Skip to contentU.S. Department of Transportation/Federal Highway Administration

Infrastructure Research and Technology Stakeholder Workshop Summary Report: Workshop Proceedings

Appendix D List of Workshop Participants

Asset Management Workshop

Co-Chair:
David Ekern
Associate Director of Engineering and Technical Services
American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials
444 North Capitol Street, NW, Suite 249
Washington, DC 20001
Tel: 202-624-5868
Fax: 202-624-7788
dekern@aashto.org

Co-Chair:
Tim Lomax
Research Engineer
Texas Transportation Institute
Texas A & M University
3135 TAMU
College Station, TX 77843-9960
Tel: 979-845-9960
Fax: 979-845-6008
t-lomax@tamu.edu

Facilitator:
Theresa Fountain
Maryland State Highway Administration
707 North Calvert Street
Baltimore, MD 21208
Tel: 410-545-0331
Fax: 410-209-5006
tfountain@sha.state.md.us

Participants:

Michael Bronzini
Dewberry Chair Professor
George Mason University
Civil, Environmental and Infrastructure Engineering Department ST 2
MSN-4A6
Fairfax, VA 22030
Tel: 703-993-1504
Fax: 703-993-1521
mbronzini@gmu.edu

Carl Chase
Assets Manager
South Carolina Department of Transportation
955 Park Street, Room 307
Columbia, SC 29202
Tel: 803-737-1960
Fax: 803-737-2038
chasec@dot.state.sc.us

Dave Geiger
Federal Highway Administration
Office of Asset Management
1200 New Jersey Avenue SE
Washington, DC 20590
david.r.geiger@fhwa.dot.gov

Crawford Jencks
National Cooperative Highway Research Program Manager
Transportation Research Board
500 Fifth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20001
Tel: 202-334-2379
Fax: 202-334-2006
cjencks@nas.edu

Hal Kassoff
Vice President, Highway Program Manager
Parsons-Brinkerhoff Consulting
1401 K Street, NW
Washington, DC 20005
Tel: 202-783-0241
Fax: 202-783-0229
kassoff@pbworld.com

Rick Lilly
Asset Management Coordinator
Michigan Department of Transportation
425 West Ottawa, P.O. Box 30050
Lansing, MI 48909
Tel: 517-335-2606
Fax: 517-373-9255
lillyr@michigan.gov

Tom Maze
Vice President
Howard R. Green Company
Suite 106
4685 Merle Hay Road
Des Moines, IA 55108
Tel: 651-644-4384
Fax: 651-644-9446
tmaze@hrgreen.com

Regina McElroy
Evaluation & Economic Investment
Team Leader
Federal Highway Administration
Office of Asset Management
1200 New Jersey Avenue SE, Room 3211
Washington, DC 20590
Tel: 202-366-9216
Fax: 202-366-9981
regina.mcelroy@fhwa.dot.gov

Lance Neumann
President
Cambridge Systematics
150 Cambridge Park Drive, Suite 400
Cambridge, MA 02140
Tel: 617-354-0167
Fax: 617-354-1542
lan@camsys.com

Bob Orthmeyer
Pavement Management Engineer
Federal Highway Administration
Midwestern Resource Center
19900 Governors Drive, Suite 301
Olympia Fields, IL 60461-1021
Tel: 708-283-3533
Fax: 708-283-3501
robert.orthmeyer@fhwa.dot.gov

Omar Smadi
Research Scientist
Iowa State University
Center for Transportation Research/Education
2901 South Loop Drive, Suite 3100
Ames, IA 50010-8635
Tel: 515-296-7110
Fax: 515-296-0467
smadi@iastate.edu

Roger Smith
Associate Professor & Research Engineer
Texas A & M University
Texas Transportation Institute
3136 TAMU
College Station, TX 77843-3136
Tel: 979-845-0875
Fax: 979-845-0278
roger_smith@tamu.edu

Scott Young
Investment Analysis Manager
Colorado Department of Transportation
Division of Transportation Development
4201 East Arkansas Avenue, Suite B-606
Denver, CO 80222
Tel: 303-512-4123
Scott.young@dot.state.co.us

Katie Zimmerman
President
Applied Pavement Technology, Inc.
3001 Research Road, Suite C
Champaign, IL 61822
Tel: 217-398-3977
Fax: 217-398-4027
kzimmerman@pavementsolutions.com

Structures Workshop

Co-Chair:
Mal Kerley
Chief Engineer for Program Development
Virginia Department of Transportation
1401 East Broad Street
Richmond, VA 23219
Tel: 804-786-4798
Fax: 804-786-2940
Mal.kerley@virginiadot.org

Co-Chair:
Ben Bogner
Treasurer
Market Development Alliance for the
Fiber-Reinforced Polymer Composite Industry
150 West Warrenville Road, D-7
Naperville, IL 60563
Tel: 630-961-7786
Fax: 630-420-5094
Bognerbr@bp.com

Facilitator:
David Unkefer
Indiana Division
575 North Pennsylvania Street, Room 254
Indianapolis, IN 46204
Tel: 317-226-7344
Fax: 317-226-7341
david.unkefer@fhwa.dot.gov

Participants:
Atorod Azizinamini
Professor, Civil Engineering and Director,
National Bridge Research Organization
University of Nebraska, Lincoln
W348 Nebraska Hall
Lincoln, NE 68588-0531
Tel: 402-472-5106
Fax: 402-472-6658
aazizi@unl.edu

David Beal
Senior Program Officer
Transportation Research Board
500 Fifth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20001
Tel: 202-334-3228
Fax: 202-334-2006
dbeal@nas.edu

Shri Bhide
Program Manager, Bridges
Portland Cement Association
5420 Old Orchard Road
Skokie, IL 60077
Tel: 847-972-9100
Fax: 847-972-9101
sbhide@cement.org

Steve B. Chase, Ph.D.
Technical Director for Bridges
Federal Highway Administration
Office of Infrastructure Research and Development
Turner-Fairbank Highway Research Center
6300 Georgetown Pike
McLean, Virginia 22101-2296
Tel: 202-493-3038
Fax: 202-493-3442
steve.chase@fhwa.dot.gov

John Fisher
Professor Emeritus, Civil Engineering
Lehigh University
Advance Technology for Large Structural Systems, Engineering Research Center
117 ATLSS Drive
Bethlehem, PA 18015-4729
Tel: 610-758-3535
Fax: 610-758-5553
jwf2@lehigh.edu

Ian M. Friedland, P.E.
Bridge Technology Engineer
Federal Highway Administration
Office of Bridge Technology
1200 New Jersey Avenue SE, Room 3203
Washington, DC 20590
Tel: 202-366-6712
Fax: 202-366-3077
Ian.friedland@fhwa.dot.gov

Ken Hurst
Engineering Manager, State Bridge Office
Kansas Department of Transportation
915 SW Harrison Street
Topeka, KS 66612-1568
Tel: 785-296-3761
Fax: 785-296-6946
kenh@ksdot.org

Wayne Klaiber
Professor of Civil Engineering
Iowa State University
422 Town Engineering Building
Ames, IA 50011
Tel: 515-294-8763
Fax: 515-294-7424
klaiber@iastate.edu

Andy Nowak
Professor, Department of Civil Engineering
University of Michigan
Civil Engineering
2370 G Brown Building
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2125
Tel: 734-764-9299
Fax: 734-764-4292
nowak@umich.edu

Mary Lou Ralls
State Bridge Engineer
Texas Department of Transportation
125 East 11th Street
Austin, TX 78701
Tel: 512-416-2183
Fax: 512-416-3144
mralls@dot.state.tx.us

Tom Saad
Federal Highway Administration
Midwestern Resource Center
19900 Governors Drive
Olympia Fields, IL 60461
Thomas.saad@fhwa.dot.gov

Neil Thompson, Ph.D.
CEO
CC Technologies
6141 Avery Road
Dublin, OH 43016
Tel: 614-761-1214
Fax: 614-761-1633
bwickersham@cctlabs.com

Pavements Workshop

Co-Chair:
Dave Huft
Research Engineer
South Dakota Department of Transportation
700 East Broadway Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501-2586
Tel: 605-773-3358
Fax: 605-773-4713
Dave.huft@state.sd.us

Co-Chair:
Charlie Pryor
Vice President, Engineering
National Stone, Sand and Gravel Association
2102 Wilson Boulevard, Suite 100
Arlington, VA 22201
Tel: 703-525-8788
Fax: 703-525-7782
cpryor@nssga.org

Facilitator:
Denise Bednar
Federal Highway Administration,
Midwestern Resource Center
19900 Governors Drive, Suite 301
Olympia Fields, IL 60461
Tel: 708-283-3503
Fax: 708-283-3501
Denise.bednar@fhwa.dot.gov

Participants:

Tommy Beatty
Acting Director
Federal Highway Administration
Office of Asset Management
1200 New Jersey Avenue SE
Washington, DC 20590
Tel: 202-366-1324
tommy.beatty@fhwa.dot.gov

Gaylord Cumberledge
President
CCH Pavement Engineering, Inc.
4913 Gettysburg Road
Mechanicsburg, PA 17055-4816
Tel: 717-691-7625
Fax: 717-691-8211
gaylord@cgh-pavement.com

Jim Delton
Arizona Department of Transportation
1221 North 21st Street
Phoenix, AZ 85009
Tel: 602-712-8094
jdelton@dot.state.az.us

Stephen W. Forster, Ph.D., FACI
Technical Director for Pavements
Federal Highway Administration
Office of Infrastructure Research and Development
6300 Georgetown Pike, HRDI-04
McLean, VA 22101
Tel: 202-493-3070
Fax: 202-493-3161
steve.forster@fhwa.dot.gov

Kenneth Fults
Director, Materials and Pavement
Texas Department of Transportation
CST/M& P (#51)
125 East 11th Street
Austin, TX 78701
Tel: 512-506-5804
Fax: 512-506-5812
kfults@dot.state.tx.us

Chuck Marek
Principal Materials Engineer
Vulcan Materials Company
P.O. Box 385014
Birmingham, AL 35283
Tel: 205-298-3217
Fax: 205-298-2979
marekc@vmcmail.com

Bernie McCarthy
Vice President
Asphalt Institute
6917 Arlington Road, Suite 210
Bethesda, MD 20814-5211
Tel: 301-656-5824
Fax: 301-656-5825
bmccarthy@asphaltinstitute.org

Jim Moulthrop
Senior Consultant
Fugro-Bre, Inc.
8613 Cross Park Drive
Austin, TX 78754
Tel: 512-977-1800
Fax: 512-973-9565
jmouthrop@fugro.com

Dave Newcomb
Vice President, Research and Technology
National Asphalt Pavement Association
5100 Forbes Boulevard
Lanham, MD 20706-4413
Tel: 301-731-4748
Fax: 301-731-4621
dnewcomb@hotmix.org

Dr. Mark Snyder
Concrete Pavement Association of Minnesota
6300 Shingle Creek Pkwy., Suite 325
Brooklyn Center, MN 55430
Tel: 763-561-0402
Fax: 763-561-0638
mbsnyder@cpamn.com

Monte Symons
Federal Highway Administration
Midwestern Resource Center
19900 Governors Drive
Olympia Fields, IL 61822
monte.symons@fhwa.dot.gov

Shiraz Tayabji
Regional Manager
Construction Technology Laboratories, Inc.
5565 Sterrett Place, Suite 312
Columbia, MD 21044
Tel: 410-997-0400
Fax: 410-997-8480
stayabji@ctlgroup.com

Stakeholder Workshop

Co-Chair:
Frank Francois
Attorney and Consultant
12421 Seabury Lane
Bowie, MD 20175
Tel: 301-262-1283
frank@francois.org

Co-Chair:
John Mason
Associate Dean for Graduate Studies and Research
Pennsylvania State University
College of Engineering
101 Hammond Building
University Park, PA 16802-1400
Tel: 814-865-4542
Fax: 814-863-0497
jmason@engr.psu.edu

Facilitator:
Gary White
Federal Highway Administration
Midwestern Resource Center
19900 Governors Drive, Suite 301
Olympia Fields, IL 60461
Tel: 708-283-3507
Fax: 708-283-3501
Gary.white@fhwa.dot.gov

Participants:

David Albright
Research Bureau Chief
New Mexico State Highway and Transportation Department
1001 University Boulevard, South East
Suite 103
Albuquerque, NM 87106
Tel: 505-246-6446
Fax: 505-246-6221
albright@unm.edu

Dave Bilow
Director, Engineering Structures
Portland Cement Association
5420 Old Orchard Road
Skokie, IL 60077
Tel: 847-972-9064
Fax: 847-972-9065
dbilow@cement.org

Richard Capka
Deputy Administrator
Federal Highway Administration
1200 New Jersey Avenue SE
Washington, DC 20590
Tel: 202-366-2240
Rick.Capka@fhwa.dot.gov

Charlie Churilla
Research Program Manager
Federal Highway Administration
Office of Infrastructure Research and Development
6300 Georgetown Pike
McLean, VA 22101
Tel: 202-493-3142
charles.churilla@fhwa.dot.gov

James Cooper
Director
Federal Highway Administration
Office of Bridge Technology
1200 New Jersey Avenue SE, Room 3203
Washington, DC 20590
Tel: 202-366-4589
James.cooper@fhwa.dot.gov

Ted Ferragut PE
President
TDC Partners, LTD
417 South Saint Asaph Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
Tel: 703-836-1671
Fax: 703-995-4699
tferragut@tdcpartners.com

King Gee
Associate Administrator for Infrastructure
Federal Highway Administration
Office of Infrastructure
1200 New Jersey Avenue SE, Rm. 3212
Washington, DC 20590
Tel: 202-366-0371
King.gee@fhwa.dot.gov

Stephen Grimme
Pennsylvania Department of Transportation
P.O. Box 3541
Harrisburg, PA 17105-3541
Tel: 717-783-9775
Fax: 717-346-0400
sgrimme@state.pa.us

Warren Hoemann
Vice President
California Trucking Association
3251 Beacon Boulevard
West Sacramento, CA 95691
Tel: 916-373-3558
Fax: 916-373-3637
whoemann@caltrux.org

Dennis Judycki
Associate Administrator
Federal Highway Administration
Research, Development, and Technology
6300 Georgetown Pike
McLean, VA 22101
202-493-3999
dennis.judycki@fhwa.dot.gov

Sandra Larson
Director, Research and Technology Bureau
Iowa Department of Transportation
800 Lincoln Way
Ames, IA 50010-6915
Tel: 515-239-1205
Fax: 515-239-1766
sandra.larson@dot.ia.state.us

Byron Lord
Deputy Director
Federal Highway Administration
Office of Pavement Technology
1200 New Jersey Avenue SE, Room 3118, HIPT-2
Washington, DC 20590
Tel: 202-366-1324
Fax: 202-493-2070
Byron.lord@fhwa.dot.gov

Pete Markle
Director for Research, Technology, and Innovation Deployment
Federal Highway Administration
4A Camelot Drive
Shrewsbury, MA 01545
Tel: 617-494-3198
Fax: 508-842-9049
peter.markle@fhwa.dot.gov

Sue McNeil
Director
Urban Transportation Center
University of Illinois at Chicago
412 South Peoria Street, Suite 340
Chicago, IL 60607-7036
Tel: 312-996-9818
Fax: 312-413-0006
mcneil@uic.edu

Calvin Roberts
Engineer of Maintenance
Michigan Department of Transportation
6333 Old Lansing Road
Lansing, MI 48917-8504
Tel: 517-322-3333
Fax: 517-322-2699
robertsc@michigan.gov

Marie Roybal
Midwestern Resource Center
19900 Governors Drive
Olympia Fields, IL 690461
Tel: 708-283-3522
Fax: 708-283-3501
Marie.roybal@fhwa.dot.gov

Bob Skinner, Jr.
Executive Director
Transportation Research Board
500 Fifth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20001
Tel: 202-334-2936
Fax: 202-334-2920
bskinner@nas.edu

Paul Teng
Director
Federal Highway Administration
Office of Infrastructure R&D
6300 Georgetown Pike
McLean, VA 22101
Tel: 202-493-3022
Fax: 202-493-3442
paul.teng@fhwa.dot.gov

Mehmet Tumay
Associate Dean & Georgia Gulf Professor
Louisiana State University
College of Engineering
3304 CEBA Building
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
Tel: 225-578-9165
Fax: 225-578-4845
mtumay@eng.lsu.edu

<< Previous | Contents

Updated: 10/18/2013