Skip to contentUnited States Department of Transportation - Federal Highway AdministrationSearch FHWAFeedback
Accelerating Infrastructure Innovations
Federal Highway Administration > Publications > Focus > August 2005 > Announcing the 2006 FHWA Excellence in Utilities Awards Program
August 2005Publication Number: FHWA-HRT-05-029

Focus Home | Current Issue | Past Issues | Search Focus

Announcing the 2006 FHWA Excellence in Utilities Awards Program

The Federal Highway Administration's (FHWA) new Excellence in Utilities Awards Program will honor highway agencies and contractors that excel in streamlining or improving the utility relocation and accommodation process while protecting the rights of property owners. The biennial awards will be given in the categories of Innovation, Leadership, Relocation, and Subsurface Utility Engineering, with projects being recognized in two funding categories:

  • $100 million or less
  • Over $100 million.

Anyone may nominate a highway project or process, or an individual, contractor, or organization involved in a project, that has used Federal-aid funding sources to make an outstanding contribution to transportation within the last 3 years (since January 1, 2002).

Additional information on the awards program is available online at, or by contacting Donald Jackson in FHWA's Office of Program Administration, 202-366-4630 (email: Entries must be submitted online by December 31, 2005. The online application will be posted on the awards program Web site by September 30, 2005. Award winners will be recognized at the May 1, 2006, American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials' Right-of-Way/Utility Conference in Baltimore, Maryland.

Back to Articles in this Issue

Updated: 02/20/2015

Infrastructure Home | FHWA Home | Feedback
United States Department of Transportation - Federal Highway Administration