# Tax Rates on Motor Fuel

TABLE MF-121T Page 1 of 3 2014 Reporting Period

SEPTEMBER 2014

Rate Effective Date Rate Effective Date Rate Effective Date R	tate Effective D	
Trate Ellostive Bate Trate Ellostive Bate Trate		- Date
Alabama 18.0 10/02/95 19.0 10/01/95 0.0 - 1	8.0 10/02/9	
	8.0 09/01/0	
	8.0 07/01/0	
	21.5 07/01/0	
	36.0 07/01/1	
	22.0 01/01/9	
	25.0 01/01/0	
	23.0 01/01/9	
	23.5 10/01/0	
	7.1 01/01/1	
	7.5 07/01/7	
1 ° 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1	6.0 07/01/9	
	25.0 07/01/0	
	9.0 01/01/9	
	8.0 01/01/0	
	9.0 01/01/8	
	24.0 07/01/0	
	30.5 10/01/1	
	20.0 01/01/9	
	23.0 08/01/9	
	0.0 -	
	24.0 07/30/1	)/13
	0.0 -	
	28.5 07/01/1	I/12
	8.4 08/01/0	
	7.0 04/01/9	
	27.8 07/01/0	
	26.4 01/01/1	
Nevada 24.0 10/02/92 27.0 10/02/92 22.0 07/01/97 2	24.0 10/02/9	
	8.0 12/01/0	
	0.5 01/01/9	
	7.0 07/01/9	1/95
New York 26.5 01/01/14 24.7 01/01/14 8.1 01/01/02 2	26.5 01/01/1	I/14
North Carolina 36.8 07/01/14 36.8 07/01/14 27.1 07/01/05 3	35.3 07/01/1	
North Dakota 23.0 07/01/05 23.0 07/01/05 23.0 07/01/05 2	23.0 07/01/0	1/05
Ohio 28.0 07/01/05 28.0 07/01/05 28.0 07/01/05 2	28.0 07/01/0	1/05
Oklahoma 17.0 05/27/87 14.0 05/27/87 17.0 05/27/87 1	7.0 05/27/8	7/87
Oregon 30.0 01/01/11 30.0 01/01/11 23.1 01/01/11 3	01/01/1	I/11
Pennsylvania 40.7 01/01/14 51.0 01/01/14 30.2 01/01/14 4	01/01/1	I/14
	32.0 04/01/0	1/09
South Carolina 16.0 07/01/87 16.0 07/01/87 16.0 07/01/87 1	6.0 07/01/8	/87
South Dakota 22.0 04/01/99 22.0 04/01/99 20.0 04/01/99 8	8.0 07/01/0	1/09
Tennessee 20.0 07/01/89 17.0 04/01/90 14.0 07/01/89 2	20.0 07/01/8	1/89
Texas 20.0 10/01/91 20.0 10/01/91 15.0 09/01/97 2	20.0 10/01/9	I/91
Utah 24.5 05/01/97 24.5 05/01/97 24.5 05/01/97 2	24.5 05/01/9	1/97
Vermont 19.2 05/01/13 31.0 07/01/13 0.0 - 0	0.0	
Virginia 11.1 07/01/13 20.2 07/01/13 11.1 07/01/13 1	1.1 07/01/1	I/13
Washington 37.5 07/01/08 37.5 07/01/08 37.5 07/01/08 3	37.5 07/01/0	1/08
	35.7 01/01/1	1/14
Wisconsin 30.9 04/01/06 30.9 04/01/06 22.6 04/01/06 3	04/01/0	1/06
	24.0 07/01/1	I/13
Puerto Rico 16 07/01/75 8 07/01/94 0 -	0 -	
Mean 23.044 - 23.77 - 18.626 - 22	2.62 -	
Weighted Avg		
Federal Tax 18.4 10/01/97 24.4 10/01/97 13.6 10/01/97 1	8.4 01/01/0	1/05

### Tax Rates on Motor Fuel - Footnotes A

TABLE MF-121T

Page 2 of 3

#### SEPTEMBER 2014

Created On:

State	Comments
Alabama	The gasoline, gasohol, and diesel rates include a 2 cents per gallon inspection fee. Alabama-registered LPG vehicles pay an annual fee based
	on vehicle type in lieu of the volume tax.
Arizona	The fuel tax on diesel remains at 18 cents per gallon for light and exempt vehicles, but is set at 27 cents per gallon if used to propel a
	truck with more than two axles or with a declared gross weight over 26,000 pounds.
Arkansas	The gasoline, gasohol, and diesel rates include 0.4 cents per gallon Environmental Assurance Fee. Applicants for LPG user permits must pay a
	fee in lieu of the volume tax.
California	LPG users may pay an annual fee in lieu of the volume tax.
Colorado	Owners of LPG vehicles registered in the State must pay an annual fee in lieu of the volume tax.
Connecticut	The tax is computed at 5% of the gross earnings from the first sale of a petroleum product in the State.
Delaware	In addition to the fixed tax rates shown, there is a Hazardous Substance Cleanup Act (HSCA) Tax. HSCA is a 0.9 percent tax on all taxable gross
	receipts from the sale of petroleum or petroleum products.
Florida	Tax rates are variable, adjusted annually. For gasoline and gasohol, in addition to the rates shown, there is a State-imposed State
	Comprehensive Enhanced Transportation System (SCETS) tax that varies by county. All counties levy the SCETS tax on gasoline, but only one
	levies less than the maximum rate. Natural gas-powered vehicles registered in the State will not pay any tax on alternative fuels from January
	1, 2014 through January 1, 2019.
Hawaii	Effective 01/01/02, alternative fuels pay an amount proportional to the diesel tax as follows: .29 for ethanol, .5 for bio-diesel, and .33 for
	LPG. An additional 1 cent is added to these amounts, and then rounded to the nearest 1 cent.
Idaho	LPG users may pay an annual fee based on vehicle weight in lieu of volume tax.
Illinois	Motor carriers pay an additional 6.3 cents per gallon on gasoline, 6.5 cents on diesel, and 5.9 cents on LPG.
Indiana	Motor carriers pay an additional 11 cents per gallon. LPG vehicles pay an annual fee.
Iowa	Effective 07/01/02, motor fuel tax rates will be adjusted annually based on the amounts of ethanol blended gasoline being sold and distributed
	annually.
Kansas	LPG users may pay an annual fee based on mileage and gross vehicle weight in lieu of the volume tax.
Kentucky	Tax rates are variable, adjusted quarterly. A 2 percent surtax is imposed on gasoline and 4.7 percent on special fuels for any vehicle with 3
	or more axles. The gasoline, gasohol, and diesel rates include 1.4 cents per gallon Petroleum Environmental Assurance Fee.
Maine	Rates are variable, adjusted every February based on past years Consumer Price Index. Rates are effective on the following July 1.
Minnesota	There is a credit to the wholesaler of 15 cents per gallon of alcohol used to make gasohol.
Mississippi	The gasoline, gasohol, and diesel rates include 0.4 cents per gallon dedicated to the Groundwater Protection Trust Fund.
Missouri	LPG vehicles 18,000 pounds or less gross vehicle weight registered in the State pay an annual fee in lieu of the volume tax.
Montana	LPG vehicles pay 7 cents per gallon to a licensed dealer. There is an alcohol distiller credit of 20 cents per gallon of alcohol produced in
	the State with State agriculture products, and used to make gasohol.
Nebraska	Rates are variable, adjusted quarterly. The gasoline and gasohol include 0.6 cents per gallon and diesel rate includes 0.2 cents per gallon
	Petroleum Release Remedial Action Fee. Effective 01/01/02, new Nebraska ethanol production facilities may receive an ethanol production credit
	equal to 18 cents per gallon of ethanol used to fuel motor vehicles.
New Hampshire	The gasoline, gasohol, and diesel rates include 1.5 cents per gallon Oil Discharge and Disposal Cleanup Fee. Alternative fuel vehicles pay
(1) This table show	remoter fuel tay rates in effect as of January 1 and any subsequent changes that have occurred through the data shown in the title. Only tayes that are levied as a dollar

<sup>(1)</sup> This table shows motor-fuel tax rates in effect as of January 1 and any subsequent changes that have occurred through the date shown in the title. Only taxes that are levied as a dollar amount per volume of motor fuel are included on sheet one. Taxes that apply to all petroleum products with distinguishing motor fuel are omitted.

<sup>(2)</sup> The gasohol rates shown are for gasoline blended with 10 percent ethanol. NOTE: The States which have exemptions are Hawaii (1 cent), lowa (2 cents) Maine (6.5 cents), and Montana (4 cents).

# Tax Rates on Motor Fuel - Footnotes B

TABLE MF-121T

Created On: Page 2 of 3

04/21/2015 2014 Reporting Period

State	Comments
	twice the usual registration fee in lieu of the volume tax.
New Jersey	In addition to the rates shown, there is a Petroleum Products Gross Receipts Tax. The tax is computed on a cents-per-gallon basis and is
	applicable to a wide variety of petroleum products.
New Mexico	The gasoline, gasohol, and diesel rates include the Petroleum Products Loading Fee of \$150 per 8,000 gallons (1.875 cents per gallon). Owners
	of LPG-powered vehicles up to 54,000 pounds gross vehicle weight may pay an annual fee in lieu of the volume tax.
New York	Rates are variable, adjusted annually. Rates include the Petroleum Business Tax of 17 cents per gallon. The gasoline rate includes a 0.5 mill
	(0.05 cents) per gallon Petroleum Testing Fee.
North Carolina	Rates are variable, adjusted semiannually.
North Dakota	A special excise tax of 2% is imposed on all sales of special fuel (diesel or LPG) that are exempted from the volume tax if the fuel is sold
	for use in the State. There is a producer credit of 40 cents per gallon of agriculturally derived alcohol produced in the State and used to
	make gasohol.
Ohio	Commercial vehicles formerly subject to the highway use tax pay an additional 3 cents per gallon. Dealers are refunded 10 cents per gallon of
	each qualified fuel (ethanol or methanol) blended with unleaded gasoline.
Oklahoma	Rates shown include 1 cent per gallon tax dedicated to the Petroleum Underground Tank Release Environmental Cleanup Indemnity Fund. When the
	Fund reaches specified balance, future tax revenues will be deposited in a highway fund. The gasoline, gasohol, and LPG rates include 0.08
	cents for fuel inspection. LPG users may pay an annual fee in lieu of the volume tax.
Oregon	The diesel and LPG rates shown are paid by users for vehicles not under the jurisdiction of Public Utility Commissioner. Vehicles under the
	jurisdiction of the Public Utilities Commissioner and paying motor-carrier fees are exempt from payment of the motor-fuel tax.
Pennsylvania	The rates include the Oil Franchise Tax for Maintenance and Construction, a variable rate tax adjusted annually. LPG rate is based on the
	gasolie gallon equivalent.
Rhode Island	Rates includes 1 cent per gallon tax for the Underground Storage Tank Financial Responsibility Fund.
South Dakota	As of 7/1/2009, South Dakota taxes gasoline at 22 cents and ethyl alcohol at 8 cents.
Texas	Owners of LPG vehicles registered in the State must pay an annual fee in lieu of the volume tax.
Utah	LPG is tax exempt if user purchases annual exemption certificate.
Vermont	Diesel vehicles 10,000 pounds and over pay 26 cents per gallon. LPG vehicles are subject to a registration fee 1.75 times the usual fee. The
	gasoline, gasohol, and diesel rates include 1 cents per gallon for the Petroleum Cleanup Fund.
Virginia	Vehicles weighing 26,000 pounds or more having 3 or more axles pay an additional 3.5 cents per gallon.
Washington	Owners of LPG vehicles pay an annual fee.
West Virginia	Rates are variable, adjusted annually.
Wisconsin	Rates are variable, adjusted annually.
Wyoming	LPG is subject to sales tax. The gasoline, gasohol, and diesel rates include 1 cent for the Underground Storage Tank Corrective Action Account.

### Tax Rates on Motor Fuel - Footnotes C

TABLE MF-121T

Page 2 of 3

04/21/2015 01/01/14 Reporting Period

State	Comments

Created On: