Skip to content U.S. Department of Transportation/Federal Highway AdministrationU.S. Department of Transportation/Federal Highway Administration
Office of Planning, Environment, & Realty (HEP)

2004 and 2005 Transportation Conformity Rule Amendments Outreach Activities

Session 2: Background

FHWA Transportation Conformity and CMAQ Workshop
Summer 2004

New 8-hour ozone standard

New 8-hour ozone standard

Classification of 8-hour Nonattainment Ozone Areas

This map depicts the distribution and classification of designated 8-hour ozone nonattainment areas. Severe 17 (Los Angeles), Serious (Riverside Co.-Coachella Valley, San Joaquin, and Sacramento, CA), Moderate, Moderate EAC, Marginal, Subpart 1, and Subpart 1 EAC areas are shown. The map is intended to show the distribution of 8-hour nonattainment areas, mainly in California and the Southern and Eastern United States.

The 1-hour ozone standard

Conformity under the 1-hour ozone standard

EAC Areas and Conformity

Early Action Compact Areas
June 15, 2004

This map depicts the distribution of areas with Early Action Compacts. These areas are categorized into EAC areas that were designated attainment for the 8-hour standard, EAC areas that were designated nonattainment effective June 15, 2004, and EAC areas with deferred effective dates on their nonattainment designations. The map is intended to show the distribution of EAC areas, primarily in the Southern United States.

A portion of some of the counties are excluded from the EAC

New PM2.5 standards

Conformity under the PM10, CO, and NO2 standards

Updated: 7/6/2011
HEP Home Planning Environment Real Estate
Federal Highway Administration | 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE | Washington, DC 20590 | 202-366-4000