Skip to contentUnited States Department of Transportation - Federal Highway AdministrationSearch FHWAFeedback

Geotechnical Engineering


Interstate Technical Group on Abandoned Underground Mines (ITGAUM) 7th Biennial Meeting

Schedule of Events, Technical Sessions and Field Trips

All technical sessions to be held in Salon D

March 24, 2008
12:00 noon - 5:00 p.m. Registration, front lobby of hotel
Richard Ryan (KSDOT), George Davis, Bruce Harvel or Charles Geiger (MoDOT)
March 25, 2008
7:30 - 8:00 a.m. Registration, front lobby of hotel
Richard Ryan (KSDOT), George Davis, Bruce Harvel or Charles Geiger (MoDOT)
8:00 - 9:45 a.m. Technical Session I - Introductions, Overview
Moderator: George Davis, Missouri Dept. of Transportation
8:00 - 8:10 a.m. Welcome to ITGAUM '08/ Housekeeping, last-minute schedule changes, introduction of new steering committee.
George Davis (MoDOT)
8:10 - 8:20 a.m. Welcome to ITGAUM from MoDOT. Brief comments on importance of the group.
Dave Ahlvers, P.E. (MoDOT Division Engineer, Construction and Materials Division)
8:20 - 9:20 a.m. "Mine Subsidence Engineering - An Overview"
Gennaro Marino, PhD, P.E. (Marino Engineering Associates, Inc.)
9:20 - 9:45 a.m. "Overview of Coal and Lead/Zinc Mine-related Void and Subsidence Problems and Abatement in Southeast Kansas"
Fred Foshag (Kansas Department of Health and Environment, Kansas Surface Mining Section)
9:45 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. Break with refreshments
10:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. Technical Session II - Geophysics Revisited
Moderator: John Szturo, HNTB
10:00 - 10:30 a.m. "Imaging Lava Tubes for Engineering Design"
Kanaan Hanna,Zapata Engineering, Blackhawk Division; Steve Hodges (Zapata Engineering, Blackhawk Division); James Pfeiffer (Zapata Engineering, Blackhawk Division); Haramy, Khamis, (Federal Highway Administration)
10:30 - 11:00 a.m. "Use of the Surface Wave Seismic Method to Image an Abandoned Underground Mine"
Billington, Edward D. (Schnabel Engineering); Palm, Rick J. (Barr Engineering); and Grosser, Aaron T. (Barr Engineering)
11:00 - 11:30 a.m. "Longwall Mining and Subsidence in America - Then and Now"
David Knott (Private Consultant)
11:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. Lunch
12:30 p.m. to 2:30 p.m. Technical Session III
Moderator: Tom Lefchik, US Federal Highway Administration
12:30 - 1:00 p.m. "From Design to Construction: Coal Mine Treatments Along an Interstate Interchange"
Donald Gaffney (Michael Baker Corp.)
1:00 - 1:30 p.m. "Mapping Underground Mine Workings on the Mesabi Iron Range, Minnesota."
Dale Cartwright, Julie Oreskovich, and Matt Oberhelman (Minnesota Department of Natural Resources Division of Lands and Minerals)
1:30 - 2:30 p.m. "Mine Void Detection Demonstration Projects"
George Gardner, (US Dept. of Labor Mine Safety and Health Administration (MSHA))
2:30 p.m. to 2: 45 p.m. Break with Refreshments
2:45 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. Technical Session IV
Moderator: George Davis, Missouri Dept. of Transportation
2:45-3:15 p.m. "Investigation, Design, and Construction for a Highway Interchange Over Abandoned Lead and Zinc Mines -Route 249 Joplin, Missouri"
John Szturo (HNTB)
3:15 -4:15 p.m. Pryor Rd. and I-470 Remediation, Lees' Summit, MO
Pat Carr (Judy Co.)
4:15 - 5:00 p.m. Title To Be Announced
Jim Sabin (Roctest, Inc.) or Davis Forrester (Earthtech)
  Dinner on March 25 will be ON YOUR OWN.
March 26, 2008
8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Field trip to underground mines and related sites in the Kansas City Area.
8:00 a.m. Depart Embassy Suites for Hunt Martin Stamper Underground Mine at Ferrelview, MO
8:00 - 8:20 a.m. Enroute to Hunt Martin Stamper Underground Limestone Production Mine
8:20 - 11:15 a.m. Underground Mine Tour/Aggregate Quality Control Presentation
11:15 - 12:30 p.m. Lunch
12:30 - 1:15 p.m. Enroute to Lafarge Underground Mine Remediation at Sugar Creek, MO
1:15 - 2:45 p.m. Lafarge Mine Remediation Tour
2:45 - 3.00 p.m. Enroute to Hunt Midwest Subtropolis Underground Developed Storage and Office Complex at Randolph, MO
3:00 - 4:15 p.m. Subtropolis Underground Developed Storage and Office Complex Tour
4:15 - 5:00 p.m. Return to Embassy Suites
7:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m. Banquet Dinner at Hotel.
Keynote Speaker: Don Woodard
Subject: Thirty Years of Underground Mine Remediation and Experiences in the Kansas City Area.
March 27, 2008
6:30 a.m. to 8:00 a.m. Breakfast Meeting of ITGAUM Member States
8:15 a.m. to 9:45 a.m. Technical Session V - Member States' Experiences
Individual ITGAUM Member States:
Missouri - George Davis
North Dakota - Bill Dodd
Alabama - Willard Sitz
New York - Douglas Hadjin
Kansas - Richard Ryan
9:45 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. Break with refreshments
10:00 a.m. to 11:45 a.m. Panel Discussion
Future Directions for Underground Mine Remediation,
Future of ITGAUM,
Pooled-Fund Solicitations From Member States, Progress of Best Practices Manual
Discussion Leaders: Tom Lefchik, FHWA, George Davis, MoDOT
Panel Members: Tom Lefchik, George Davis, John Szturo, others to be announced or determined.
"Official" end of ITGAUM '08


Updated: 02/20/2015

United States Department of Transportation - Federal Highway Administration