Skip to contentUnited States Department of Transportation - Federal Highway AdministrationSearch FHWAFeedback
Focus
Accelerating Infrastructure Innovations
Federal Highway Administration > Publications > Focus > May 2007 > Highway Technology Calendar
May 2007Publication Number: FHWA-HRT-07-013

Focus Home | Current Issue | Past Issues | Search Focus

Highway Technology Calendar

The following events provide opportunities to learn more about products and technologies for accelerating infrastructure innovations.

International Bridge Conference (IBC)

June 4–6, 2007, Pittsburgh, PA

The annual IBC is sponsored by the Engineers' Society of Western Pennsylvania (ESWP) and cosponsored by the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA), American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO), and many industry associations. The conference program covers a broad spectrum of practical highway, railway, and pedestrian bridge engineering, including design, construction, inspection, testing, preservation, replacement, and rehabilitation. The conference will include technical presentations, seminars, and special interest sessions, as well over 120 exhibitors. In addition, China, the featured country this year, will showcase the progress of modern bridge construction in China over the past 15 years.

Contact: Myint Lwin at FHWA, 202-366-4589 (email: myint.lwin@fhwa.dot.gov), or Ryan Bock at ESWP, 412-261-0710, ext. 11 (email: r.bock@eswp.com). For additional information, visit www.eswp.com/bridge.

2007 AASHTO Value Engineering Conference

July 17–20, 2007, Seattle, WA

Sponsored by the AASHTO Value Engineering Technical Committee, Washington State Department of Transportation (WSDOT), and FHWA, the conference will feature the Nation's best practices for value engineering.

Contact: Adele McCormick at WSDOT, 360-705-7298 (fax: 360-705-6885; email: VEConf@wsdot.wa.gov), or Jon Obenberger at FHWA, 202-366-2221 (email: jon.obenberger@fhwa.dot.gov). Information is also available online at www.wsdot.wa.gov/partners/aashtove.

Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute (PCI) National Concrete Bridge Conference

October 22–24, 2007, Phoenix, AZ

Sponsored by the PCI and FHWA, the conference will provide a forum for state-of-the-art reports on concrete bridges, showcasing precast, prestressed concrete bridges in particular. The conference is aimed at State and Federal bridge designers, consultants, academics, and industry engineers. Papers and presentations from the more than 16 technical sessions will be compiled on CD and distributed to attendees.

Contact: John Dick at PCI, 312-360-3205 (email: JDick@PCI.org), or Gary Jakovich at FHWA, 202-366-4596 (email: gary.jakovich@fhwa.dot.gov). Information is available online at www.pci.org/news/bridge_conference.

Seventh National Conference on Transportation Asset Management

November 6–8, 2007, New Orleans, LA

Three thematic tracks will be featured at the conference: Integration of Maintenance and Operations into Transportation Asset Management, Putting Economics into Practice, and Transportation Asset Management in the Ports and Harbors Community. The conference is sponsored by the Transportation Research Board's (TRB) Committees on Transportation Asset Management and Transportation Economics, with support from FHWA's Office of Asset Management.

Contact: David Floyd at TRB, 202-334-2966 (email: dfloyd@nas.edu), or Francine Shaw-Whitson at FHWA, 202-366-8028 (email: francine.shaw-whitson@fhwa.dot.gov).

International Conference on Optimizing Paving Concrete Mixtures and Accelerated Concrete Pavement Construction and Rehabilitation

November 7–9, 2007, Atlanta, GA

The conference will provide an international forum to address various aspects of concrete mixture optimization and accelerated concrete pavement construction and rehabilitation that result in long life for pavements. The event is being organized as part of the technology transfer activities for FHWA's Concrete Pavement Technology Program. Conference topics will include U.S. and international experiences with concrete mixture optimization and best practices for accelerated construction and rehabilitation.

Contact: Shiraz Tayabji at CTLGroup, 410-997-0400 (fax: 410-997-8480; email: stayabji@CTLGroup.com), or Sam Tyson at FHWA, 202-366-1326 (email: sam.tyson@fhwa.dot.gov). Information and online registration are available at www.fhwa.dot.gov/pavement/concrete/2007CPTPconf.cfm.

World Steel Bridge Symposium 2007

December 4–7, 2007, New Orleans, LA

The symposium will bring together design engineers, construction professionals, transportation officials, representatives from academia, and others to discuss state-of-the-art practices for enhancing steel bridge design, fabrication, and construction techniques. This event is sponsored by the National Steel Bridge Alliance and FHWA.

Contact: Elizabeth Purdy at the American Institute of Steel Construction, Inc., 312-670-5421 (email: purdy@aisc.org), or Vasant Mistry at FHWA, 202-366-4599, (email: vasant.mistry@fhwa.dot.gov). For additional information, visit www.steelbridges.org (click on "World Steel Bridge Symposium").

Back to Articles in this Issue

Updated: 04/07/2011

Infrastructure Home | FHWA Home | Feedback
FHWA
United States Department of Transportation - Federal Highway Administration