Skip to contentUnited States Department of Transportation - Federal Highway AdministrationSearch FHWAFeedback
Focus
Accelerating Infrastructure Innovations
Federal Highway Administration > Publications > Focus > May 2005 > Highway Technology Calendar
May 2005Publication Number: FHWA-HRT-05-026

Focus Home | Current Issue | Past Issues | Search Focus

Highway Technology Calendar

The following events provide opportunities to learn more about products and technologies for accelerating infrastructure innovations.

Seventh International Symposium on Utilization of High-Strength/High-Performance Concrete (HPC)

June 20-24, 2005, Washington, DC

The symposium will bring together engineers and material scientists from around the world to discuss topics ranging from the latest HPC applications to the most up-to-date research. An optional tour of the Woodrow Wilson Memorial Bridge Project will also be offered on June 24. The symposium is sponsored by the American Concrete Institute, with co-sponsors, including FHWA, representing more than 40 organizations from 14 countries.

Contact: Thomas Adams at the American Concrete Institute, 248-848-3742 (email: thomas.adams@concrete.org), or Suneel Vanikar at FHWA, 202-366-0120 (email: suneel.vanikar@fhwa.dot.gov). Information is also available online at www.concrete.org/events/conferences/7th_International_Symposium.htm.

Third International Symposium on Highway Geometric Design

June 26-July 2, 2005, Chicago, IL

The symposium will focus on the latest resources, policies, and practices for street and highway geometric design. Topics will range from intersection design to traffic calming to design for users with disabilities. Sponsors include the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials, National Association of County Engineers, Transportation Research Board (TRB), FHWA, and the Illinois Department of Transportation.

Contact: Ray Krammes at FHWA, 202-493-3312 (fax: 202-493-3417; email: ray.krammes@fhwa.dot.gov). Information is also available at www.trb.org/Conferences/GeoDesignSym.

Obtaining Materials Inputs for Mechanistic-Empirical Pavement Design Workshop

July 7-8, 2005, Lincoln, NE

The workshop will help pavement design engineers and material engineers better understand materials testing and characterization as it has been incorporated into the new Mechanistic-Empirical Pavement Design Guide software.

Contact: Katherine Petros at FHWA, 202-493-3154, Leslie Myers at FHWA, 202-366-1198, Chris Wagner at FHWA, 404-562-3693, or Gary Crawford at FHWA, 202-366-1286. Information is also available via email at DGIT@fhwa.dot.gov or online at www.fhwa.dot.gov/pavement/dgitfly2.htm.

Sixth International Bridge Engineering Conference

July 17–20, 2005, Boston, MA

Sponsored by FHWA and TRB, the conference will offer sessions covering a range of bridge engineering topics, including planning, design, construction, maintenance, and repair.

Contact: Ian Friedland at FHWA, 202-493-3023 (email: ian.friedland@ fhwa.dot.gov). Information is available online at www.trb.org/conferences/ibec.

2005 Value Engineering Conference

July 20-22, 2005, San Antonio, TX

The conference will provide value engineering professionals with the opportunity to share innovative perspectives and procedures, successful methods and models, and pioneering strategies. Sessions will cover such topics as constructibility issues and value engineering and design-build.

Contact: Donald Jackson at FHWA, 202-366-4630 (email: donald.jackson@fhwa.dot.gov), or Susan McClain at the Texas Department of Transportation, 903-799-1311 (email: smcclain@dot.state.tx.us).

Eighth International Conference on Concrete Pavements

August 14-18, 2005, Colorado Springs, CO

Information on new technologies related to the design, construction, and rehabilitation of various types of concrete pavements will be featured at the conference. The event is sponsored by the International Society for Concrete Pavements. Cosponsors include FHWA, the American Concrete Pavement Association, and the Colorado Department of Transportation.

Contact: Dan Zollinger at Texas A&M University, 979-845-9918 (email: d-zollinger@tamu.edu), or Sam Tyson at FHWA, 202-366-1326 (fax: 202-493-2070; email: sam.tyson@fhwa.dot.gov). Information can be found online at www.concretepavements.org (select "Calendar").

International Conference on Advanced Materials for Construction of Bridges, Buildings, and Other Structures IV

August 14–19, 2005, Maui, HI

The conference will cover such topics as innovative uses of high-performance steel, fiber-reinforced polymers, ultra-high-performance concrete, and other advanced materials; the use of advanced materials in retrofitting structures; and materials research.

Contact: Vasant Mistry at FHWA, 202-366-4599 (email: vasant.mistry@fhwa.dot.gov), or visit www.engconfintl.org/5aabody.html.

Construction Practices for Segmental Concrete Bridges Seminars

August 15-16, 2005, Denver, CO

August 29-30, 2005, Newark, NJ

Cosponsored by FHWA and the American Segmental Bridge Institute (ASBI), the seminars will cover the new Construction Practices Handbook for Segmental Concrete Bridges. Registration fees will be waived for FHWA and State highway agency engineers.

Contact: Myint Lwin at FHWA, 202-366-4589 (fax: 202-366-3077; email: myint.lwin@fhwa.dot.gov), or Cliff Freyermuth at ASBI, 602-997-9964 (fax: 602-997-9965; email: asbi@earthlink.net). Information is also available at www.asbi-assoc.org.

Tunnel Management System Showcase

September 20, 2005, Washington, DC

This showcase workshop will highlight Washington, DC's, implementation of the new tunnel management system developed by FHWA and the Federal Transit Administration (see article on page 1).

Contact: Raj Ailaney at FHWA, 202-366-1567 (email: raj.ailaney@fhwa.dot.gov), or Sonya Hill at FHWA, 202-366-1337 (email: sonya.hill@fhwa.dot.gov).

Green Highway Forum

September 26-29, 2005, College Park, MD

The event will focus on developing a "green highway" certification program and a new Green Highway Awards initiative.

Contact: For information about the forum's agenda, contact Jason Harrington at FHWA, 202-366-1576 (email: jason.harrington@fhwa.dot.gov), or visit www.wetlandsworkgroup.org/GreenHighways/Green%20Highways.htm. For registration information, contact Frank Reilly at the Wetlands and Watershed Work Group, 877-586-3912 (email: ExecutiveDirector@WetlandsWorkGroup.org).

Sixth National Conference on Transportation Asset Management

October 31-November 3, 2005, Kansas City, MO

With the theme of "Making Asset Management Work in Your Organization," the conference is designed to be a forum for practitioners, researchers, and others to share information on an array of asset management topics. The event is sponsored by FHWA, AASHTO, and TRB.

Contact: Francine Shaw-Whitson at FHWA, 202-366-8028 (email: francine.shaw-whitson@fhwa.dot.gov), or Katie Zimmerman at Applied Pavement Technology, Inc., 217-398-3977 (email: kzimmerman@pavementsolutions.com). Information is also available online at gulliver.trb.org/conferences/Asset.

Third National Prefabricated Bridge Workshop

December 12-14, 2005, San Diego, CA

The workshop will look at how prefabricated bridge components can be used to minimize traffic disruption and improve constructibility while maintaining quality.

Contact: Roland Nimis at FHWA, 415-744-2653 (email: roland.nimis@fhwa.dot.gov), or Vasant Mistry at FHWA, 202-366-4599 (email: vasant.mistry@fhwa.dot.gov).

Back to Articles in this Issue

Updated: 04/07/2011

Infrastructure Home | FHWA Home | Feedback
FHWA
United States Department of Transportation - Federal Highway Administration