Skip to content U.S. Department of Transportation/Federal Highway AdministrationU.S. Department of Transportation/Federal Highway Administration

Office of Planning, Environment, & Realty (HEP)
Planning · Environment · Real Estate

Events Guidance Publications Awards Contacts

STEP Contacts by Emphasis Area for FY 2012

The Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) Office of Planning, Environment and Realty's (HEP) Surface Transportation Environment and Planning Cooperative Research Program (STEP) ended on September 30, 2012. For current HEP research information, please see HEP's MAP-21 research web site.


STEP Emphasis Area Lead Office/Contact
1. Environment
Air Quality and Climate Change Cecilia.Ho@dot.gov,
Diane.Turchetta@dot.gov
Water/Wetlands/Vegetation/Wildlife/Habitat Marlys.Osterhues@dot.gov
Historic Preservation MaryAnn.Naber@dot.gov
Livability and Environmental Justice Sharlene.Reed@dot.gov
Shana.Baker@dot.gov
Bicycles/Pedestrians Gabe.Rousseau@dot.gov
Noise Mark.Ferroni@dot.gov
Environmental Streamlining/Stewardship Michael.Lamprecht@dot.gov
Context Sensitive Solutions Shana.Baker@dot.gov
2. Planning
Congestion Harlan.Miller@dot.gov
Safety Planning Lorrie.Lau@dot.gov
Freight Planning Spencer.Stevens@dot.gov
Public Involvement and Visualization in Planning Frederick.Bowers@dot.gov
Performance-based Planning

Harlan.Miller@dot.gov
Egan.Smith@dot.gov

Other Activities that Support State/Local/Tribal Planning Capacity Building Kenneth.Petty@dot.gov
U.S. / Canada and U.S. / Mexico Border Planning Roger.Petzold@dot.gov
National Security, Defense, and Interstate Planning Stefan.Natzke@dot.gov
3. Real Estate Services
Real Estate Program Stewardship Carolyn.James@dot.gov
4. Tools To Support Planning and Environment
Travel Modeling Sarah.Sun@dot.gov
GIS/Spatial Information for Improved Decision Making Mark.Sarmiento@dot.gov
5. Program Management and Outreach
Program Management and Outreach DeborahR.Johnson@dot.gov
Patricia.Cazenas@dot.gov
Financial Management and Program Assistance DeborahR.Johnson@dot.gov
Patricia.Cazenas@dot.gov
Updated: 08/21/2014
HEP Home Planning Environment Real Estate
Federal Highway Administration | 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE | Washington, DC 20590 | 202-366-4000