Skip to contentUnited States Department of Transportation - Federal Highway AdministrationSearch FHWAFeedback
Focus
Accelerating Infrastructure Innovations
Federal Highway Administration > Publications > Focus > July 2005 > Highway Technology Calendar
July 2005Publication Number: FHWA-HRT-05-028

Focus Home | Email Notifications | Current Issue | Past Issues | Editorial Guidelines/Reprint | Search Focus

Highway Technology Calendar

The following events provide opportunities to learn more about products and technologies for accelerating infrastructure innovations.

Eighth International Conference on Concrete Pavements

August 14-18, 2005, Colorado Springs, CO

Information on new technologies related to the design, construction, and rehabilitation of concrete pavements will be featured at the conference. The event is sponsored by the International Society for Concrete Pavements. Cosponsors include the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA), the American Concrete Pavement Association, and the Colorado Department of Transportation.

Contact: Dan Zollinger at Texas A&M University, 979-845-9918 (email: d-zollinger@tamu.edu), or Sam Tyson at FHWA, 202-366-1326 (email: sam.tyson@fhwa.dot.gov). Information can be found online at www.concretepavements.org.

International Conference on Advanced Materials for Construction of Bridges, Buildings, and Other Structures IV

August 14-19, 2005, Maui, HI

The conference will cover such topics as innovative uses of high-performance steel, fiber-reinforced polymers, and ultra-high-performance concrete.

Contact: Vasant Mistry at FHWA, 202-366-4599 (email: vasant.mistry@fhwa.dot.gov), or visitwww.engconfintl.org/5aabody.html.

Construction Practices for Segmental Concrete Bridges Seminars

August 15-16, 2005, Denver, CO

August 29-30, 2005, Newark, NJ

Cosponsored by FHWA and the American Segmental Bridge Institute (ASBI), the seminars will cover the new Construction Practices Handbook for Segmental Concrete Bridges. Registration fees will be waived for FHWA and State highway agency engineers.

Contact: Myint Lwin at FHWA, 202-366-4589 (fax: 202-366-3077; email: myint.lwin@fhwa.dot.gov), or Cliff Freyermuth at ASBI, 602-997-9964 (fax: 602-997-9965; email: asbi@earthlink.net). Information is also available at www.asbi-assoc.org. (click on "Menu" and then choose "Construction Practices Seminars").

Tunnel Management System Showcase

September 20, 2005, Washington, DC

This showcase workshop will highlight Washington, DC's, implementation of the new tunnel management system developed by FHWA and the Federal Transit Administration (see article in May 2005 Focus).

Contact: Raj Ailaney at FHWA, 202-366-1567 (email: raj.ailaney@fhwa.dot.gov), or Sonya Hill at FHWA, 202-366-1337 (email: sonya.hill@fhwa.dot.gov).

2005 Western Bridge Engineers' Seminar

September 25-28, 2005, Portland, OR

The seminar is a biennial cooperative effort by FHWA's Resource Center and the transportation departments of Alaska, Arizona, California, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, and Washington State. This year's theme is "Improving Bridge Design, Construction, and Operations."

Contact: Jean Canfield, Conference Manager, 360-943-7732 (email: jeancassoc@comcast.net), or Timothy Rogers at FHWA, 503-587-4706 (email: timothy.rogers@fhwa.dot.gov). Conference information is available online at www.westernbridge.net.

Green Highway Forum

September 26-29, 2005, College Park, MD

The event will focus on developing a "green highway" certification program and a new Green Highway Awards initiative.

Contact: For information about the forum's agenda, contact Jason Harrington at FHWA, 202-366-1576 (email: jason.harrington@fhwa.dot.gov), or visit www.wetlandsworkgroup.org/GreenHighways/Green%20Highways.htm. For registration information, contact Frank Reilly at the Wetlands and Watershed Work Group, 877-586-3912 (email: ExecutiveDirector@WetlandsWorkGroup.org).

SCC 2005

October 30-November 2, 2005, Chicago, IL

The conference will highlight innovative applications of self-consolidating concrete (SCC) worldwide. Topics will include mix design, structural performance, and test methods.

Contact: Richard Garza at the Center for Advanced Cement-Based Materials, 847-491-3858 (fax: 847-467-1078; email: scc2005@northwestern.edu), or visit www.scc2005.info.

Sixth National Conference on Transportation Asset Management

November 1-3, 2005, Kansas City, MO

With the theme of "Making Asset Management Work in Your Organization," the conference is designed to be a forum to share information on an array of asset management topics. The event is sponsored by FHWA, the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials, and the Transportation Research Board.

Contact: Francine Shaw-Whitson at FHWA, 202-366-8028 (email: francine.shaw-whitson@fhwa.dot.gov), or Katie Zimmerman at Applied Pavement Technology, Inc., 217-398-3977 (email: kzimmerman@pavementsolutions.com). Information is also available at gulliver.trb.org/conferences/Asset.

FHWA Unknown Foundations Summit

November 14-16, 2005, Lakewood, CO

The summit will provide a forum to discuss the current standard-of-practice and state-of-the-art techniques available to manage bridges with unknown foundations. The summit will also provide attendees an opportunity to see and learn about numerous technologies available from a variety of vendors.

Contact: Khamis Haramy at FHWA, 720-963-3521 (email: khamis.haramy@fhwa.dot.gov), or Cynthia Nurmi at FHWA, 404-562-3908 (email: cynthia.nurmi@fhwa.dot.gov).

2005 FHWA Accelerated Bridge Construction Conference

December 14-16, 2005, San Diego, CA

Sponsored by FHWA, this conference will look at how prefabricated bridge elements and systems can be used to accelerate construction, minimize traffic disruption, increase quality, and lower life-cycle costs.

Contact: Roland Nimis at FHWA, 415-744-2653 (email: roland.nimis@fhwa.dot.gov), or Vasant Mistry at FHWA, 202-366-4599 (email: vasant.mistry@fhwa.dot.gov). Information is also available at www.acceleratedbridge.com.

National Quality Conference

December 13-14, 2005, New Orleans, LA

Sponsored by the National Partnership for Highway Quality (NPHQ), the conference will highlight the movement to establish a State Quality Partnership in every State by 2008.

Contact: Bob Templeton at NPHQ, 512-301-9899 (email: btemplenphq@aol.com), or Byron Lord at FHWA, 202-366-1325 (fax: 202-366-3943; email: byron.lord@fhwa.dot.gov). Information is also available on the NPHQ Web site at www.nphq.org.

Back to Articles in this Issue

Updated: 04/07/2011

Infrastructure Home | FHWA Home | Feedback
FHWA
United States Department of Transportation - Federal Highway Administration