Skip to contentUnited States Department of Transportation - Federal Highway AdministrationSearch FHWAFeedback
Focus
Accelerating Infrastructure Innovations
Federal Highway Administration > Publications > Focus > October 1996 > Directory of Contacts and Resources - SHRP Implementation and the Long-Term Pavement Performance Studies
October 1996Publication Number: FHWA-SA-96-021

Focus Home | Email Notifications | Current Issue | Past Issues | Editorial Guidelines/Reprint | Search Focus

Directory of Contacts and Resources - SHRP Implementation and the Long-Term Pavement Performance Studies

General

AASHTO Task Force on SHRP Implementation:

Bobbie Templeton, Texas Department of Transportation, 512-305-9504 (fax: 512-463-0283)

SHRP Coordinators:

FHWA Headquarters: Mike Halladay, 202-366-6503, and Margie Sheriff, 202-366-1747 (fax: 202-366-7909; email: michael.halladay@fhwa.dot.gov and margie.sheriff@fhwa.dot.gov).

American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials: Haleem Tahir, 301-975-6704 (fax: 301-330-1956; email: htahir@enh.nist.gov).

Transportation Research Board: Doug Shaffer, 202-334-1430 (202-334-3471; email: dshaffer@nas.edu).

FHWA Regional Offices:

Region 1 (Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, and Vermont):

John Dewar, 518-431-4224, ext. 260 (fax: 518-431-4208; email: john.dewar@fhwa.dot.gov).

Region 3 (Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia):

Mark Swanlund, 410-962-4034 (fax: 410-962-4586; email: mark.swanlund@fhwa.dot.gov).

Region 4 (Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee):

Evan Wisniewski, 404-347-4075 (fax: 404-347-2125; email: evan.wisniewski@fhwa.dot.gov).

Region 5 (Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Wisconsin):

Mary Stringfellow, 708-283-3555 (fax: 708-283-3501; email: mary.stringfellow@fhwa.dot.gov).

Region 6 (Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas):

John Sweek, 817-978-4377 (fax: 817-978-4144; email: john.sweek@fhwa.dot.gov).

Region 7 (Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska):

Roger Port, 816-276-2740 (fax: 816-363-3347; email: roger.port@fhwa.dot.gov).

Region 8 (Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, Wyoming):

Barry Siel, 303-969-5772, ext. 352 (fax: 303-969-6727; email: barry.siel@fhwa.dot.gov).

Region 9 (Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada):

Susan Klekar, 415-744-2628 (fax: 415-744-2620; email: susan.klekar@fhwa.dot.gov).

Region 10 (Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, Washington):

Bob Raths, 503-326-2061 (fax: 503-326-3928; email: bob.raths@fhwa.dot.gov).

Eastern Federal Lands Highway Division:

Robert Leary, 703-285-0047 (fax: 703-285-0011; email: robert.leary@fhwa.dot.gov).

Central Federal Lands Highway Division:

Kay Hymas, 303-969-5934 (fax: 303-969-5953; email: kay.hymas@fhwa.dot.gov).

Western Federal Lands Highway Division:

Cal Frobig, 360-696-7648 (fax: 360-696-7846; email: cwfrobig@wfl.fha.dot.gov).

Focus Newsletter:

Kathryn Harrington-Hughes, 202-347-1414 (fax: 202-347-6938).

Transportation Research Board SHRP Committee:

Neil Hawks, TRB, 202-334-1430 (fax: 202-334-3471; email: nhawks@nas.edu).

SHRP Research Reports:

Transportation Research Board, 202-334-3214 (fax: 202-334-2519).

SHRP Information Clearinghouse:

World Wide Web: http://www.hend.com/shrp/shrp

Dial-Up Service: Requires special software, and 9600-bps or faster modem; call Henderson Associates to request a copy of the free software, 202-682-3739 (fax: 202-682-2535).

Asphalt

Asphalt Technical Working Group:

Don Steinke, FHWA, 202-366-0392 (fax: 202-366-9981; email: don.steinke@fhwa.dot.gov).

Binder Expert Task Group:

John D'Angelo, FHWA, 202-366-0121 (fax: 202-366-7909; email: john.d'angelo@fhwa.dot.gov).

Mix Expert Task Group:

John Bukowski, FHWA, 202-366-1287 (fax: 202-366-7909; email: john.bukowski@fhwa.dot.gov).

Superpave Models/Software Expert Task Group:

Katherine Petros, FHWA, 202-366-1340 (fax: 202-366-9981; email: katherine.petros@fhwa.dot.gov).

Accelerated Pavement Testing Expert Task Group:

Ray Bonaquist, FHWA, 703-285-2629 (fax: 703-285-3105; email: ramon.bonaquist@fhwa.dot.gov).

Asphalt User-Producer Groups

Northeast: Frank Fee, 609-428-8808 (fax: 609-963-0111).

Southeast: Jill Baumgardner, 601-956-3017 (fax: 601-956-4021).

North Central: Dick Ingberg, MN: 612-429-2955 (phone and fax). IL: 217-356-4500 (fax: 217-356-3088).

Rocky Mountain: Bob Rask, 303-798-1950 (fax: 303-794-5205).

Pacific Coast: Rick Holmgreen, 713-544-8257 (fax: 713-544-8150).

Mobile Asphalt Laboratories:

Tom Harman, FHWA, 202-366-0859 (fax: 202-366-7909; email: tom.harman@fhwa.dot.gov).

National Asphalt Training Center:

Mandee Hall, 606-288-4964 (fax: 606-288-4999).

Superpave Models and Software:

General information: Katherine Petros, FHWA, 202-366-1340 (fax: 202-366-9981; email: katherine.petros@fhwa.dot.gov).

User support: University of Maryland project team, 301-405-0305 (fax: 301-405-6230).

Superpave Regional Centers

Superpave Regional Center at Austin:

Bob McGennis, 512-475-7912 (fax: 512-475-7914; email: bmcgennis@mail.utexas.edu).

Western Superpave Regional Center:

Jon Epps, 702-784-6873 (fax: 702-784-1429; email: epps@unr.edu).

North Central Superpave Regional Center:

Rebecca McDaniel, 317-463-2317 (fax: 317-497-1665; email: rsmcdani@ecn.purdue.edu).

Northeastern Superpave Regional Center:

Don Christensen, 814-863-1903 (fax: 814-865-3039; email: dwc1@psu.edu).

Southeastern Superpave Regional Center:

Doug Hanson, 334-844-6240 (fax: 334-844-4485; email: dhanson@eng.auburn.edu).

Superpave Technology Delivery Team:

Gary Henderson, FHWA, 202-366-1549 (fax: 202-366-9981; email: gary.henderson@fhwa.dot.gov).

Superpave Training and Field Assistance:

John Bukowski, FHWA, 202-366-1287 (fax: 202-366-7909; email: john.bukowski@fhwa.dot.gov).

Concrete and Structures

Concrete and Structures Technical Working Group:

Suneel Vanikar, FHWA, 202-366-0120 (fax: 202-366-7909; email: suneel.vanikar@fhwa.dot.gov).

Alkali-Silica Reactivity Showcase Workshop

Features several SHRP products, including reports, equipment, and test methods for detecting ASR in concrete in the field and in the laboratory.

Roger Surdahl, FHWA, 202-366-1563 (fax: 202-366-9981; email: roger.surdahl@fhwa.dot.gov).

Concrete Durability Showcase Workshop

Covers freeze-thaw durability, concrete permeability, and nondestructive testing of concrete.

Gary Crawford, FHWA, 202-366-1286 (fax: 202-366-7909; email: gary.crawford@fhwa.dot.gov).

High-Performance Concrete for Bridges Showcase Workshop

Covers the advantages and disadvantages of high-performance concrete, mix proportioning, structural design considerations, and evaluation of bridge component performance.

Terry Halkyard, FHWA, 202-366-6765 (fax: 202-366-7909; email: terry.halkyard@fhwa.dot.gov).

Assessment of the Physical Condition of Reinforced Concrete Structures Showcase Workshop

Features corrosion detection devices, radar units, and rapid chloride test kits, and emphasizes using these devices to evaluate bare and covered bridges.

Donald Jackson, FHWA, 202-366-6770 (fax: 202-366-7909; email: donald.jackson@fhwa.dot.gov).

Methodologies for Reinforced Concrete Removal, Repair, Protection, and Rehabilitation Showcase Workshop

Features a variety of SHRP and non-SHRP products (including software, specifications, test procedures, and reference documents) related to methodologies for removing, protecting, and rehabilitating reinforced concrete bridge structures.

Donald Jackson, FHWA, 202-366-6770 (fax: 202-366-7909; email: donald.jackson@fhwa.dot.gov).

Electrochemical Chloride Extraction Showcase Workshop

Based on a demonstration project in which the electrochemical chloride extraction process is applied to bridges in Delaware and Maryland.

Donald Jackson, FHWA, 202-366-6770 (fax: 202-366-7909; email: donald.jackson@fhwa.dot.gov).

Highway Operations

Highway Operations Technical Working Group

Work Zone Safety: Joe Lasek, FHWA, 202-366-2174 (fax: 202-366-2249; email: joe.lasek@fhwa.dot.gov).

Pavement and Winter Maintenance: Jesse Story, 202-366-1552 (fax: 202-366-9981; email: jesse.story@fhwa.dot.gov).

Pavement Maintenance Effectiveness/Innovative Materials Showcase Workshop

Covers five common pavement maintenance activities: spall repair, joint resealing and crack sealing in rigid pavements, and pothole repair and crack sealing in flexible pavements.

Contact: Joe Huerta, FHWA, 202-366-1556 (fax: 202-366-9981; email: joseph.huerta@fhwa.dot.gov).

Pavement Maintenance Effectiveness/Preventive Maintenance Treatments Showcase Workshop

Covers treatments and products that have been found to extend pavement service life.

Michael Smith, FHWA, 202-366-4057 (fax: 202-366-9981; email: michael.smith@fhwa.dot.gov).

Control of Snow and Ice Showcase Workshop

Covers snowplows, snow fences, road weather information systems, anti-icing strategies, and methods of evaluating deicing chemicals.

Salim Nassif, FHWA, 202-366-1557 (fax: 202-366-9981; email: salim.nassif@fhwa.dot.gov).

Long-Term Pavement Performance (LTPP)

LTPP Program:

Charlie Churilla, FHWA, 703-285-2355 (fax: 703-285-2767; email: charles.churilla@fhwa.dot.gov).

World Wide Web: http://www.tfhrc.gov/pavement/ltpp/home.htm

Transportation Research Board LTPP Committee:

Rob Raab, TRB, 202-334-1430 (fax: 202-334-3471; email: rraab@nas.edu).

LTPP Product Implementation Team:

Bob Hathaway, FHWA Region 10, 503-326-2071 (fax: 503-326-3928; email: bob.hathaway@fhwa.dot.gov).

LTPP Regional Coordination Offices

North Atlantic Region:

Pavement Management Systems Division of ITX Stanley, 716-631-5205 (fax: 716-632-4808). Regional Engineer: Ivan Pecnik.

Southern Region:

Brent Rauhut Engineering, Inc., 512-346-0870 (fax: 512-346-8750). Regional Engineer: Morris Reinhardt.

North Central Region:

ERES Consultants, Inc., 217-356-4500 (fax: 217-356-3088). Regional Engineer: Dick Ingberg.

Western Region:

Nichols Consulting Engineers, 702-329-4955 (fax: 702-329-5098). Regional Engineer: Cal Berge.

Back to Articles in this Issue

Updated: 04/07/2011

Infrastructure Home | FHWA Home | Feedback
FHWA
United States Department of Transportation - Federal Highway Administration