U.S. Department of Transportation
Federal Highway Administration
1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE
Washington, DC 20590
202-366-4000


Skip to content U.S. Department of Transportation/Federal Highway AdministrationU.S. Department of Transportation/Federal Highway Administration

Civil Rights

Home / Programs / Civil Rights / Programs / FY 2011 National Summer Transportation Institute Program Host Sites

Civil Rights

FY 2011 National Summer Transportation Institute Program
Host Site Directory

AL | AR | AZ |CA | CO | DC | DE |FL |GA | ID | IL |KS | KY | LA | ME | MD | MA | MI
MS | MO | MT | NV | NJ | NM | NC | OH | OK | PA | PR | RI | TN | TX | VT | VA | WV | WI

FY 2011 National Summer Transportation Institute Program
Host Site Directory
 
FHWA Civil Rights Headquarters
Contact Information
Name: Ann Wicks
Title: Program Manager
Phone: 202-366-2213
E-mail: ann.wicks@dot.gov
 
 
 
 
STATE
 
 
COLLEGE/UNIVERSITY
 
STATE DEPARTMENT OF
TRANSPORTATION
FEDERAL HIGHWAY ADMINISTRATION DIVISION OFFICE
 
Alabama Alabama State University
Montgomery, AL

Program Type: Residential
Grade Level: High School
Program Dates: Jun 1-30, 2011
Project Director:  Carl S. Pettis
Phone:  334-229-4484
E-mail: cpettis@alasu.edu
Name: Tameka Rose
Phone: 334-242-6943
E-Mail: roset@dot.stste.al.us
Name: Charles Calloway
Phone: 334-223-7394
E-Mail: charles.calloway@dot.gov
Tuskegee University
Tuskegee, AL

Program Type: Residential
Grade Level: High School
Program Dates: Jun 5-30,2011
Project Director: Garry Quinn
Phone: 334-727-3527
E-Mail: gdq55@aol.com
 
ARIZONA Arizona State University
Tempe, AZ

Program Type: Residential
Grade Level: Middle School
Program Dates: Jun 6-24, 2011
Project Director: Lauren Majure
Phone: 480-965-8258
E-Mail: lauren.majure@asu.edu
Name: Mary Cook
Phone: 602-712-7761
E-Mail: mcook@azdot.gov
Name: Lisa Neie
Phone: 505-820-2036
E-Mail: lisa.neie@dot.gov
 
Arkansas Arkansas Baptist College Little Rock, AR

Program Type: Residential
Grade Level: High School
Program Dates: Jul 6-30, 2011
Project Director:  Constance Meadors
Phone: 501-960-0817
E-Mail: meadorstrans@yahoo.com
Name: Dorothy Rhodes/Carla Edwards
Phone: 501-569-2072/501-569-2431
E-mail: dorothy.rhodes@arkansashighways.com
carla.edwards@arkansashighways.com
Name:  Valera McDaniel
Phone:  501-324-5326
E-mail: valera.mcdaniel@dot.gov
 
California California State University - Long Beach
Long Beach, CA

Program Type: Residential
Grade Level: High School
Program Dates: Jul 1-28, 2011
Project Director:  Tang-Hung Nguyen
Phone:  562-985-1661
E-mail:  thnguyen@csulb.edu
Name: Paula Roberson
Phone: 916-324-8379
E-mail: paula_roberson@dot.ca.gov
Name: Will McClure
Phone: 916-498-5036
E-mail: will.mcclure@dot.gov
San Jose State University
San Jose, CA

Program Type: Non-Residential
Grade Level: High School
Program Dates: Jun 20-Jul 21, 2011
Project Director: Peter J. Haas
Phone: 408-924-5691
E-mail: haas@mti.sjsu.edu
 
Colorado Colorado State University - Pueblo
Pueblo, Colorado

Program Type: Non-Residential
Grade Level: Middle School
Program Dates: Jun 13-24, 2011
Project Director: Sylvester A. Kalevela
Phone: 719-549-2890
E-Mail: sylvester.kalevela@colorado-pueblo.edu
Name: Debra A. Gallegos
Phone: 303-757-9969
E-mail: debra.gallegos@dot.state.co.us
Name: Melinda Urban
Phone: 720-963-3015
E-mail: melinda.urban@dot.gov
 
Delaware Delaware State University
Dover, DE

Program Type: Non-Residential Grade Level: High School Program Dates: Jul 5-29, 2011
Project Director: Martin Nunlee
Phone: 302-857-6974
E-Mail: mnunlee@desu.edu
Name: Carla Elliott
Phone: 302-760-2555
E-mail: carla.elliott@state.de.us
Name: Francisco E. Gonzalez
Phone: 410-779-7150
E-mail: franciscoe.gonzalez@dot.gov
 
District of Columbia Howard University
Washington, DC

Program Type: Non-Residential
Grade Level: High School
Program Dates: Jun 20-Jul 15, 2011
Project Director: Stephen Arhin
Phone: 202-806-4798
Fax: E-Mail: enoel@howard.edu 
Name: William P. Carr
Phone: 202- 671-1371
E-mail: williamp.carr@dc.gov
Name: Bob Mihalek
Phone: 202-219-3515
E-mail: bob.mihalek@dot.gov
 
Florida Florida Agricultural & Mechanical University
Tallahassee, Florida 
(New Host Site)

Program Type: Non-Residential
Grade Level: High School
Program Dates: Jul 5-29, 2011
Project Director: Patricia West
Phone: 850-412-5822
E-Mail: patricia.west@famu.edu 
Name: Erica Miller
Phone: 850-414-4742
E-Mail: erica.miller@dot.state.fl.us
Name: Carey Shepherd
Phone: 850-553-2206
E-Mail: carey.shepherd@dot.gov
 
Georgia Albany State University
Albany, GA

Program Type: Non-Residential
Grade Level: High School
Program Dates: Jun 1-30, 2011
Project Director:  Charles O. Ochie, Sr
Phone:  229-430-4864
E-mail: cochie@asurams.edu
Name: Michael Cooper
Phone: 404-631-1972
E-mail: mcooper@dot.state.ga.us
Name: Vanessa Ross
Phone: 404-562-3646
E-mail: vanessa.ross@dot.gov
Clark Atlanta University
Atlanta, GA

Program Type: Non-Residential
Grade Level: High School
Program Dates: Jun 3-30, 2011
Project Director: Carlos Garza
Phone: 404-880-6903
E-mail: cgarza@cau.edu
 
Idaho Northwest Nazarene University
Nampa, ID
(New Host Site)

Program Type: Non-Residential
Grade Level: Middle School
Project Director: Daniel Nogales
Phone: 208-467-8672
E-Mail: rdfnogales@nnu.edu
Name: Michelle George
Phone: 208-334-8845
E-mail: michelle.george@itd.idaho.gov
Name: Jeffrey Kuck
Phone: 208-334-9180,
Extension - 131
E-mail: jeffrey.kuck@dot.gov
University of Idaho
Moscow, ID

Program Type: Residential
Grade Level: High School
Program Dates: Jul 10-22, 2011
Project Director: Richard J. Nielsen
Phone: 208-885-8961
E-Mail: rnielsen@uidaho.edu
 
ILLINOIS Southern IL - Carbondale
Carbondale, IL

Program Type: Non-Residential
Grade Level: Middle School
Program Dates: Jul 11-22, 2011
Project Director: Ramanarayanan Viswanathan
Phone: 618-453-7037
E-mail: viswa@engr.siu.edu
Name: Lesa Branham
Phone: 217-782-2545
E-mail: lesa.branham@illinois.gov
Name: Traci Baker
Phone: 217-492-4732
E-mail: traci.baker@dot.gov
 
Kansas Donnelly College
Kansas City, KS

Program Type: Non-Residential Grade Level: High School Program Dates: Jun 6-Jul 7, 2011
Project Director: Donette Alonzo
Phone: 913-621-8762
E-mail: dalonzo@donnelly.edu
Name: Debra Hepp
Phone: 785-296-7940
E-mail: dhepp@ksdot.org
Name: Jane R. Clouse
Phone: 785-228-2544
E-mail: jane.clouse@dot.gov
 
Kentucky Kentucky State University
Frankfort, KY

Program Type: Residential Grade
Level: High School Program
Dates: Jun 26-Jul 23, 2011
Project Director: JoAna McCoy
Phone: 502-597-5584
E-mail: joana.mccoy@kysu.edu
Name: Kellie Watson
Phone: 502-564-4610
E-mail: kellie.watson@ky.gov
Name: Camille Robinson
Phone: 502-223-6743
E-mail: camille.robinson@dot.gov
 
Louisiana Southern University and A&M College
Baton Rouge, LA

Program Type: Non-Residential
Grade Level: High School
Program Dates: Jun 6-Jul 1, 2011
Project Director:  Patrick Carriere
Phone:  225-771-4316
E-Mail:  carriere@engr.subr.edu
Name: Stephanie Ducote
Phone: 225-379-1382
E-mail: stephanie.ducote@la.gov
Name: Charles E. Harkless
Phone: 225-757-7621
E-mail: charles.harkless@dot.gov
 
Maine University of Maine
Orono, ME

Program Type: Non-Residential
Grade Level: Middle School
Program Dates: Jul 11-22, 2011
Project Director:  Sheila Pendse
Phone: 207- 581-2225
E-mail: sheila.pendse@umit.maine.edu
Name: Jackie Laperriere
Phone: 207-624-3066
E-mail: jackie.laperriere@maine.edu
Name: Maryellen Mayer
Phone: 207-622-8350,
Extension - 113
E-mail: maryellen.mayer@dot.gov
 
Maryland Morgan State University
Baltimore, MD

Program Type: Non-Residential
Grade Level: High School
Program Dates: Jul 5-29, 2011
Project Director:  Z. Andrew Farkas
Phone:  410-885-3761
E-mail: andrew.farkas@morgan.edu
Name: Myneca Ojo
Phone: 410-545-0336
E-mail: mojo@sha.state.md.us
Name:Francisco E. Gonzalez
Phone: 410-779-7150
E-mail: franciscoe.gonzalez@dot.gov
 
Massachusetts Merrimack College
North Andover, MA

Program Type: Residential
Grade Level: High School
Program Dates: Jun 26-Jul 22, 2011
Name:  Gary S. Spring
Phone:  978-837-5187
E-mail: springg@merrimack.edu
Name: John Lozada
Phone: 617-973-7193
E-mail: john.lozada@state.ma.us
Name: David Chandler
Phone: 617-494-2542
E-mail: david.chandler@fhwa.dot.gov
University of Massachusetts – Boston
Boston, MA

Program Type: Non-Residential
Grade Level: High School
Program Dates: Jul 1-29, 2011
Project Director: Tomas Materdey
Phone: 617-287-6435
E-mail: tomas.materdey@umb.edu
 
Michigan Michigan Technological University
Houghton, MI

Program Type: Residential Grade
Level: High School Program
Dates: Jul 24-Aug 5, 2011
Project Director:  Steve Patchin
Phone: 906-487-2219
E-mail: shpatchi@mtu.edu
Name: Jose Villareal
Phone: 517-335-2491
E-mail: villarrealj@michigan.gov
Name: Mary Finch
Phone: 517-702-1853
E-mail: mary.finch@dot.gov
 
Mississippi Alcorn State University
Alcorn State, MS

Program Type: Residential
Grade Level: High School
Program Dates: Jun 19-Jul 9, 2011
Project Director:  Troy J. Stewart, Sr.
Phone:  601-877-6440
E-mail:  troy@alcorn.edu
Name: Carrie Adams
Phone: 601-359-7656
E-mail: Cadams@mdot.state.ms.us
Name: Carr Brown
Phone: 601-965-4225
E-mail: carr.brown@dot.gov
Mississippi State University
Mississippi State, MS

Program Type: Residential
Grade Level: High School
Program Dates: Jun 19-Jul 2, 2011
Project Director: Dennis D. Truax
Phone:  662-325-7187
E-mail: truax@cee.msstate.edu
 
Missouri University of Missouri - Kansas City
Kansas City, MO

Program Type: Non-Residential
Grade Level: High School Program
Dates: Jun 20-Jul 19, 2011
Project Director:  Derrick Willis
Phone:  816-235-6438
E-mail: willisdk@umkc.edu 
Name: James Dickson
Phone: 573-751-6550
E-mail: james.dickson@modot.mo.gov
Name: Edward O. Frazier
Phone: 573-638-261
E-mail: edward.frazier@dot.gov
 
Montana Montana State University
Bozeman, MT

Program Type: Residential Grade Level: High School Program Dates: Jun 12-24, 2011
Project Director:  Susan Gallagher
Phone:  406-994-6559
E-mail: sgallagher@coe.montana.edu
Name: Kris Christensen
Phone: 406-444-6125
E-mail: krchristensen@mt.gov
Name: Lloyd Rue
Phone: 406.441.3906
E-mail: lloyd.rue@dot.gov
 
Nevada University of Nevada
Reno,NV

Program Type: Residential
Grade Level: High School
Program Dates: Jul 11-23, 2011
Project Director:  Zong Tian
Phone:  775-784-1232
E-mail: zongt@unr.edu  
Name:  Robert Easton
Phone:  775-888-7076
E-mail: reaston@dot.state.nv.us
Name:  Kevin Resler
Phone:  775-220-7542
E-mail: kevin.resler@dot.gov
 
New Jersey Rutgers University
Piscataway, NJ

Program Type: Non-Residential
Grade Level: High School
Program Dates: July 2011
Project Director: Andrés M. Roda
Phone: 732 445-3632, Extension-109
E-mail: aroda@rci.rutgers.edu
Name: Paul Thomas
Phone: 609-530-8039
E-mail: paul.thomas@dot.state.nj.us
Name: Lucy Marius
Phone: 609-637-4236
E-mail: lucy.marius@dot.gov
 
New Mexico University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM

Program Type: Residential
Grade Level: High School
Program Dates: Jun 5-24, 2011
Project Director:  Maurice Thompson
Phone:  505-277-5846
E-mail: moncisco@unm.edu
Name: Bryan Brock
Phone: 505-827-1774
E-mail: bryan.brock@state.nm.us
Name: Lisa Neie
Phone: 505-820-2036
E-Mail: lisa.neie@dot.gov
 
North Carolina Elizabeth City State University
Elizabeth City, NC

Program Type: Non-Residential
Grade Level: High School
Program Dates: Jun 5-Jul 3, 2011
Project Director: Ellis E. Lawrence
Phone:  252-340-3446
E-mail: eelawrence@mail.ecsu.edu
Name: Everett Ward
Phone: 919-508-1810
E-mail: eward@ncdot.gov
Name: Lynise DeVance
Phone: 919-747-7010
E-mail: lynise.devance@dot.gov
North Carolina Agricultural & Technical  State University
Greensboro, NC

Program Type: Non-Residential
Grade Level: High School
Program Dates: Jun 22-Jul 29, 2011
Project Director: Deborah Underwood
Phone:  336-334-7745
E-mail: deborahu@ncat.edu
University of North Carolina-Pembroke
Pembroke, NC

Program Type: Non-Residential
Grade Level: High School
Program Dates: Jun 1-30, 2011
Project Director:  Sylvia H. Pate
Phone:  910-775-4000
E-mail: sylvia.pate@uncp.edu 
 
Ohio Central State University
Wilberforce, OH

Program Type: Residential
Grade Level: High School
Program Dates: Jun 12-Jul 8, 2011
Project Director:  Gorgui S. Ndao
Phone:  937-376-6265
E-mail: gndao@centralstate.edu
Name: Marleise Wicker
Phone: 614-728-9598
E-mail: maleise.wicker@dot.oh.us
Name: Cheryl Cattledge
Phone: 614-280-6890
E-mail: cheryl.cattledge@dot.gov
 
Oklahoma Langston University
Langston, OK

Program Type: Residential
Grade Level: High School
Program Dates: Jun 5-30, 2011
Project Director: D. Chongo Mundende
Phone:  405-466-6157
E-mail: dcmundende@lunet.edu
Name: Jenny K. Chong
Phone: 405-521-2072
E-mail:jchong@odot.org
Name: Darren Kaihlanen
Phone: 405-254-3312
E-mail: darren.kaihlanen@dot.gov
 
Pennsyvania Cheyney University
Cheyney, PA 19319

Program Type: Non-Residential
Grade Level: High School
Program Dates: Jul 11-Aug 5, 2011
Project Director: Cassandra Jones
Phone: 610-399-2312/2057
E-mail: cassandrajones@cheyney.edu
Name: Dustin Hobaugh
Phone: 717-783-1081
E-mail: dhobaugh@state.pa.us
Name: Rebecca Roberts/
Henry Droughter
Phone: 717-221-3789/717-221-3705
E-mail: rebecca.roberts@dot.gov
henry.droughter@dot.gov
Lincoln University
Lincoln, PA

Program Type: Residential
Grade Level: Middle School
Program Dates: Jul 5-29, 2011
Project Director:  Robert A. Allen
Phone:  484-365-7395
E-mail: rallen@lincoln.edu
 
Puerto Rico University of Puerto Rico - Mayaguez
Mayaguez, PR

Program Type: Non-Residential
Grade Level: High School
Program Dates: Jun 13-Jul 8, 2011
Project Director:  Didier M. Valdés Díaz
Phone:  787-265-3892
E-mail: dvaldes@uprm.edu
Name: Harold Cortes
Phone: 787- 721-8787
E-mail: hcortes@act.dtop.gov.pr
Name: Roberto A. Escalera
Phone: 787-766-5600, Extension - 238
E-mail: roberto.a.escalera@dot.gov
 
Rhode Island University of Rhode Island
Kingston, RI

Program Type: Non-Residential
Grade Level: Middle Schoo
lProgram Dates: Jul 5-15, 2011
Aug 1-12, 2011
Project Director: Deborah Rosen
Phone: 401-874-7075
E-mail: uritc@uri.edu
Name: Vanessa Crum
Phone: 401-222-2053,
Extension - 4431
E-mail: vcrum@dot.ri.gov
Name: Daniel Berman
Phone: 401-528-4560
E-mail: daniel.berman@dot.gov
 
Tennessee Tennessee State University
Nashville, TN

Program Type: Residential
Grade Level: High School
Program Dates: Jun 5-Jul 1, 2011
Project Director: Fredia Flack-Lusk
Phone: 931-639-3303
E-Mail: Flusk@Charter.net
Name: Cammie Davenport Woodle
Phone: 615-741-3681
E-mail: cammie.davenportwoodle@tn.gov
Name: Joi Hamilton-Jones
Phone: 615-781-5790
E-mail: joi.hamiltonjones@dot.gov
 
Texas Prairie View A&M University
Prairie View, TX

Program Type: Residential
Grade Level: High School
Program Dates: Jun 5-Jul 1, 2011
Project Director:  Raghava R. Kommalapati
Phone:  936-261-1660
E-Mail: rrkommalapati@pvamu.edu
Name: Dave R. Tovar
Phone: 512-416-4750
E-mail: dtovar@dot.state.tx.us
Name: Mark Arrington
Phone: 512-536-5916
E-mail: mark.arrington@dot.gov
Texas Southern University
Houston, TX

Program Type: Non-Residential
Grade Level: High School
Program Dates: Jun 6-24, 2011
Project Director: Khosro Godazi
Phone: 713-313-7925
E-Mail: godazi_kx@tsu.edu
 
Vermont University of Vermont
Burlington, VT

Program Type: Residential
Grade Level: High School
Program Dates: Jul 31-Aug 12, 2011
Project Director:  Karen Glitman
Phone:  802-656-8868
E-mail:karen.glitman@uvm.edu
Name: Lori Valburn
Phone: 802-828-5561
E-mail: lori.valburn@state.vt.us
Name: Lawrence Dwyer
Phone: 802-828-4571
E-mail:lawrence.dwyer@dot.gov
 
Virginia Hampton University
Hampton, VA

Program Type: Non-Residential
Grade Level: High School
Program Dates: Jun 30-Jul 15, 2011
Project Director:  Sonja Pollard-Mitchell
Phone:  757-727-5867
E-mail: sonja.mitchell@hamptonu.edu
Name: Freddie Jones
Phone: 804-786-2085
E-mail: freddie.jones@virginiadot.org
Name: Mohamed Dumbuya
Phone: 804-775-3339
E-mail: mohamed.dumbuya@dot.gov
Virginia State University
Petersburg, VA

Program Type: Residential
Grade Level: High School
Program Dates: Jun 19-Jul 14, 2011
Project Director:  Ali A. Ansari
Phone:  804-534-8989,
Extension - 1131
E-mail: aansari@vsu.edu
 
West Virginia West Virginia State University
Institute, WV

Program Type: Residential
Grade Level: Middle School
Program Dates: Jun 20-Jul 2, 2011
Project Director:  Dedriell Taylor
Phone:  304-766-5701
E-mail: dtaylor11@wvstateu.edu
Name: Drema I. Smith
Phone: 304-558-3931
E-mail: drema.i.smith@wv.gov
Name: Jeffrey Robinette
Phone: 304-347-5931
E-mail: jeffrey.robinette@dot.gov
 
Wisconsin College of Menominee Nation
Keshena, WI 54135

Program Type: Non-Residential
Grade Level: Middle School
Program Dates: Jun 20-Jul 7, 2011
Jul 18-Aug 4, 2011
Project Director:  Alegra Fowler
Phone:  715-799-5600,
Extension 3008
E-mail: afowler@menominee.edu
Name: Danielle L. Yancey
Phone: (608) 261-0310
E-mail: danielle.yancey@dot.wi.gov
Name: William T. Stark
Phone: 608-829-7516
E-mail: william.stark@dot.gov
Lac Courte Oreilles Ojibwa Community College
Hayward, WI

Program Type: Non-Residential
Grade Level: Middle School
Program Dates: Jun 6-Jul 1, 2011
Project Director: Amber Marlow
Phone: 715-634-4790, Extension 156
E-mail: marlowa@lco.edu

[Printable PDF Version, 120 KB]

Page last modified on May 18, 2012.
Federal Highway Administration | 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE | Washington, DC 20590 | 202-366-4000