Skip to contentUnited States Department of Transportation - Federal Highway AdministrationSearch FHWAFeedback
Focus
Accelerating Infrastructure Innovations
Federal Highway Administration > Publications > Focus > June 2005 > Highway Technology Calendar
June 2005Publication Number: FHWA-HRT-05-027

Focus Home | Email Notifications | Current Issue | Past Issues | Editorial Guidelines/Reprint | Search Focus

Highway Technology Calendar

The following events provide opportunities to learn more about products and technologies for accelerating infrastructure innovations.

Obtaining Materials Inputs for Mechanistic-Empirical Pavement Design Workshop

July 7—8, 2005, Lincoln, NE

The workshop will help pavement design engineers and material engineers better understand materials testing and characterization as it has been incorporated into the new Mechanistic-Empirical Pavement Design Guide software.

Contact: Katherine Petros at the Federal Highway Administration, 202-493-3154, Leslie Myers at FHWA, 202-366-1198, Chris Wagner at FHWA, 404-562-3693, or Gary Crawford at FHWA, 202-366-1286. Information is also available via email at DGIT@fhwa.dot.gov or online at www.fhwa.dot.gov/pavement/dgitfly2.htm.

Sixth International Bridge Engineering Conference

July 17–20, 2005, Boston, MA

Sponsored by FHWA and the Transportation Research Board (TRB), the conference will offer sessions covering a range of bridge engineering topics, including planning, design, construction, and maintenance.

Contact: Ian Friedland at FHWA, 202-493-3023 (email: ian.friedland@ fhwa.dot.gov). Information is available online at www.trb.org/conferences/ibec.

2005 Value Engineering Conference

July 20-22, 2005, San Antonio, TX

The conference will highlight successful value engineering methods and models.

Contact: Donald Jackson at FHWA, 202-366-4630 (email: donald.jackson@fhwa.dot.gov), or Susan McClain at the Texas Department of Transportation, 903-799-1311 (email: smcclain@dot.state.tx.us).

Eighth International Conference on Concrete Pavements

August 14-18, 2005, Colorado Springs, CO

Information on new technologies related to the design, construction, and rehabilitation of various types of concrete pavements will be featured at the conference. The event is sponsored by the International Society for Concrete Pavements. Cosponsors include FHWA, the American Concrete Pavement Association, and the Colorado Department of Transportation.

Contact: Dan Zollinger at Texas A&M University, 979-845-9918 (email: d-zollinger@tamu.edu), or Sam Tyson at FHWA, 202-366-1326 (email: sam.tyson@fhwa.dot.gov). Information can be found online at www.concretepavements.org.

International Conference on Advanced Materials for Construction of Bridges, Buildings, and Other Structures IV

August 14–19, 2005, Maui, HI

The conference will cover such topics as innovative uses of high-performance steel, fiber-reinforced polymers, and ultra-high-performance concrete.

Contact: Vasant Mistry at FHWA, 202-366-4599 (email: vasant.mistry@fhwa.dot.gov), or visit www.engconfintl.org/5aabody.html.

Construction Practices for Segmental Concrete Bridges Seminars

August 15-16, 2005, Denver, CO

August 29-30, 2005, Newark, NJ

Cosponsored by FHWA and the American Segmental Bridge Institute (ASBI), the seminars will cover the new Construction Practices Handbook for Segmental Concrete Bridges. Registration fees will be waived for FHWA and State highway agency engineers.

Contact: Myint Lwin at FHWA, 202-366-4589 (fax: 202-366-3077; email: myint.lwin@fhwa.dot.gov), or Cliff Freyermuth at ASBI, 602-997-9964 (fax: 602-997-9965; email: asbi@earthlink.net). Information is also available at www.asbi-assoc.org.

Tunnel Management System Showcase

September 20, 2005, Washington, DC

This showcase workshop will highlight Washington, DC's, implementation of the new tunnel management system developed by FHWA and the Federal Transit Administration (see article In May 2005 Focus).

Contact: Raj Ailaney at FHWA, 202-366-1567 (email: raj.ailaney@fhwa.dot.gov), or Sonya Hill at FHWA, 202-366-1337 (email: sonya.hill@fhwa.dot.gov).

2005 Western Bridge Engineers' Seminar

September 25-28, 2005, Portland, OR

The seminar is a biennial cooperative effort by FHWA's Western Resource Center and the transportation departments of Alaska, Arizona, California, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, and Washington State. This year's theme is "Improving Bridge Design, Construction, and Operations."

Contact: Jean Canfield, Conference Manager, 360-943-7732 (email: jeancassoc@comcast.net), or visit www.westernbridge.net.

Green Highway Forum

September 26-29, 2005, College Park, MD

The event will focus on developing a "green highway" certification program and a new Green Highway Awards initiative.

Contact: For information about the forum's agenda, contact Jason Harrington at FHWA, 202-366-1576 (email: jason.harrington@fhwa.dot.gov), or visit www.wetlandsworkgroup.org/GreenHighways/Green%20Highways.htm. For registration information, contact Frank Reilly at the Wetlands and Watershed Work Group, 877-586-3912 (email: ExecutiveDirector@WetlandsWorkGroup.org).

Sixth National Conference on Transportation Asset Management

November 1-November 3, 2005, Kansas City, MO

With the theme of "Making Asset Management Work in Your Organization," the conference is designed to be a forum for practitioners, researchers, and others to share information on an array of asset management topics. The event is sponsored by FHWA, American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials, and TRB.

Contact: Francine Shaw-Whitson at FHWA, 202-366-8028 (email: francine.shaw-whitson@fhwa.dot.gov), or Katie Zimmerman at Applied Pavement Technology, Inc., 217-398-3977 (email: kzimmerman@pavementsolutions.com). Information is also available online at gulliver.trb.org/conferences/Asset.

FHWA Unknown Foundations Summit

November 14-16, 2005, Lakewood, CO

The summit will provide a forum to discuss the current standard-of-practice and state-of-the-art techniques available to manage bridges with unknown foundations.

Contact: Khamis Haramy at FHWA, 720-963-3521 (email: khamis.haramy@fhwa.dot.gov), or Cynthia Nurmi at FHWA, 404-562-3908 (email: cynthia.nurmi@fhwa.dot.gov).

Third National Prefabricated Bridge Workshop

December 12-14, 2005, San Diego, CA

The workshop will look at how prefabricated bridge components can be used to minimize traffic disruption and improve constructibility while maintaining quality.

Contact: Roland Nimis at FHWA, 415-744-2653 (email: roland.nimis@fhwa.dot.gov), or Vasant Mistry at FHWA, 202-366-4599 (email: vasant.mistry@fhwa.dot.gov).

National Quality Conference

December 13-14, 2005, New Orleans, LA

Sponsored by the National Partnership for Highway Quality (NPHQ), the conference will highlight the movement to establish a State Quality Partnership in every State by 2008.

Contact: Bob Templeton at NPHQ, 512-301-9899 (email: btemplenphq@aol.com). Information is also available on the NPHQ Web site at www.nphq.org.

Back to Articles in this Issue

Updated: 04/07/2011

Infrastructure Home | FHWA Home | Feedback
FHWA
United States Department of Transportation - Federal Highway Administration