Skip to contentUnited States Department of Transportation - Federal Highway AdministrationSearch FHWAFeedback
Focus
Accelerating Infrastructure Innovations
Federal Highway Administration > Publications > Focus > October 2005 > Highway Technology Calendar
October 2005Publication Number: FHWA-HRT-06-019

Focus Home | Current Issue | Past Issues | Search Focus

Highway Technology Calendar

The following events provide opportunities to learn more about products and technologies for accelerating infrastructure innovations.

Green Highway Forum

November 8-10, 2005, College Park, MD

The event will focus on developing a "green highway" certification program and a new Green Highway Awards initiative.

Contact: For information about the forum's agenda, contact Jason Harrington at the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA), 202-366-1576 (email: jason.harrington@fhwa.dot.gov), or visit www.greenhighways.org. For registration information, contact Frank Reilly at the Wetlands and Watershed Work Group, 877-586-3912 (email: ExecutiveDirector@WetlandsWorkGroup.org).

FHWA Unknown Foundations Summit

November 14-16, 2005, Lakewood, CO

The summit will provide a forum to discuss the current standard-of-practice and state-of-the-art techniques available to manage bridges with unknown foundations. The summit will also provide attendees an opportunity to see and learn about numerous technologies available from a variety of vendors (see article, page 6).

Contact: Khamis Haramy at FHWA, 720-963-3521 (email: khamis.haramy@fhwa.dot.gov); Cynthia Nurmi at FHWA, 404-562-3908 (email: cynthia.nurmi@fhwa.dot.gov); or Jorge Pagan at FHWA, 202-366-4604 (email: jorge.pagan@fhwa.dot.gov). Information can also be found online at www.fhwa.dot.gov/engineering/hydraulics/scourtech/unknown.cfm.

National Quality Conference

December 13-14, 2005, Orlando, FL

Sponsored by the National Partnership for Highway Quality (NPHQ), the conference will highlight the movement to establish a State Quality Partnership in every State by 2008 (see article, page 8).

Contact: Bob Templeton at NPHQ, 512-301-9899 (email: btemplenphq@aol.com), or Ken Jacoby at FHWA, 202-366-6503 (fax: 202-366-9981; email: ken.jacoby@fhwa.dot.gov). Information is also available on the NPHQ Web site at www.nphq.org.

2005 FHWA Accelerated Bridge Construction Conference

December 14-16, 2005, San Diego, CA

Sponsored by FHWA, this conference will look at how prefabricated bridge elements and systems can be used to accelerate construction, minimize traffic disruption, increase quality, and lower life-cycle costs.

Contact: Roland Nimis at FHWA, 415-744-2653 (email: roland.nimis@fhwa.dot.gov), or Vasant Mistry at FHWA, 202-366-4599 (email: vasant.mistry@fhwa.dot.gov). Information is also available at www.acceleratedbridge.com.

Transportation Research Board (TRB) 85th Annual Meeting

January 22-26, 2006, Washington, DC

Transportation professionals from around the world will gather at the meeting to share their knowledge and perspectives on current developments in transportation research, policy, and practice.

Contact: For information, visit the TRB Annual Meeting Web site at www.trb.org/meeting.

Fish Passage Summit

February 15-16, 2006, Denver, CO

This FHWA summit will bring together participants to discuss state-of-the-art techniques for designing and retrofitting road-stream crossings to ensure fish passage. Presentations will cover such topics as fish passage assessment, retrofitting of culverts, and design of fish crossings, as well as case histories of fish crossing installations and monitoring.

Contact: Bart Bergendahl at FHWA, 720-963-3754 (email: bart.bergendahl@fhwa.dot.gov). Information is also available online at www.fhwa.dot.gov/engineering/hydraulics/envirohyd/fish.cfm.

Back to Articles in this Issue

Updated: 04/07/2011

Infrastructure Home | FHWA Home | Feedback
FHWA
United States Department of Transportation - Federal Highway Administration