U.S. Department of Transportation
Federal Highway Administration
1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE
Washington, DC 20590

Skip to content
Facebook iconYouTube iconTwitter iconFlickr iconLinkedInInstagram

Home / About / FHWA Organization / Executive Director


Photo of Thomas D. EverettThomas D. Everett

Executive Director

Federal Highway Administration (FHWA)

On October 22, 2018, Mr. Thomas (Tom) Everett was named Executive Director for the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA), a role in which he manages the daily operations of the agency and its personnel, and advises the Administrator, Deputy Administrator and senior officials throughout the U.S. Department of Transportation on the agency's programs and priorities.

Since becoming Executive Director, Mr. Everett has focused his efforts into three categories:  Sharpening FHWA's Focus, Managing FHWA's Resources, and Organizing for FHWA's Future.  To ensure FHWA is prepared to stay relevant in an ever-changing world, Mr. Everett has led initiatives to examine the agency's organization and identify potential improvements to the effective and efficient use of the agency's resources.  He started the agency's Fully Leveraging our Expertise (FLEx) initiative to utilize existing resources to address shortages in other program areas.  Some of his other initiatives include Enterprise Risk Management, Transportation Performance Management, internal office reorganizations, and staffing and recruitment.  In 2020 when the COVID-19 public health emergency started, he led FHWA through its transition to maximum telework, ensured FHWA's partners needs were addressed, and ensured continued delivery of the Federal-aid program.  Additionally, he oversaw the continued operations in our Office of Federal Lands Highway where they averaged over 100 personnel a day in the field ensuring that both design and construction contractors were kept working, expensive delay and stop work costs were avoided, and projects were completed for our federal land management agency partners.

A top priority of Mr. Everett's has been to ensure that FHWA remains one of the best places to work in the Federal Government.  He has been an avid supporter of promoting employee diversity, recognition, and development.  In 2020 he established FHWA's Recruitment, Outreach, and Diversity (RoaD) team, which was recognized by the Department for its best practices, to address challenges in hiring engineering positions and the diversity of candidate pools.  However, the thing he's best known for since becoming Executive Director is his focus on mental health.  A goal of his is to ensure that agency leadership and staff have mental health awareness training.  In May of 2021 he led the agency's new Mental Health Awareness month activities which included facilitating a series of three forums held with leadership panels that discussed Mental Health Awareness topics.  Through his leadership and according to the 2020 Federal Employee Viewpoint Survey, FHWA remains the number one operating agency to work for in the United States Department of Transportation and ranks in the top 15% of all large government agencies.  Additionally, Black Engineering Magazine ranked FHWA as one of the Top 20 Government and Nonprofit Historically Black Colleges and Universities Supporters in 2021.

In his capacity as Executive Director, Mr. Everett has also served as the United States' First Delegate to the World Road Association (PIARC) and has been elected to the organization's Executive Committee and Strategic Planning Commission where he helps set the strategic direction for technology transfer among the over 120-member countries. In 2019, he led a delegation of over 20 FHWA and state DOT officials that presented in nearly 30 sessions and workshops during the World Road Association's 26th World Road Congress held October 6-11 in Abu Dhabi.  As an elected member of the Strategic Planning Commission, he participated in discussions related to the Association's 2020 and 2021 Special Projects facility.  For the 2020 projects, and to ensure that the scope of work included targeted areas of interest to the international transportation community, and specifically FHWA, he appointed technical staff to oversee the work and provide guidance on two projects of interest to FHWA: (1) Overweight vehicles' impacts on road infrastructure and safety (2) Road Related Data and How to Use it.

Prior to becoming Executive Director, Mr. Everett served as the Associate Administrator for FHWA's Office of Infrastructure.  In this capacity, he provided leadership, policy direction, and oversight to guide the administration and implementation of the Federal-aid Highway Program.  Tom led key program areas dealing with design, construction, and preservation of pavements, bridges, tunnels, as well as asset management, transportation performance management, emergency relief, consultant services, and construction contract administration.  He also served as the suspension and debarment official for the Agency.  Prior to becoming Associate Administrator, Tom served as the Office Director for the Office of Program Administration where he guided stewardship and oversight of the Federal-aid program.

Tom has also held positions as the Structural Engineer Team Leader in the Office of Bridges and Structures, Bridge Management/Inspection Engineer in the Resource Center, and other key positions including Technical Programs Team Leader in the Tennessee Division and Structural Engineer in FHWA's former Region 3.  Tom joined FHWA in 1985 as a Highway Engineer Trainee. 

Tom is a registered professional engineer and holds a Master's Degree in Civil Engineering from Johns Hopkins University and a Bachelor's Degree in Civil Engineering from Rutgers University.


Page last modified on October 20, 2018
Federal Highway Administration | 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE | Washington, DC 20590 | 202-366-4000