Skip to contentUnited States Department of Transportation - Federal Highway Administration FHWA Home
Research Home
LTPP Newsletter Banner

Keeping our partners informed on the Long-Term Pavement Performance Program
This newsletter is an archived publication and may contain dated technical, contact, and link information
Federal Highway Administration > Publications > LTPP Newsletter > Volume 1, Issue 1
Newsletter Home | Current Issue | Previous Issues | Search LTPP Newsletter

LTPP Newsletter

Publication Number:
Date: March/April 2005

  • Contact LTPP Customer Support Service Center at ltppinfo@dot.gov if you would like to be added to our email distribution list for LTPP Newsletters and other announcements.

Customer Service

Volume 1, Issue 1 March/April 2005

PDF Version (68 kb)

Why the LTPP Newsletter?

A message from the LTPP Team:

The Long-Term Pavement Performance (LTPP) program works to keep the transportation community informed about our research activities through meetings, workshops, publications, and our web site. Members of our team have heard from many of you, especially at the Transportation Research Board 2005 Annual Meeting, that you are interested in having more frequent and direct contact with us.

To meet this need for improved communication, we are introducing this email newsletter to keep you informed on a regular basis about the progress and activities of the LTPP program.

We plan to provide brief updates on progress in important program activities, including data collection, data releases, new products and publications, pooled fund studies, and data analysis. We will also provide links to our website or to one of our team members for those who are interested in getting more in-depth information.

We welcome your feedback on ways to improve the format and content of the newsletter, more information you'd like to see provided, and any other ideas or suggestions you have. Just send a message with your comments or ideas to ltppinfo@fhwa.dot.gov.

Please forward this newsletter to others you think might find it interesting or useful. If a colleague has forwarded this newsletter to you and you'd like to receive it directly, just send us a request at ltppinfo@fhwa.dot.gov. You may also discontinue the newsletter by sending us a message to remove your name from our distribution list.

Thank you for your continued support of LTPP.

Aramis López, Jr.
LTPP Team Leader
aramis.lopez@fhwa.dot.gov

LTPP Standard Data Release #19 Now Available

clipart of person with computer disk

LTPP made available the latest edition of the world's largest pavement performance database in Standard Data Release #19. The Standard Data Release is in Microsoft Access® format and available as a 5 CD-ROM set or on a single DVD-ROM. Along with the complete LTPP pavement performance database, the release contains a user reference guide, a tutorial and other information about the database, including what is new since the previous release.

For more information, or to obtain a copy, contact LTPP Customer Support Services at 865-481-2967 or e-mail ltppinfo@fhwa.dot.gov.

In Brief:

SPS Traffic Data Collection Pooled-Fund Study

Louisiana is the latest State to have joined this important study to improve the quality and quantity of research quality data collected from the LTPP Specific Pavement Studies sites. For more information, contact deborah.walker@fhwa.dot.gov or visit the website http://www.fhwa.dot.gov/pavement/ltpp/spstraffic/index.cfm.

We will provide a full update on this study in our next issue, May/June 2005.

Materials Action Plan

The LTPP team continued to visit the States and Provinces to resolve materials issues and obtain cores. Request for proposals for a new materials testing contract is now advertised at the FedBizOpps website www.eps.gov/spg/DOT/FHWA/OAM/postdateToday_1.html. For more information, contact jack.springer@fhwa.dot.gov.

Long-Term Pavement Performance (LTPP) Contacts

LTPP Customer Support Service
6300 Georgetown Pike
McLean, VA 22101
E-mail: ltppinfo@fhwa.dot.gov
Phone: (202) 493-3035
Fax: (202) 493-3161

LTPP Research Staff
U.S. Department of Transportation
Federal Highway Administration
Turner-Fairbank Hwy. Research Ctr.
6300 Georgetown Pike, HRDI-13
McLean, VA 22101-2296
Phone: 202-493-3143
Fax: 202-493-3161

Aramis Lopez, Jr., P.E.
LTPP Team Leader

Phone: 202-493-3145
aramis.lopez@fhwa.dot.gov

Jack Springer. P.E.
Field Operations
Phone: 202-493-3144
jack.springer@fhwa.dot.gov

Deborah Walker
Traffic/Communication
Phone: 202-493-3068
deborah.walker@fhwa.dot.gov

Eric Weaver
Database/Falling Weight Deflectometer
Phone: 202-493-3153
eric.weaver@fhwa.dot.gov

Larry Wiser
Data Analysis/Profile
Phone: 202-493-3079
larry.wiser@fhwa.dot.gov

LTPP On-Site Contractors

William Bellinger, P.E.
Distress Identification
Phone: 202-493-3156
william.bellinger@fhwa.dot.gov

Don Fohs
Materials
Phone: 202-493-3157
don.fohs@fhwa.dot.gov

Sean Lin
Data Analysis
Phone: 202-493-3399
sean.lin@fhwa.dot.gov

Publications/Website
Mary Anne Deeney
Phone: 202-493-3463
mary.deeney@fhwa.dot.gov

Wendy Lin
Phone: 202-493-3155
wendy.lin@fhwa.dot.gov

LTPP Product Team

Antonio Nieves
Resource Center
6300 Georgetown Pike, Room F209
McLean, VA 22101
Phone: 202-493-3074
antonio.nieves@fhwa.dot.gov

Mike Moravec
Resource Center
10 S. Howard Street
Suite 4000
Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone: 410-962-5623
mike.moravec@fhwa.dot.gov

LTPP Regional Support Contractors (RSCs)
North Atlantic RSC Office
Frank Meyer
Phone: 716-632-0804
Fax: 716-632-4808
Fmeyer@Stantec.com

North Central RSC Office
Frank Meyer
Phone: 716-632-0804
Fax: 716-632-4808
Fmeyer@Stantec.com

Southern RSC Office
Mark Gardner
Phone: 512-977-1800
Fax: 512-973-9565
mgardner@fugro.com

Western RSC Office
Kevin Senn
Phone: 775-329-4955
Fax: 775-329-5098
ksenn@nce.reno.nv.us

LTPP Technical Services Support Contractor (TSSC)

Gonzalo Rada
Phone: 301-210-5105
Fax: 301-210-5032
grrada@mactec.com

Materials Reference Library (MRL)
Sirous Alavi
Phone: 775-827-4400
Fax: 775-324-4407
sirous@ste-group.com

FWD Calibration Center Contacts
Southern Region
Doug Chalman
Texas DOT
37th and Jackson, Building 8
Austin, TX 78731
Phone: 512-465-7653
Fax: 512-465-3681
chalman@mailgw.dot.state.tx.us

Also, for scheduling:

John Ragsdale
Texas Transportation Institute
Texas A&M University
TAMU 3135
College Station, TX 77843
Phone: 979-845-9921
j-ragsdale@tamu.edu

North Central Region
Dave Bullock
Minnesota DOT
Materials and Research Lab
1400 Gervais Avenue
Maplewood, MN 55109
Phone: 651-779-5542
Fax: 651-779-5535
dave.bullock@dot.state.mn.us

Western Region
Eric Prieve
Colorado DOT
Materials & Geotechnical Branch
Concrete & Physical Properties
4201 East Arkansas Avenue
Denver, CO 80222-3406
Phone: 303-757-9269
Fax: 303-757-9008
Eric.Prieve@dot.state.co.us

North Atlantic Region
Dave Wassel
Pennsylvania DOT
905 Elmerton Avenue
Harrisburg, PA 17120
Phone: 717-783-4824
Fax: 717-787-6013
dwassel@state.pa.us

For more information, visit us on the web

ResearchFHWA
FHWA
United States Department of Transportation - Federal Highway Administration