The page you requested has moved and you've automatically been taken to its new location.

Please update your link or bookmark after closing this notice.

Continue
Skip to content U.S. Department of Transportation/Federal Highway AdministrationU.S. Department of Transportation/Federal Highway Administration
Office of Planning, Environment, & Realty (HEP)

Presentations of Uniform Act Final Rule Implementation

Let's See How It Works

Please refer to example entitled:

Working with Tangible Property Loss

Notes:

Explanation/Example

SUBPART D Reference § 24.301(g)(14)

Working with Tangible Property Loss

The Maxtop Company has a large drill press that is personal property. Compute the eligible moving cost under each of the following scenarios. The press is worth about $2,500 installed in place, and has about a $1,500 auction value.

If Maxtop chooses to move the drill press: Cost to haul $200; cost to take-down (including water and electrical disconnects) $180; set-up with all utilities and floor mounting $250. The drill press will also require an enhanced personnel safety barrier (code required) at the new location. This modification will add another $400 to the set-up cost. Allowable moving cost is $1,030.

  1. Assume Maxtop has modified its operation and no longer has a need for the drill press. They will not move it and want to apply for the Tangible Property Loss payment. They have arranged to sell the machine for $400. Allowable moving cost: $__________

This is also the lesser of two calculated numbers:

  1. The in-place value less sale, $2,500 - $400 = $2,100

  2. The moving cost (since the item is in use and the business is continuing, it is full move cost, but without code modifications) $630.

So the correct answer is $630.

2. Maxtop has another similar drill press in storage that is not currently functional, and they have decided not to move it. They want to claim a Tangible Property Loss payment for this drill press. Allowable moving cost: $_____________

This is also the lesser of two calculated numbers:

  1. The in-place value as is, $1,500

  2. The moving cost without reconnect (it is in storage, not connected to utilities), $200 (hauling)

So the correct answer is $200.

This is the same payment available to Maxtop if they would terminate their business and use the Direct Loss payment to receive compensation for the equipment. A fifty mile move would be assumed in that case.

Updated: 9/5/2014
HEP Home Planning Environment Real Estate
Federal Highway Administration | 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE | Washington, DC 20590 | 202-366-4000