Skip to content
Office of Planning, Environment, & Realty (HEP)
Events Guidance Publications Awards Contacts

National Scenic Byways Program

The National Scenic Byways Program is part of the U.S. Department of Transportation, Federal Highway Administration. Established in Title 23, Section 162 of the United States Code under the Intermodal Surface Transportation Efficiency Act of 1991 and reauthorized and expanded significantly in 1998 under TEA-21 and again under SAFETEA-LU in 2005, the program is a grass-roots collaborative effort established to help recognize, preserve and enhance selected roads throughout the United States.

FHWA's May 18, 1995 interim policy (PDF, Text) provides the criteria for the National Scenic Byways Program. This policy sets forth the procedures for the designation by the U.S. Secretary of Transportation of certain roads as National Scenic Byways or All-American Roads based on their archaeological, cultural, historic, natural, recreational, and scenic qualities. There are 150 such designated byways in 46 states. FHWA promotes the collection as America 's Byways®. This policy also specifies the type of projects eligible for funding and lists the funding priority for grants.

America's Byways logo

America's Byways® - Designed for the traveler, offers maps, directions photos, and visitor information to help plan a trip on any one of the 150 distinct and diverse roads designated by the U.S. Secretary of Transportation.

View a list of America's Byways

Updated: 6/27/2017
HEP Home Planning Environment Real Estate
Federal Highway Administration | 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE | Washington, DC 20590 | 202-366-4000