services, Mathy Technology and Engineering Services
- Larry Sutter, Professor, Materials Science and Engineering, Michigan Technological University
- Peter Taylor, Associate Director, National Concrete Pavement Technology Center, Iowa State University
- Derrell Turner, Minnesota Division Administrator, Federal Highway Administration
- Gerald Voigt, President and CEO, American Concrete Pavement Association
- Dan Wegman, Account Manager, Road Science, A Division of ArrMaz
- Matt Zeller, Executive Director, Concrete Paving Association of Minnesota

Background:

The initial challenge of the Every Day Counts (EDC) initiative was to accelerate the deployment of ten (10) proven but not widely implemented innovative strategies and five (5) technologies that are aimed at shortening project delivery and enhancing project performance. EDC is about pursuing better, faster, and smarter ways of doing business. Beyond the deployment of the initial 10 strategies and 5 technologies, the STIC will serve as forum for considering the rapid deployment of other innovative strategies and technologies in the future.

Team Member Responsibilities:

Provide input on the initiatives to be pursued, appoint agency and industry representatives to the implementation teams, and establish performance goals to measure success. Render STIC decisions by the consensus of all participating members subject to the concurrence of the Minnesota DOT and FHWA co-team leaders.

Approach:

The STIC will meet three times per year.

Resources:

Staff support for the STIC will be provided by Maureen Jensen, Manager, Road Research Section, MnDOT and Stephanie Malinoff, Director of Outreach Services, Center for Transportation Studies, University of Minnesota. Funding for travel for the STIC and the implementation teams may be available from FHWA.

Time Frames:

The STIC will be an on-going team and will only be disbanded upon agreement of the two coteam leaders.