Skip to content U.S. Department of Transportation/Federal Highway AdministrationU.S. Department of Transportation/Federal Highway Administration

Office of Planning, Environment, & Realty (HEP)
Planning · Environment · Real Estate

HEP Events Guidance Publications Glossary Awards Contacts

Integrating Context Sensitive Solutions in Transportation Planning

Appendix A: State DOT/MPO and CSS-Related Professional Organizations Contact Lists

< Prev | Index | Next >

Contact Information for CSS, State DOTs

State Name DOT Website CSS Contact Title Phone E-mail
Alabama http://www.dot.state.al.us     334-242-6358 arkled@dot.state.al.us
Alaska http://www.dot.state.ak.us Duane Doerflinger Preconstruction Standards Engineer, DOT&PF   duane_doerflinger@dot.state.ak.us
Arizona http://www.dot.state.az.us Rick Duarte Manager, Environmental & Enhancement Group 602-712-7767 rduarte@dot.state.az.us
Arkansas http://www.arkansashighways.com Phil McConnell Assistant Chief Engineer-Design 501-569-2301  
California http://www.dot.ca.gov Carolyn Dudley Senior Landscape Architect 916-654-5505 Carolyn.Dudley@dot.ca.gov
Colorado http://www.dot.state.co.us Dean Van De Wege   303-757-9040  
Connecticut http://www.ct.gov/dot Richard Jankovich   860-594-2702 Richard.Jankovich@po.state.ct.us
Delaware http://www.deldot.net Carolann Wicks Director - Transportation Solutions 302-760-2080  or
800-652-5600
dot-public-relations@state.de.us
Florida http://www.dot.state.fl.us Brian Blanchard, P.E State Roadway Design Engineer 850-414-4377 brian.blanchard@dot.state.fl.us
Georgia http://www.dot.state.ga.us Joseph P. Palladi, P.E. State Transportation Planning Administrator 404-656-5267 joe.palladi@dot.state.ga.us
Hawaii http://www.hawaii.gov/dot/highways/index.htm Gary Choy Assistant Chief of Engineering 808-692-7559 gary.choy@hawaii.gov
Idaho http://www.itd.idaho.gov L. Thomas Roadway Design 208-334-8488  
Illinois http://www.dot.state.il.us Kathy Ames Deputy Director 217-782-6332 amesks@dot.il.gov
Indiana http://www.in.gov/dot Janice Osadczuk Division of Environment, Planning and Engineering 317-232-5468  
Iowa http://www.dot.state.ia.us Deanna Maifield Design Methods Engineer 515-239-1402 Deanna.Maifield@dot.iowa.gov
Kansas http://www.ksdot.org James O. Brewer Bureau of Design 785-296-3901  
Kentucky http://www.kytc.state.ky.us Bill Gulick   502-564-3730  
Louisiana http://www.dotd.louisiana.gov Vincent Russo, Jr. Environmental Section 225-242-4502  
Maine http://www.maine.gov/mdot Kathleen B. Fuller, AICP Director, Environmental Office 207-624-3100 Kathy.Fuller@maine.gov
Maryland http://www.marylandroads.com Dennis German MDSHA 410-545-8900 Dgerman@sha.state.md.us
Massachusetts http://www.state.ma.us George Batchelor Supervisor of Landscape Design 617-973-7857 george.batchelor@state.ma.us
Michigan http://www.michigan.gov/mdot Mark A. Van Port Fleet Engineer of Design Support 517-373-0030 vanportfleetm@michigan.gov
Minnesota http://www.dot.state.mn.us Scott Bradley Landscape Architecture Chief 651-284-3758 scott.bradley@dot.state.mn.us
Mississippi http://www.gomdot.com Claiborne Barnwell Environmental/Location Division 601-359-7920  
Missouri http://www.modot.gov David T. Silvester, PE Design 573-526-2903 David.Silvester@modot.mo.gov
Montana http://dot.state.wy.us Paul Ferry   406-444-6244 pferry@mt.gov
Nebraska http://www.dor.state.ne.us Eldon Poppe   402-471-4567 epoppe@dor.state.ne.us
Nevada http://www.nevadadot.com Wayne Kinder Chief Road Design Engineer 775-888-7490 wkinder@dot.state.nv.us
New Hampshire http://webster.state.nh.us/dot/index.htm Craig Green Administrator, Bureau of Highway Design, New Hampshire Department of Transportation (NHDOT) 603-271-2784 cgreen@dot.state.nh.us
New Jersey http://www.state.nj.us/transportation/ Tony Davis Project Manager, Division of Project Planning and Development 609-530-3643 Anthony.Davis@dot.state.nj.us
New Mexico http://www.nmshtd.state.nm.us Joe Sanchez Context Sensitive Solutions Bureau Chief 505-827-5249 Joe.Sanchez@nmshtd.state.nm.us
New York http://www.dot.state.ny.us Philip Bell, RLA Chair, CSS Implementation Team, Design Division 518-485-8219  
North Carolina http://www.ncdot.org Julie Hunkins Director, Office of Environmental Quality 919-733-1175  
North Dakota http://www.state.nd.us/dot Terry Udland Bridge Division 701-328-1969  
Ohio http://www.dot.state.oh.us Timothy M. Hill Administrator, Office of Environmental Services 614-466-7100 Tim.Hill@dot.state.oh.us
Oklahoma http://www.okladot.state.ok.us John Hartley Environmental Studies, Planning & Research 405-521-3050  
Oregon http://www.odot.state.or.us James B. Cox Jr. Interim Manager, Environmental Project Management Unit 503-986-3013 jim.b.cox@odot.state.or.us
Pennsylvania http://www.dot.state.pa.us Daniel B. Stewart, P.E   717-787-0456 danistewar@state.pa.us
Rhode Island http://www.dot.state.ri.us Barbara A. Petrarca Landscape Architecture Unit 401-222-2023 x 4090 bptrarca@dot.state.ri.us
South Carolina http://www.dot.state.sc.us Rob Bedenbaugh SCDOT Preliminary Design Engineer 803-737-1134 bedenbaugr@scdot.org
South Dakota http://www.sddot.com Joel W. Gengler   605-773-3433 joel.gengler@state.sd.us
Tennessee http://www.tdot.state.tn.us Ed Cole Chief of Environment and Planning 615-741-2848  
Texas http://www.dot.state.tx.us Aurora (Rory) Meza, P.E Design Division 512-416-2678  
Utah http://www.dot.state.ut.us Angelo Papastamos Project Development – CSS Director 801-965-4561 apapastamos@utah.gov
Vermont http://www.aot.state.vt.us Robert F. Shattuck, P.E. Roadway Design 802-828-2664  
Virginia http://www.virginiadot.org Emmett R. Heltzel, P.E. Assistant State Location and Design Engineer 804-786-2949 Emmett.Heltzel@VirginiaDOT.org
Washington http://www.wsdot.wa.gov Dave Olson Design Office: Safety, Aesthetics, and Context Sensitive Design 360-705-7952 OlsonDa@wsdot.wa.gov
West Virginia http://www.wvdot.com Randy Epperly Deputy State Highway Engineer, Development 304-558-6266  
Wisconsin http://www.dot.wisconsin.gov Beth Cannestra P.E. Chief Roadway Development Engineer 608-267-7943 beth.cannestra@dot.state.wi.us
Wyoming http://dot.state.wy.us x      
Federal Lands x        
Puerto Rico x        
District of Columbia http://ddot.dc.gov Faisal Hameed Infrastructure Project Management Administration 202-671-4607 faisal.hameed@dc.gov

< Prev | Index | Next >

Updated: 07/01/2014
HEP Home Planning Environment Real Estate
Federal Highway Administration | 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE | Washington, DC 20590 | 202-366-4000