Skip to content U.S. Department of Transportation/Federal Highway AdministrationU.S. Department of Transportation/Federal Highway Administration

Office of Planning, Environment, & Realty (HEP)
PlanningEnvironmentReal Estate

HEP Events Guidance Publications Awards Contacts

Recreational Trails Program State Administrators


Primary Recreational Trails Program contact person in bold print. State name links to website.

ALABAMA
Maureen Neighbors, Interim State Trails Coordinator
Alabama Department of Economic and Community Affairs
334-242-5467; Fax 334-353-3955
maureen.neighbors@adeca@alabama.gov

Street: 401 Adams Avenue, 5th Floor
Montgomery AL 36103-5690
Mail: PO Box 5690
Montgomery AL 36103-5690

ALASKA
Darcy B. Harris, Trails Program Coordinator
Alaska State Parks
550 W 7th Ave Suite 1380
Anchorage AK 99501-3561
907-269-8699; Fax 907-269-8907
darcy.harris@alaska.gov

ARIZONA
Robert Baldwin, State Trails Coordinator
Arizona State Parks
Resources Management Section
1300 W Washington St
Phoenix AZ 85007-2932
602-542-7130; Fax 602-542-4180
rbb2@azstateparks.gov

ARKANSAS
Kim Sanders, State Trails Coordinator
Highway and Transportation Dept
10324 I-30
PO Box 2261
Little Rock AR 72203-2261
501-569-2020; Fax 501-569-2597
kim.sanders@ahtd.ar.gov

David Siskowski, Program Administration Engineer
501-569-2485
david.siskowski@ahtd.ar.gov

CALIFORNIA
Richard Rendón, State Trail Administrator
Office of Grants and Local Services
California State Parks
916-651-7600; Fax 916-653-6511
richard.rendon@parks.ca.gov

Street:  1416 Ninth St, Room 918
Sacramento CA 95814
Mail:  PO Box 942896
Sacramento CA 94296-0001

Alexandra Stehl, Statewide Trails Manager
Statewide Trails Section
California State Parks
916-324-0322; Fax 916-653-4458
alexandra.stehl@parks.ca.gov

Mail: PO Box 942896
Sacramento, CA 94296-0001

Noelle Nichols
Off Highway Motor Vehicle Recreation Division
California State Parks
916-322-3085; Fax 916-324-1610
noelle.nichols@parks.ca.gov

Street: 1725 23rd Street, Suite 200
Sacramento, CA 95816
Mail: PO Box 942896
Sacramento, CA 94296-0001

COLORADO
Tom Morrissey, State Trails Program Manager
Colorado State Parks
1313 Sherman St., Room 618
Denver, CO 80215
303-866-3203 x4335
thomas.morrissey@state.co.us

Tom Metsa, State OHV Program Manager
Colorado State Parks
13787 South Hwy 85
Littleton CO 80125
303-791-1954 x132, Fax 303-470-0782
thomas.metsa@state.co.us

CONNECTICUT
Laurie Giannotti, Trails Coordinator
State Parks Division
Department of Environmental Protection
79 Elm St 6th Floor
Hartford CT 06106-5127
860-424-3578; Fax 860-424-4070
laurie.giannotti@po.state.ct.us

DELAWARE
Susan Moerschel, Manager
Park Resource Office
Delaware State Parks
89 Kings Highway
Dover DE 19901-7305
302-739-9235; Fax 302-739-3817
susan.moerschel@state.de.us

David Bartoo, Trail Specialist
david.bartoo@state.de.us

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA
James R Sebastian, AICP
Transportation Policy and Planning Administration
District Department of Transportation
2000 14th Street, NW, 7th Floor
Washington DC 20009
202-671-2331; Fax 202-671-0617
jim.sebastian@dc.gov

FLORIDA
Robin Birdsong, RTP Coordinator
Office of Greenways and Trails
Division of Recreation and Parks
3900 Commonwealth Boulevard MS #795
Tallahassee FL 32399-3000
850-245-2065
robin.birdsong@dep.state.fl.us

GEORGIA
Loren Moore, Grants Coordinator
Department of Natural Resources
Panola Mtn. State Park
2600 Hwy. 155 SW, Suite C
Stockbridge GA 30281
770-389-7274
loren.moore@dnr.state.ga.us

HAWAII
Nelson Ayers, Manager, Trail & Access Program
Department of Land and Natural Resources
Division of Forestry and Wildlife (DOFAW)
Na Ala Hele Trail and Access Program
Kalanimoku Building
1151 Punchbowl St
Honolulu HI 96813-3089
808-587-4175; Fax 808-587-0160
nelson.l.ayers@hawaii.gov

IDAHO
Kathy Muir, State and Federal Grant Manager
Idaho Dept of Parks and Recreation
208-514-2431; Fax 208-334-3741
kathy.muir@idpr.idaho.gov

Street: 5657 Warm Springs Ave
Boise ID 83716-8700
Mail: PO Box 83720
Boise ID 83720-0065

Leo Hennessy, Non-Motorized Trails Coordinator
208-334-4180 ext 228; Fax 208-334-3741
lhenness@idpr.idaho.gov

ILLINOIS
Amy Madigan
Greenways & Trails
Department of Natural Resources
1 Natural Resources Way
Springfield IL 62702-1271
217-782-3715; Fax 217-524-4177
amy.madigan@illinois.gov

David Sellman, Senior Grant Administrator
RTP and motorized programs
217-782-7481; Fax 217-782-9599
dave.sellman@illinois.gov

Michael Brand, Acting Policy & Procedures Engineer
Bureau of Design & Environment, Rm. 330
2300 South Dirksen Parkway
Springfield IL 62764-0002
Phone 217-782-7651; Fax 217-524-9357
michael.brand@illnois.gov

INDIANA
Bob Bronson, Grants Section Chief
State & Community Outdoor Rec Planning
Department of Natural Resources
402 West Washington St Room W271
Indianapolis IN 46204-2212
317-232-4070; Fax 317-233-4648
bbronson@dnr.in.gov

Dale Brier, State Trails Administrator
317-232-4072
dbrier@dnr.in.gov

IOWA
Whitney Davis, State Trails Coordinator
Iowa Department of Transportation
Office of Systems Planning
800 Lincoln Way
Ames, IA 50010
515-281-8959; Fax 515-281-8895
whitney.davis@dnr.iowa.gov

Debra Arp AICP, Grant Program Administration Team Leader
515-239-1681; Fax 515-233-7857
debra.arp@dot.iowa.gov

Nate Hoogeveen
River Programs Coordinator
Iowa Department of Natural Resources
502 East 9th Street
Des Moines, IA 50319-0034
515-281-3134
nate.hoogeveen@dnr.iowa.gov

David Downing
Snowmobile and ATV Program Coordinator
Iowa DNR
Parks, Recreation, and Preserves Div
515-281-3449; Fax 515-281-6794
david.downing@dnr.iowa.gov

KANSAS
Linda Lanterman, Director of State Parks
Kansas State Parks
512 SE 25th Ave
Pratt KS 67124-8174
316-672-5911; Fax 316-672-2972
linda.lanterman@ksoutdoors.com

KENTUCKY
Jodie McDonald, State Trail Coordinator
Office of Grants
Governor's Office for Local Development
1024 Capital Center Dr Suite 340
Frankfort KY 40601-8204
502-573-2382; Fax 502-573-1519
jodie.mcdonald@ky.gov

LOUISIANA
Michael W. Domingue, Recreational Trails Administrator
Louisiana Office of State Parks
Division of Outdoor Recreation
PO Box 44426
Baton Rouge LA 70804-4426
225-342-4435; Fax 225-219-9429
mdomingue@crt.state.la.us

Cleve Hardman, Director of Outdoor Recreation
Office of State Parks
Phone: 225-342-8188; Fax: 225-219-9429
chardman@crt.state.la.us

Street: Third Floor Reception Area
1051 N Third St
Baton Rouge LA 70802-5239
Mail: PO Box 44426
Baton Rouge LA 70804-4426

MAINE
Katie Nemmer, Interim RTP Coordinator
Grants and Community Recreation
Maine Bureau of Parks and Lands
Department of Conservation
State House Station #22
Augusta ME 04333-0022
207-624-6088
kathryn.nemmer@maine.gov

Scott Ramsay, Supervisor
Off-Road Vehicle Division
207-287-4956; Fax 207-287-2400
scott.ramsay@maine.gov

MARYLAND
Terry Maxwell, Recreational Trails Coordinator
Office of Environmental Design
Maryland State Highway Administration
Phone 410-545-8637 or 800-446-5962, Fax 410-209-5003
tmaxwell@sha.state.md.us

Street: 707 N Calvert St Mailstop C-303
Baltimore MD 21202-3668
Mail: Mail Stop C-303
PO Box 717
Baltimore MD 21203-0717

MASSACHUSETTS
Paul Jahnige, Director of Trails and Greenways
Department of Conservation and Recreation (DCR)
136 Damon Rd
Northampton MA 01060-1818
413-586-8706 ext 20; Fax 413-784-1663
paul.jahnige@state.ma.us

Amanda Lewis, Recreational Trails Program Coordinator
Department of Conservation and Recreation (DCR)
same address as above
413-586-8706 ext. 19
amanda.lewis@state.ma.us

MICHIGAN
Jim Radabaugh, State Trails Coordinator
Michigan Department of Natural Resources
Parks and Recreation Division
PO Box 30257
Lansing MI 48909
517-284-6124
radabaughj@michigan.gov

Mark Mandenberg, nonmotorized trails
517-335-3037; mandenbergm@michigan.gov

Steve Kubisiak, OHV coordinator
517-373-1665; kubisiaks@michigan.gov

Dan Moore, Recreation Specialist
906-293-5131-x 4045; mooredw@michigan.gov

MINNESOTA
Traci Vibo, Grant Coordinator
DNR Parks and Trails Division
500 Lafayette Ave, Box 39
St Paul, MN 55155-4039
651-259-5619; Fax 651-297-1157
traci.vibo@state.mn.us

MISSISSIPPI
Jean Caraway, RTP Administrator
MS Dept of Wildlife, Fisheries, and Parks
1505 Eastover Dr
Jackson MS 39211-6374
601-432-2225; Fax 601-432-2114
E-mail: jean@mdwfp.state.ms.us

MISSOURI
Chris Buckland, Grants Administration
Division of State Parks
Department of Natural Resources
573-751-0848; Fax 573-526-4395
chris.buckland@dnr.mo.gov

Street: 1659 Elm St
Jefferson City MO 65102-0176
Mail: PO Box 176
Jefferson City MO 65102-0176

Marilyn Lehman, Planner
573-751-3442; marilyn.lehman2@dnr.mo.gov

MONTANA
Beth Shumate, Program Manager
Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks
406-444-4585; Fax 406-444-3352
bshumate@mt.gov

Street: 1420 East Sixth Avenue
Helena MT 59620
Mail: PO Box 200701
Helena MT 59620-0701

NEBRASKA
Craig Wacker, State Trails Administrator
Nebraska Game and Parks Commission
402-471-5511; Fax 402-471-5528
craig.wacker@nebraska.gov

Street: 2200 N 33rd St
Lincoln NE 68503-1417
Mail: PO Box 30370
Lincoln NE 68503-1417

Michelle Stryker, RTP Grants
michelle.stryker@nebraska.gov

NEVADA
Jenny Scanland, Parks and Recreation Program Mgr
Nevada State Parks
901 S Stewart St Suite 5005
Carson City NV 89701
775-684-2787; Fax 775-684-2777
jscanland@parks.nv.gov

NEW HAMPSHIRE
Chris Gamache, Chief Supervisor
NH Bureau of Trails
603-271-3254; Fax 603-271-3553
chris.gamache@dred.state.nh.us

Street: 172 Pembroke Road
Concord NH 03301
Mail: PO Box 1856
Concord NH 03302-1856

NEW JERSEY
John Flynn, Trails Coordinator
New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection
Green Acres Program
609-984-1014; Fax 609-984-0608
john.flynn@dep.state.nj.us

Street: 22 S. Clinton Ave.
Trenton NJ 08625-0420
Mail: Mail Code 501-01
PO Box 420
Trenton NJ 08625-0420

NEW MEXICO
Aaron J. Detter, Recreational Trails Program Coordinator
New Mexico Department of Transportation
Statewide Planning Bureau
505-827-5117
aaron.detter@state.nm.us

Street: 1220 South St. Francis Drive
Santa Fe NM 87505
Mail: PO Box 1149
Santa Fe NM 87504-1149

NEW YORK
Nancy Stoner, State Trail Coordinator
New York State Office of Parks, Recreation, and Historic Preservation
Planning Bureau
Albany NY 12238
518-486-2699; Fax 518-474-7013
nancy.stoner@parks.ny.gov

Colleen LaFarr, Grants In Aid Program Assistant 1
518-474-8477
colleen.lafarr@parks.ny.gov

Beatrice Gamache, Grants Administrator 518-473-3321, beatrice.gamache@parks.ny.gov

NORTH CAROLINA
Darrell L McBane, State Trails Coordinator
NC Division of Parks & Recreation
MSC 1615
Raleigh NC 27699-1615
919-707-9315
Darrell.McBane@ncdenr.gov

NORTH DAKOTA
Kevin Stankiewicz, Recreation and Trails Grant Coordinator
North Dakota Parks and Recreation
1600 E Century Avenue, Suite 3
Bismarck ND 58503
701-328-5364; Fax 701-328-5363
kstankiewicz@nd.gov

Keri Wanner, Program Manager, Snowmobile
701-328-5377; keri@snowmobilend.org

OHIO
D'Juan Hammonds, Grants Manager
Division of Parks and Recreation
Department of Natural Resources
2045 Morse Road, Building C
Columbus OH 43229-6693
614-265-6417; Fax 614-261-8407
djuan.hammonds@dnr.state.oh.us

OKLAHOMA
Susan Henry, Grants Coordinator
Conservation and Planning Division
Tourism & Recreation Department
120 North Robinson Suite 600
Oklahoma City OK 73102
405-230-8490; Fax 405-230-8580
shenry@oklahomaparks.com

OREGON
Laura Underhill, Recreational Trails Program Coordinator
Oregon Parks and Recreation Department
725 Summer Street NE, Suite C
Salem OR 97301
503-986-0711; Fax 503-986-0793
laura.underhill@oregon.gov

PENNSYLVANIA
Vanyla Tierney, State Trails Administrator
Greenways and Conservation Partnerships Div
Bureau of Recreation & Conservation
PO Box 8475
Harrisburg PA 17105-8475
717-783-2654; Fax 717-772-4363
vtierney@state.pa.us

Jackie Koons-Felion
Department of Transportation
Center for Program Development and Management
400 North Street, 6th Floor
Harrisburg PA 17120
717-787-6388; Fax 717-787-5247

Snowmobiles & ATVs
Matthew Beaver, Recreation Section
Operations & Recreation Division
Pennsylvania Bureau of Forestry
PO Box 8552
Harrisburg PA 17105-8552
717-783-7941; Fax 717-783-5109
mbeaver@state.pa.us

RHODE ISLAND
Gregg Cassidy, State Trails Administrator
RIDEM Division of Planning & Development
235 Promenade St
Providence RI 02903
401-222-2776 ext 4310; Fax 401-222-2069
gregg.cassidy@dem.ri.gov

Funding administered by:
Div of Intermodal Planning
Rhode Island Dept of Transportation
2 Capitol Hill Room 372
Providence RI 02903-1190

Steve Church, Bicycle and Pedestrian Coord
401-222-4203 ext 4042; Fax 401-222-2207
schurch@dot.ri.gov

SOUTH CAROLINA
Ronda Pratt, State Trails Coordinator
SCPRT - State Trails Program
Recreation, Planning, and Engineering
1205 Pendleton St, Rm 246
Columbia SC 29201-3790
803-734-0130; Fax 803-734-1042
rpratt@scprt.com

SOUTH DAKOTA
Randy Kittle, Grants Coordinator
Division of Parks and Recreation
Dept of Game, Fish, and Parks
523 E Capitol Ave
Pierre SD 57501-3181
605-773-5490; Fax 605-773-6245
randy.kittle@state.sd.us

TENNESSEE
Robert Richards, Greenways and Trail Coordinator
TDEC Recreation Educational Services
WR Snodgrass TN Tower
312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue, 2nd Floor
Nashville TN 37243-0439
615-532-0753; Fax: 615-532-0732
robert.richards@tn.gov

Alice Burke, Grants Administrator
615-532-0765; Fax: 615-532-0732
alice.burke@tn.gov

TEXAS
Trey Cooksey, State Parks Trails Coordinator
Texas Parks and Wildlife Dept
4200 Smith School Road
Austin TX 78744-3291
512-389-8743; Fax 512-389-8242
trey.cooksey@tpwd.state.tx.us

UTAH
Chris Haller, Trails Program Coordinator
Division of Parks and Recreation
Dept of Natural Resources
801-349-0487; Fax 801-538-7378
chrishaller@utah.gov

Street: 1594 West North Temple Suite 116
Salt Lake City UT 84114-6001
Mail: Box 146001
Salt Lake City UT 84114-6001

VERMONT
Sherry Smecker Winnie, FPR Grants Management Specialist
Dept of Forests, Parks, & Recreation
103 South Main St, Bldg 10 South
Waterbury VT 05671-0601
802-241-3690; Fax 802-244-1481
sherry.winnie@state.vt.us

VIRGINIA
Synthia Waymack, Grant Administrator
Dept of Conservation and Recreation
203 Governor St Suite 326
Richmond VA 23219-2049
804-786-4379; Fax 804-371-7899
synthia.waymack@dcr.virginia.gov

Jennifer Wampler, State Trail Coordinator
Dept of Conservation and Recreation
same address as above
804-786-9240; Fax 804-371-7899
jennifer.wampler@dcr.virginia.gov

WASHINGTON
Marguerite Austin, Recreation Section Manager
Recreation and Conservation Office
360-902-3016; Fax 360-902-3026
marguerite.austin@rco.wa.gov

Street: 1111 Washington St SE
Olympia WA 98504-0917
Mail: PO Box 40917
Olympia WA 98504-0917

Motorized Recreation
Pam McConkey, Winter Recreation Program Mgr
Parks and Recreation Commission
360-586-6646; Fax 360-586-6651
pamela.mcconkey@parks.wa.gov

Street: 7150 Cleanwater Lane
Olympia WA 98504-2662
Mail: PO Box 42662
Olympia WA 98504-2662

WEST VIRGINIA
Ryan C. Burns, State Trails Coordinator
West Virginia Dept of Transportation
Division of Highways Rm 863
State Capitol Complex Building 5
1900 Kanawha Blvd East
Charleston WV 25305-0430
304-558-9297; Fax 304-558-3783
ryan.c.burns@wv.gov

WISCONSIN
Diane Conklin, Financial Assistance Specialist
Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
608-267-9385
diane.conklin@wisconsin.gov

Mailing Address: PO Box 7921
Madison WI 53707-7921

Brigit Brown, State Trails Coordinator
Bureau of Parks & Recreation
Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
608-266-2183; Fax 608-267-7474
brigit.brown@wisconsin.gov

Street: 101 South Webster St
Madison WI 53707-7921
Mail: PO Box 7921
Madison WI 53707-7921

WYOMING
Ron McKinney, Trails Program Manager
125 Sunflower St.
PO Box 1429
Lander WY 82520
307-335-8229 ext. 223; Fax 307-335-8230
ron.mckinney@wyo.gov

Tracy Williams, Trails Program Planner
same address as above
307-777-8681; Fax 307-777-6472
tracy.williams@wyo.gov

Updated: 09/17/2014
HEP Home Planning Environment Real Estate
Federal Highway Administration | 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE | Washington, DC 20590 | 202-366-4000