U.S. Department of Transportation
Federal Highway Administration
1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE
Washington, DC 20590

Skip to content U.S. Department of Transportation/Federal Highway AdministrationU.S. Department of Transportation/Federal Highway Administration

Home / Briefing Room / Press Releases

Briefing Room

Subscribe to FHWA Press Releases

U.S. DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION, Office of the Secretary, Office of Public Affairs, Washington, DC 20590

Wednesday, April 4, 2001
Contact: Karen Whitney
Telephone: 202-366-0660
FHWA 13-01

18 Transportation Awards Presented to 13 Schools
FHWA Adds Six Colleges, Universities as Host Sites for 2001 National Summer Transportation Institute

U.S. Transportation Secretary Norman Y. Mineta today announced that the U.S. Department of Transportation's Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) recognized 13 primarily Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) with 18 different awards and added six sites to the existing 34 host sites for FHWA's National Summer Transportation Institute (NSTI).

"National Summer Transportation Institutes are fine examples of how partnerships can be forged to show youth the benefits of studying and applying advanced math, science, and technology skills," U.S. Transportation Secretary Norman Y. Mineta said. "Efforts like these help to underscore education as President Bush's highest priority and benefit transportation in the future."

The six schools added are Central State University, Wilberforce, Ohio; Denmark Technical College, Denmark, S.C.; Langston University, Oklahoma City, Okla.; Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute, Albuquerque, N.M.; University of Puerto Rico, Mayaquez; and White Earth Tribal and Community College, Mahnomen, Minn.

The NSTI is one of several educational initiatives of the DOT, challenging the country to work with youth of all ages and help them to focus on math, science, and technology skills so that they are prepared to serve in the transportation workforce of the future. To date, the NSTI host sites include HBCUs and other Minority Institutions of Higher Education (MIHE) across the nation, with South Carolina State University (SCSU) serving as the NSTI's National Resource Center (NRC).

In 1998, Congress authorized funding for the program under the Transportation Equity Act for the 21st Century (TEA-21). In addition to FHWA support, the institutes receive assistance from local chapters of the National Urban League, state departments of transportation, private sector companies and other federal agencies. Participating colleges and universities host the institutes and provide housing and instructors for each session.

Thirteen fiscal 2000 host sites received special awards and recognition for their contributions to the success of the program.

The award recipients, some of which received more than one award, include City College of New York; Kentucky State University, Frankfort, Ky.; Arizona State University, Phoenix; California State University of Los Angeles, Delaware State University, Dover, Del.; Jackson State University, Jackson, Miss.; Morgan State University, Baltimore; Texas Transportation Institute, College Station, Texas; Albany State University, Albany, Ga.; Virginia State University, Petersburg,Va.; South Carolina State University, Orangeburg, S.C.; Tuskegee University, Tuskegee, Ala.; University of Missouri at Rolla, and West Virginia State University, Institute, W.V.

Since its inception, the NSTI has reached more than 2 million youth. It has been held at 30 colleges and universities (host sites) in fiscal 1999, serving more than 645 secondary students, and at 34 colleges and universities in fiscal 2000, serving approximately 694 secondary students from across the country. The program provides a four-week introduction to all modes of and careers in transportation as well as academic enhancement activities.

In addition to the six added today, other host sites include: Alabama A&M University, Normal, Ala.; Albany State University, Albany, Ga.; Arizona State University, Tempe, Ariz.; Benedict College, Columbia, S.C.; Bethune-Cookman College, Daytona Beach, Fla.; California State University, Los Angeles; Cheyney University of Pennsylvania, Cheyney, Pa.; City College of New York, New York; Clark Atlanta University, Atlanta; the College of Menominee Nation, Keshena, Wis.; Delaware State University, Dover, Del.; Elizabeth City State University, Elizabeth City, N.C.; Florida A&M University, Tallahassee, Fla.; Florida International University, Miami; Fond Du Lac Tribal and Community College, Cloquet, Minn.; Hampton University, Hampton, Va.; Howard University, Washington, D.C.; Jackson State University, Jackson, Miss.; Kentucky State University, Frankfort, Ky.; Lac Courte Oreilles Ojibwa Community College, Hayward, Wis.; Lincoln University, Chester, Pa.; Morgan State University, Baltimore, Md.; North Carolina A&T State University, Greensboro, N.C.; Prairie View A&M University, Prairie View, Texas. South Carolina State University, Orangeburg, S.C.; Southern University at Baton Rouge, Baton Rouge, La.; Tennessee State University, Nashville, Tenn.; Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas; Tuskegee University, Tuskegee, Ala.; University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff, Pine Bluff, Ark.; University of Maryland Eastern Shore, Princess Anne, Md.; University of Missouri Rolla, Rolla, Mo.; Virginia State University, Petersburg, Va.; and West Virginia State University, Institute, W.Va.

For more information, visit the NRC's NSTI web site at www.nrc.scsu.edu .


Visit the DOT Public Affairs Web Site at:


FHWA Press Releases

Page last modified on September 14, 2012.
Federal Highway Administration | 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE | Washington, DC 20590 | 202-366-4000

All Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) information technology systems will be unavailable, Friday, October 28, at 10:00 p.m. to Sunday, October 30, at 11:59 p.m., EDT, while work is being performed on the network. During that time, users will not be able to access any FHWA systems.

If you have any questions or problems, please contact the 5-Help Service Center @ (866) 466-5221 or 5-HelpServiceCenter@dot.gov.