Skip to content

About

Program History

In 1982, Congress recognized that providing access to surface transportation technology, technical assistance and training to local public agencies (LPA) was necessary and created the Rural Technical Assistance Program (RTAP). The Intermodal Surface Transportation Efficiency Act (ISTEA) legislation in 1991 renamed this program the Local Technical Assistance Program (LTAP) and created the Tribal Transportation Assistance Program (TTAP). The TTAP was designated to build the capability of the 573 federally recognized tribes to manage their highway assets by providing training and technical assistance. TTAP is funded under FHWA’s Training and Education programs. The legislative authority to deliver the TTAP is contained in 23 U.S.C. 504(b).

Explore TTAP
Innovation Exchange Webinars

Innovation Exchange Webinars

This webinar series fosters conversations for launching change, targeted to local agencies, tribes, and Federal Land Management agencies.

View webinars on-demand →

Contact Information Center for Local-Aid Support

Victoria Peters
Director
Victoria.Peters@dot.gov

Andrea Kirk
Program Manager
Andrea.Kirk@dot.gov

Danielle Mathis-Lee
Program Manager
Danielle.Mathis-Lee@dot.gov

Hans Anker
Program Manager
Hans.Anker@dot.gov

Morgan Malley
Program Manager
Morgan.Malley@dot.gov

Trinette Ballard
Program Manager
Trinette.Ballard@dot.gov

Accelerated Innovation Deployment (AID) Demonstration Grants

New applications for the AID Demonstration program are being accepted through Grants.gov (search for Opportunity Number FHWA-2016-21063). While Application Instructions are available for download, please refer to the NOFO and Notice of Correction to learn about the selection criteria, application requirements, and evaluation process.

Proposal Narrative Template
https://www.fhwa.dot.gov/
innovation/grants/
application_instructions.pdf

The June 7, 2017 Innovation Exchange webinar provided information on how to write an AID proposal. The recording for that webinar can be found at:

Webinar
https://connectdot.connect
solutions.com/p7zvd0q6uc2/?launch-er=false&fcsContent=true
&pbMode=normal

Stay on top of new transportation technology

Contact the Center for Local Aid Support for assistance.

Stay connected with
Center for Local Aid Support (CLAS)

Sign up to receive the CLAS quarterly e-Newsletter.

back to top