U.S. Department of Transportation
Federal Highway Administration
1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE
Washington, DC 20590

Skip to content U.S. Department of Transportation/Federal Highway AdministrationU.S. Department of Transportation/Federal Highway Administration

Washington Division

Home / About / Field Offices / Washington Division

Bridge Program

National Bridge Inspection Program

FHWA requires inspections of all bridges carrying traffic on public roads to insure their safety and reliability. This program was initially mandated in the Federal-aid Highway Act of 1968, which led to the National Bridge Inspection Standards established in the Federal Register in 1971.

The NBIS (23 CFR 650, Subpart C) require States to:

Washington State Bridges

In Washington State there are 8,151 bridges carrying public roads that are subject to the Federal inspection requirements. 3,303 of those structures are State owned, with 4,054 bridges owned by local agencies, and 794 owned by other agencies (Federal, Tribal, Parks, etc.).

Other key statistics for State and Local owned structures:

pie chart graph of Washington state and local owned bridge condition for year 2014. Seventy four percent were not deficient. Twenty one percent were functionally obsolete and five percent were structurally deficient.


Page last modified on November 3, 2015

All Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) information technology systems will be unavailable, Friday, October 28, at 10:00 p.m. to Sunday, October 30, at 11:59 p.m., EDT, while work is being performed on the network. During that time, users will not be able to access any FHWA systems.

If you have any questions or problems, please contact the 5-Help Service Center @ (866) 466-5221 or 5-HelpServiceCenter@dot.gov.