The page you requested has moved and you've automatically been taken to its new location.

Please update your link or bookmark after closing this notice.

Skip to content U.S. Department of Transportation/Federal Highway AdministrationU.S. Department of Transportation/Federal Highway Administration
Office of Planning, Environment, & Realty (HEP)

FHWA Excellence in Right-of-Way Awards


The nomination period for the 2017 Excellence in Right-of-Way Awards will open on August 1, 2016 and close September 15, 2016. Information on eligibility and categories for the 2017 Program can be found below. For questions, please contact or Carolyn James at 202-493-0353.

WHAT is the FHWA Excellence in Right-Of-Way Awards Program?

The Excellence in Right of Way Awards recognizes outstanding innovations that enhance right-of-way professionals' ability to meet challenges associated with acquiring real property for a Federal-aid project. This biennial awards program was developed by the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) to honor those that excel in streamlining or improving the real property acquisition process while ensuring that the rights of property owners and tenants are protected. One award will be presented in each of the five categories listed below at the 2017 FHWA/AASHTO Right-of-Way and Utilities Subcommittee meeting.

  1. Innovation
  2. Leadership
  3. Stewardship
  4. Streamlining and Integration
  5. Peer of the Year

Our goal is to spotlight and share great ideas from around the country that will benefit the right-of-way community and the public. An independent panel of judges with diverse backgrounds will select winning entries.

WHO is eligible to enter?

Nominations for any project, process, person, contractor, group, or individuals involved in a project or process that has used Federal Highway Administration funding sources who make an outstanding contribution to transportation will be considered. Anyone (public or private industry) can submit a nomination.

WHERE will the awards be presented?

FHWA will honor and award plaques to the 2017 Excellence in Right of Way Award winners at the 2017 AASHTO Subcommittee on Right-of-Way and Utilities annual meeting (location and exact dates TBD).

HOW do I apply?

Nominations for the 2017 awards have not yet opened. Nomination form(s) and specific requirements will be available through this webpage once the nomination period begins.

Updated: 7/21/2016
HEP Home Planning Environment Real Estate
Federal Highway Administration | 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE | Washington, DC 20590 | 202-366-4000