Skip to contentUnited States Department of Transportation - Federal Highway AdministrationSearch FHWAFeedback
Focus
Accelerating Infrastructure Innovations
Federal Highway Administration > Publications > Focus > September 2007 > Highway Technology Calendar
September 2007Publication Number: FHWA-HRT-07-017

Focus Home | Email Notifications | Current Issue | Past Issues | Editorial Guidelines/Reprint | Search Focus

Highway Technology Calendar

The following events provide opportunities to learn more about products and technologies for accelerating infrastructure innovations.

Fifty-Eighth Annual Highway Geology Symposium

October 15-18, 2007, Pocono Manor, PA

The symposium will include technical sessions on highway geology topics, including landslides, slope stabilization techniques, and ground modification programs. A day-long field trip to local sites will include the Hickory Run Boulder Field, Lehigh Gap, and the Lehigh Tunnel on the Pennsylvania Turnpike.

Contact: Kerry Petrasic at the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation, 717-787-4319 (email: kpetrasic@state.pa.us), or Justice Maswoswe at the Federal Highway Administration's (FHWA) Resource Center, 410-962-2460 (email: justice.maswoswe@fhwa.dot.gov). Information on the symposium is also available online at www.highwaygeologysymposium.org.

2007 Hot-Mix Asphalt Energy and Recycling Symposium

October 22-23, 2007, Austin, TX

The symposium will highlight the latest information on HMA recycling and its role in ensuring the viability of the Nation's infrastructure. The event is sponsored by the National Asphalt Pavement Association (NAPA) and FHWA.

Contact: Tracie Christie at NAPA, 410-996-9745 (fax: 301-731-4621; email: tchristie1@hotmix.org), or Audrey Copeland at FHWA, 202-493-0341 (email: audrey.copeland@fhwa.dot.gov).

Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute (PCI) National Concrete Bridge Conference

October 22-24, 2007, Phoenix, AZ

Sponsored by PCI and FHWA, the conference will provide a forum for state-of-the-art reports on concrete bridges, showcasing precast, prestressed concrete bridges in particular. The conference is aimed at State and Federal bridge designers, consultants, academics, and industry engineers.

Contact: John Dick at PCI, 312-360-3205 (email: JDick@PCI.org), or Gary Jakovich at FHWA, 202-366-4596 (email: gary.jakovich@fhwa.dot.gov). Information is available online at www.pci.org/news/bridge_conference.

Seventh National Conference on Transportation Asset Management

November 6-8, 2007, New Orleans, LA

Three thematic tracks will be featured at the conference: Integration of Maintenance and Operations into Transportation Asset Management, Putting Economics into Practice, and Transportation Asset Management in the Ports and Harbors Community. The conference is sponsored by the Transportation Research Board's (TRB) Committees on Transportation Asset Management and Transportation Economics, with support from FHWA's Office of Asset Management.

Contact: David Floyd at TRB, 202-334-2966 (email: dfloyd@nas.edu), or Francine Shaw-Whitson at FHWA, 202-366-8028 (email: francine.shaw-whitson@fhwa.dot.gov).

International Conference on Optimizing Paving Concrete Mixtures and Accelerated Concrete Pavement Construction and Rehabilitation

November 7-9, 2007, Atlanta, GA

The conference will provide an international forum to address various aspects of concrete mixture optimization and accelerated concrete pavement construction and rehabilitation that result in long life for pavements. The event is being organized as part of the technology transfer activities for FHWA's Concrete Pavement Technology Program.

Contact: Shiraz Tayabji at CTLGroup, 410-997-0400 (fax: 410-997-8480; email: stayabji@CTLGroup.com), or Sam Tyson at FHWA, 202-366-1326 (email: sam.tyson@fhwa.dot.gov). Information and online registration are available at www.fhwa.dot.gov/pavement/concrete/2007CPTPconf.cfm.

Highway Quality Conference

November 13-14, 2007, San Diego, CA

Sponsored by the National Partnership for Highway Quality (NPHQ), the conference will share information about advanced tools and techniques, best practices, and innovations in highway quality.

Contact: Bob Templeton at NPHQ, 512-301-9899 (email: btemplenphq@aol.com), or Ken Jacoby at FHWA, 202-366-6503 (email: ken.jacoby@fhwa.dot.gov). Information is also available at www.nphq.org.

World Steel Bridge Symposium 2007

December 4-7, 2007, New Orleans, LA

The symposium will bring together design engineers, construction professionals, transportation officials, representatives from academia, and others to discuss state-of-the-art practices for enhancing steel bridge design, fabrication, and construction techniques. This event is sponsored by the National Steel Bridge Alliance and FHWA.

Contact: Elizabeth Purdy at the American Institute of Steel Construction, Inc., 312-670-5421 (email: purdy@aisc.org), or Vasant Mistry at FHWA, 202-366-4599 (email: vasant.mistry@fhwa.dot.gov). For additional information, visit www.steelbridges.org (click on "World Steel Bridge Symposium").

TRB 87th Annual Meeting

January 13-17, 2008, Washington, DC

Transportation professionals from around the world will gather at the meeting to share perspectives on current developments in transportation research, policy, and practice.

Contact: For information, visit the TRB Annual Meeting Web site at www.trb.org/meeting. Questions about the meeting can be emailed to TRBMeetings@NAS.edu.

Back to Articles in this Issue

Updated: 04/07/2011

Infrastructure Home | FHWA Home | Feedback
FHWA
United States Department of Transportation - Federal Highway Administration