Skip to content U.S. Department of Transportation/Federal Highway AdministrationU.S. Department of Transportation/Federal Highway Administration

Office of Planning, Environment, & Realty (HEP)
PlanningEnvironmentReal Estate

HEP Events Guidance Publications Awards Contacts

Right-of-Way Scans

Right of Way Innovation Domestic Scan

San Francisco, California

August 19-21, 2003

Organization Participant
Arizona Department of Transportation
205 South 17th Avenue Room 371
Phoenix, AZ 85007
David Edwards
Asst. Chief Right of Way Agent
deedwards@dot.state.az.uss
Tel: 602-712-7316
  Randy Allenstein
Right of Way Division
rallenstein@dot.state.az.us
Tel: 602-712-7316
California Department of Transportation
1120 N Street
Sacramento, CA 95814
Ken Baxter
Chief, Interregional Studies Branch
Division of Transportation Planning, MS32
ken.baxter@dot.ca.gov
Tel: 916-654-2719
  Brice Paris
Manager, Right of Way, MS-37
Brice.Paris@dot.ca.gov
Tel: 916-654-5075
  Bimla Rhinehart
Office of Planning & Management & Systems
Bimla.rhinehart@dot.ca.gov
  Verne Rhinehart
Office of Right of Way Project Delivery
verne.rhinehart@dot.ca.gov
  Barry Cowan
Chief, Office of Real Property Services and Airspace

Wayne Harrold
Region/District Coordinator
Caltrans District 4
111 Grand Avenue
Oakland, CA 94612
Robert A. Macpherson
Deputy Director, Right of Way
Robert_Macpherson@dot.ca.gov
Tel: 510-286-5400
  Dana Cowell
Deputy District Director, Planning
510-286-5908
Dana_Cowell@dot.ca.gov
  Lawrence J. Appiano
Office Chief, Appraisals, Estimating and Utilities Services
510-286-5400
Lawrence_Appiano@dot.ca.gov
  James B. Richards
Office Chief, Project Management Services
510-286-5400
James_Richards@dot.ca.gov
  Marta A. Bayol
Office Chief, Property Management Services
510-286-5400
Marta_Bayol@dot.ca.gov
  Brian R. Morelli
Office Chief, Acquisition and LPA Services
510-286-5400
Brian_Morelli@dot.ca.gov
Caltrans Southern Right of Way Region
21073 Pathfinder Road, Suite 100
Diamond Bar, CA 91765,
Teresa Arias
Caltrans Regional Manager
Teresa_Arias@dot.ca.gov
Tel: 909468-1506
Caltrans District 8
464 W. Fourth Street
Mail stop 12-67
San Bernadino, CA 92401
Mark Lancaster
Caltrans Project Director
mark.lancaster@dot.ca.gov
Tel: 909-383-4272
Delaware Department of Transportation
P.O. Box 778
Dover, DE 19903
Ralph Reeb
Director, Policy and Planning
rreeb@mail.dot.state.de.us
Tel: 302-760-2080
  Wayne Rizzo
Chief, Real Estate
wrizzo@mail.dot.state.de.uss
Tel: 302-760-2228
Hawaii Department of Transportation
869 Punchbowl Street, Room 301
Honolulu, HI 96813
Glenn Yasui
Administrator, Highways Division
glenn.yasui@hawaii.gov
Tel: 808-587-2220
  Michael Amuro
Right of Way Division
michael.amuro@hawaii.gov
Tel: 808-692-7325
Iowa Department of Transportation
800 Lincoln Way
North Annex
Ames, IA 50010
Neil Volmer
Director, Modal Division
neil.volmer@dot.state.ia.us
Tel: 515-239-1661
Idaho Transportation Department
3311 West State Street
Boise, ID 83707
Leonard Hill
Right of Way Manager
lhill@itd.state.id.us
Tel: 208-334-8520
Kansas Department of Transportation
State Office Building, 7th Floor
Topeka, KS 66612
Robert Stork
Operations Asst to Chief of Right of Way
rstork@ksdot.org
Tel: 785-296-0305
  Chris Huffman
Assistant Bureau Chief Planning and Development
huffman@ksdot.org
Tel: 785-296-2252
Maine Department of Transportation
16 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0016
Kathy Fuller
Assistant Director, Bureau of Planning
kathy.fuller@maine.gov
Tel: 207-624-3262
  Raymond Quimby
Manager, Right of Way
ray.quimby@maine.gov
Tel: 207-624-3450
  Amy Hughes
Legal Division
amy.hughes@maine.gov
Tel: 207-624-3020
Michigan Department of Transportation
State Highway Building
PO Box 30050
Lansing, MI 48909
Matthew DeLong
Administrator, Real Estate Support Area
delongm@michigan.gov
Tel: 517-373-2200
  Dave Wresinski
Project Planning Division
Bureau of Transportatin Planning
wresinskid@michigan.gov
Michigan Department of Transportation
Bay Region
55 E. Morley Drive
Saginaw, MI 48601
Dave Geiger
geigerd@michigan.gov
517-989-754-0878, Est. 228
Mississippi Department of Transportation
401 North West Street
Jackson, MS 39201
Stephen Downing
Appraisal Officer
sdowning@mdot.state.ms.us
Tel: 601-359-7565
  Jeff Pierce
State Planning Engineer
jpierce@mdot.state.ms.us
Tel: 601-359-7682
North Dakota Department of Transportation
608 E. Boulevard Avenue
Bismarck, ND 58505-0700
Norlyn Schmidt
Planning & Proramming Division
nschmidt@state.nd.us
  Paul Benning
Local Government Division
pbenning@state.nd.us
Tel: 701-328-2513
New Hampshire Department of Transportation
John O. Morton Building
1 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03302-0483
Ram Maddali
Supervisor of Systems Analysis, Planning
rmaddali@dot.state.nh.us
Tel: 603-271-3344
  William Janelle
Administrator, Bureau of Right of Way
bjanelle@dot.state.nh.us
Tel: 603-271-3222
New Jersey State Department of Transportation
1035 Parkway Avenue
Trenton, NJ 08625
Art Eisdorfer
Design Services Division
arthur.eisdorfer@dot.state.nj.us
Tel: 609-530-2463
  Brent Barnes
Division of Systems Planning
brent.barnes@dot.state.nj.us
Tel: 609-530-2866
  Bob Cunningham
Manager Technical Support
Right of Way
TPUCUNN@dot.state.nj.us
609-530-2186
  David Kook
Right of Way Division
david.kook@dot.state.nj.us
609-530-5596
South Dakota Department of Transportation
5316 W. 60th Street, N.
Sioux Falls, SD 57107
Rick Laughlin
Corridor Preservation Specialist
rick.laughlin@state.sd.us
Tel: 605-367-5680
Mountainlands Association of Government
586 East 800 North
Orem, UT 84097
Darrell Cook
Executive Director
dcook@mountainland.org
Tel: 801-229-3831
Utah Department of Transportation
4501 South 2700 West
Salt Lake City, UT 84119
Lyle McMillan
Chief, Right of Way
lmcmillan@utah.gov
Tel: 801-965-4331
  John Quick
Engineer for Transportation Planning
jquick@utah.gov
Tel: 801-965-4377
Vermont Agency of Transportation
133 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05633
Allen Wright
Chief of Utilities
allan.wright@state.vt.us
Tel: 802-828-2485
  Barry Driscoll
Director of Policy & Planning
barry.driscoll@state.vt.us
Tel: 802-828-3441
Wyoming Department of Transportation
5300 Bishop Boulevard
Cheyenne, WY 82009-3340
John Sherman
Right of Way Administrator
John.Sherman@state.wy.us
Tel: 307-777-4466
  Robert Milburn
State Planning Engineer
Bob.Milburn@state.wy.us
Tel: 307-777-4411
  Ron Archuleta
R/W Lands Manager
Ron.Archuleta@state.wy.us
Tel: 307-777-3340
FHWA Office of Real Estate Services
400 7th St., SW
HEPR-1, Rm. 3221
Washington, DC 20590
Janet Myers
Program Manager
janet.myers@fhwa.dot.gov
202-366-2019
  Susan Lauffer
Director
202-366-4558
susan.Lauffer@fhwa.dot.gov
  Arnold Feldman
Realty Specialist
202-366-2028
arnold.feldman@fhwa.dot.gov
  Chrisy Currier
Realty Specialist
202-366-5853
nina.kelley@dot.gov
  Janis Gramatins
Realty Specialist
202-366-2030
Janis.gramatins@fhwa.dot.gov
FHWA Western Resource Center
201 Mission Street Siote 2100
San Francisco, CA 94105
Lorrie Lau
Planning
lorrie.lau@fhwa.dot.gov
Tel: (415) 744-2628
  Maryann Blouin
Western Legal Service
maryann.blouin@fhwa.dot.gov
FHWA CAlifornia Division
980 9th Street, Suite 400
Sacramento, CA 20590
Bill Todd
Realty Officer
william.todd@fhwa.dot.gov
Tel: 916-498-5011CA
  Layne Patton
Realty Specialist
layne.patton@fhwa.dot.gov
Tel: 916-498-5888
  Jody Meredith
Realty Specialist
jody.meredith@fhwa.dot.gov
Tel: 916-4985344
Sacramento Area Council of Governments
1415 L Street, Suite 300
Pete Hathaway
Deputy Executive Director
phathaway@sacog.org
916-733-3235
Updated: 09/05/2014
HEP Home Planning Environment Real Estate
Federal Highway Administration | 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE | Washington, DC 20590 | 202-366-4000