Skip to content U.S. Department of Transportation/Federal Highway AdministrationU.S. Department of Transportation/Federal Highway Administration

Office of Planning, Environment, & Realty (HEP)
PlanningEnvironmentReal Estate

HEP Events Guidance Publications Awards Contacts

Strategic Workplan for Air Toxics Research

Appendix A

FHWA Air Toxics Workshop Participants
May 12, 2003
Rosemont, IL
Mr. Brent Bailey
Coordinating Research Council
3650 Mansell Road, Suite 140
Alpharetta, GA 30022
678-795-0506
bkbailey@crcao.com
Mr. Kevin Black
Federal Highway Administration
HEP-40, 400 7th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20590
202-366-9485
kevin.n.black@fhwa.dot.gov
Mr. Chad Bailey
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Office of Transportation and Air Quality
2000 Traverwood Drive
Ann Arbor, MI 48105
734-214-4954
bailey.chad@epa.gov
Mr. Michael Block
NESCAUM
129 Portland Street
Boston, MA 02114
617-367-8540
mblock@nescaum.org
Mr. Rich Baldauf
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Research Triangle Park, NC 27711
919-541-4386
baldauf.richard@epa.gov
Dr. Steve Bortnick
Battelle
505 King Avenue
Columbus, OH 43201-2693
614-424-7487
bortnick@battelle.org
Ms. Elena Berg
Southeastern Michigan Council of Governments
535 Griswold
Suite 300
Detroit, MI 48226
313-324-3348
berg@semcog.org
Mr. Mike Brady
Senior Environmental Planner
Division of Transportation Planning
CALTRANS, MS-32
1120 N Street, P.O. Box 942874
Sacramento, CA 94274-0001
916-653-0158
Mike_Brady@dot.ca.gov
Mr. Kip Billings
Wasatch Front Regional Council
295 North Jimmy Doolittle Road
Salt Lake City, UT 84116
801-363-4230 x115
801-363-4250
kbillings@wfrc.org
Dr. Aviva Brecher
Volpe Center
U.S. Department of Transportation
Office of Environmental Preservation & Systems Modernization
Room DTS-30
55 Broadway, Kendall Square
Cambridge, MA 02142-1093
617-494-3470
brecher@volpe.dot.gov
Mr. Elden Bingham
Utah Department of Transportation
4501 S. 2700 W.
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-3600
801-965-3809
eldenbingham@utah.gov 
Mr. Jim Byers
Federal Aviation Administration
Harrisburg Airports District Office
3905 Hartzdale Drive, Suite 508
Camp Hill, PA 17011
717-730-2833
jim.byers@faa.gov
Mr. Edward Carr
ICF Consulting
101 Lucas Valley Road, Suite 230
San Rafael, CA 94903
415-507-7186
edcarr@icfconsulting.com
Dr. Dennis Fitz
University of California
CE-CERT
1084 Columbia Ave.
Riverside, CA 92507
909-781-5781
dennis.fitz@ucr.edu
Mr. Lit-Mian Chan
ENVIRON
101 Rowland Way
Novato, CA 94945-5010
415-899-0700
lchan@environcorp.com
Mr. Tim French
Engine Manufacturers Association
Two LaSalle Street, Suite 220
Chicago, IL 60602
312-269-5670
tfrench@ngelaw.com
Mr. Mike Claggett
Federal Highway Administration
19900 Governors Drive, Suite 301
Olympia Fields, IL 60461-1021
708-283-3554
Michael.Claggett@fhwa.dot.gov 
Dr. Chris Frey
North Carolina State University
308 Mann Hall, Box 7908
Raleigh, NC 27695-7908
919-515-1155
frey@eos.ncsu.edu
Dr. Nigel Clark
West Virginia University
Engineering Sciences, Building 123
P.O. Box 6106
Morgantown, WV 26506
304-293-3111, x2311
Nigel.Clark@mail.wvu.edu
Mr. Gary Full
Environmental System Products
2002 N. Forbes Boulevard
Tucson, AZ 85745
520-617-2529
gary.full@etest.com
Mr. Rich Cook
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency/OAR
Office of Transportation and Air Quality
2000 Traverwood Drive
734- 214-4827
Cook.Rich@epa.gov
Dr. Alan Gertler
Desert Research Institute
2215 Raggio Parkway
Reno, NV 89512
775-674-7061
alang@dri.edu
Mr. Doug Eisinger
Sonoma Technology, Inc.
1360 Redwood Way, Suite C
Petaluma, CA 94954
707-665-9900
doug@sonomatech.com
Mr. Mike Gilroy
Puget Sound Clean Air Agency
110 Union Street, Suite 500
Seattle, WA 98101
206-295-5844
mikeg@pscleanair.org
Ms. Jill Engel-Cox
Battelle Memorial Institute, Arlington Office
2101 Wilson Boulevard, Suite 800
Arlington, VA 22201-3008
703-875-2144
engelcoxj@battelle.org
Ms. Lisa Graham
Environment Canada
Emissions Research and Measurement Division
335 River Road
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada K1A 0H3
613-990-1270
lisa.graham@ec.gc.ca
Ms. Hilary Hafner
Sonoma Technology Inc.
1360 Redwood Way, Suite C
Petaluma, CA 94954-1169
707-665-9900
hilary@sonomatech.com
Ms. Sue Kimbrough
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Office of Research & Development
E305-02
Research Triangle Park, NC 27711
919-541-2612
kimbrough.sue@epa.gov
Mr. Jeremy Heiken
Air Improvement Resource
47289 Sunnybrook Lane, Suite 103
Novi, MI 48374
248-380-3140
jgheiken@voyager.net 
Mr. Dave Kircher
Puget Sound Clean Air Agency
110 Union Street, Suite 500
Seattle, WA 98101
206-689-4050davek@pscleanair.com
davek@pscleanair.org
Mr. Paul Heishman
Independent Consultant
103 Bucher Hill
Boiling Springs, PA 17007
717-258-6013
paul@banister-heishman.com
Mr. Mike Koerber
Lake Michigan Air Directors Consortium (LADCO)
2250 East Devon Avenue, Suite 250
Des Plaines, IL 60018
847-296-2181
koerber@ladco.org
Dr. Colin High
Resource Systems Group, Inc.
331 Olcott Drive
White River Junction, VT 05001
888-292-9639
chigh@rsginc.com
Dr. Douglas Lawson
National Renewable Energy Laboratory
1617 Cole Boulevard
Golden, CO 80401-3393
303-275-4429
doug_Lawson@nrel.gov
Mr. Jeff Houk
Federal Highway Administration
555 Zang Street, Room 400
Lakewood, CO 80228
303-716-2291
jeff.houk@fhwa.dot.gov
Mr. David Lax
American Petroleum Institute
1220 L Street, NW
Washington, DC 20005-4070
202-682-8479
lax@api.org
Mr. Brett Hulsey
Sierra Club
85 Second Street, 2nd Floor
San Francisco, CA 94105
415-977-5500
brett.hulsey@sierraclub.org
Ms. Katey Lenox
Oak Ridge National Laboratory at NTRC
2360 Cherahala Blvd
Knoxville, TN 37932-1563
865-946-1242
lenoxke@ornl.gov
Mr. Bill Jordan
Texas Department of Transportation
125 East 11th St.
Austin, TX 78701
512-416-2690
wjordan@dot.state.tx.us
Dr. Deb Niemeier
Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
University of California, Davis
One Shields Avenue
Davis, CA 95616
530-752-8918
530-752-7872
dniemeier@ucdavis.edu
Ms. Sharon Nizich
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Monitoring and Quality Assurance Group
Research Triangle Park, NC 27711
919-541-2825
nizich.sharon@epa.gov
Mr. Niranjan Vescio
Environmental System Products, Inc.
2002 N. Forbes Boulevard
Tucson, AZ 85745-1446
520-617-2733
niranjan.vescio@etest.com
Mr. Karl Pepple
Houston-Galveston Area Council
P.O. Box 22777
3555 Timmons
Houston, TX 77227-2777
713-993-4583
kpepple@h-gac.com
Mr. Michael Wang
Argonne National Laboratory
9700 S. Cass Avenue
Argonne, IL 60439
630-252-2819
mqwang@anl.gov
Dr. Allen Robinson
Carnegie Mellon University, Mechanical Engineering
Scaife Hall 303, 5000 Forbes Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
412-268-3657
alr@andrew.cmu.edu 
Mr. Alain Watson
Hillsborough County
Environmental Protection Commission
1900 9th Avenue
Tampa, FL 33605
813-272-5960
Watsona@epchc.org
Mr. Mike Savonis
Federal Highway Administration
HEPN-10, 400 7th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20590
202-366-2080
michael.savonis@fhwa.dot.gov
Mr. Roger Wayson
University of Central Florida
Civil & Environmental Engineering
P.O. Box 162450
Orlando, FL 32816-2450
407-366-7841
407 823-2480
wayson@mail.ucf.edu
Mr. Rich Scheffe
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Office of Air Quality Planning and Standards
C339-02
Research Triangle Park, NC 27711
919-541-4650
scheffe.rich@epa.gov
Dr. Dave Wendt
Battelle
505 King Avenue
Columbus, OH 43201-2693
614-424-7653
wendtd@battelle.org
Mr. Dick Valentinetti
Vermont Department of Environmental Quality
Air Pollution Control Division
103 South Main Street, Building 3 South
Waterbury, VT 05671-0402
802-241-3840
dickv@dec.anr.state.vt.us
Mr. John Zamurs
New York State Department of Transportation
Environmental Analysis Bureau
1220 Washington Ave.
Building 5 Room 303
Albany, NY 12232
518-457-5646
jzamurs@gw.dot.state.ny.us
Updated: 07/06/2011
HEP Home Planning Environment Real Estate
Federal Highway Administration | 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE | Washington, DC 20590 | 202-366-4000