Skip to contentUnited States Department of Transportation - Federal Highway AdministrationSearch FHWAFeedback
Focus
Accelerating Infrastructure Innovations
Federal Highway Administration > Publications > Focus > June 2009 > Highway Technology Calendar
Publication Number: FHWA-HRT-09-014
Date: June 2009

Focus Home | Current Issue | Past Issues | Search Focus

Highway Technology Calendar

The following events provide opportunities to learn more about products and technologies for accelerating infrastructure innovations.

Eighth International Conference on the Bearing Capacity of Roads, Railways, and Airfields

June 29-July 2, 2009, Champaign, IL

The conference will cover issues relating to the bearing capacity and mechanistic-based design of highway and airfield pavements and railroad track structures. Sponsors include the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA), Federal Aviation Administration, Federal Railroad Administration, Transportation Research Board (TRB), and the Illinois Department of Transportation.

Contact: Cheryl Richter at FHWA, 202-493-3070 (email: cheryl.richter@fhwa.dot.gov), or visit www.BCR2A.org.

2009 Petersen Asphalt Research Conference and Pavement Performance Prediction Symposium

July 13-17, 2009, Laramie, WY

Current research aimed at understanding and improving asphalt pavement performance will be featured at the conference. The 3-day conference is followed by a 2-day symposium, which focuses on key aspects of pavement performance. Participants may register for both the conference and symposium or either one separately. The conference and symposium are organized by the Western Research Institute (WRI).

Contact: Steve Salmans at WRI, 307-721-2306 (email: ssalmans@uwyo.edu); or Terry Arnold at FHWA, 202-493-3305 (email:terry.arnold@fhwa.dot.gov).

Information is also available at www.petersenasphaltconference.org.

Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute (PCI)/FHWA National Bridge Conference

September 12-15, 2009, San Antonio, TX

The conference will present state-of-the-art information on precast concrete design, fabrication, and construction. Featured topics will include accelerated construction, designing for seismic forces, high-performance concrete, and innovative precast concrete structures.

Contact: Myint Lwin at FHWA, 202-366-4589 (email: myint.lwin@fhwa.dot.gov), or visit www.pci.org (click on "News and Events" and then select "PCI-FHWA National Bridge Conference").

Eighth National Conference on Transportation Asset Management: Putting the Asset Management Pieces Together

October 19-21, 2009, Portland, OR

The conference will highlight emerging issues in transportation asset management, including trade-off analysis, optimization, system management, and safety. Three thematic tracks will be featured: Safety, Pavement Management, and Data and Information Infrastructure. Practical examples of asset management implementation within a State, region, or local community will also be spotlighted.

Contact: Tom Palmerlee at TRB, 202-334-2907 (email: tpalmerlee@nas.edu); or Francine Shaw-Whitson at FHWA, 202-366-8028 (email: francine.shaw-whitson@fhwa.dot.gov). Information is also available online at www.trb.org/conferences/2009/asset.

Fourth Asphalt Shingle Recycling Forum

November 5-6, 2009, Chicago, IL

Hosted by the Construction Materials Recycling Association, forum sponsors also include the Asphalt Roofing and Manufacturers Association, Owens Corning, FHWA, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, National Roofing Contractors Association, and the National Asphalt Pavement Association. Three roundtables will be held on November 5 for transportation agency officials; environmental officials; and shingle recyclers, hot-mix asphalt producers, and other industry partners.

Contact: Audrey Copeland at FHWA, 202-493-0341 (email: audrey.copeland@fhwa.dot.gov), or visit www.shinglerecycling.org.

Back to Articles in this Issue

Updated: 04/07/2011

Infrastructure Home | FHWA Home | Feedback
FHWA
United States Department of Transportation - Federal Highway Administration