Skip to content U.S. Department of Transportation/Federal Highway AdministrationU.S. Department of Transportation/Federal Highway Administration
Office of Planning, Environment, & Realty (HEP)

Federal Agencies

Several Federal agencies have active roles in the National Scenic Byways Program. Federal land management agencies can designate roads within their jurisdictions as scenic byways, making them eligible for designation as National Scenic Byways or All-American Roads. Both the Blue Ridge Parkway and the Natchez Trace Parkway are designated as National Forest Scenic Byways (USDA Forest Service) and as National Park Service Parkways. In addition to these two parkways, the America's Byways® collection includes nine other National Park Service units as well as two National Monuments, listed in Table 1.

Table 1 : America's Byways® in National Park Service Units and National Monuments

National Parks or Monuments Scenic Byway
Acadia National Park, ME Acadia Byway AAR
Colonial National Historical Park, VA Colonial Parkway AAR
Crater Lake National Park, OR Volcanic Legacy Scenic Byway AAR
Death Valley National Park, CA Death Valley Scenic Byway, NSB
George Washington Memorial Parkway, VA George Washington Memorial Parkway, AAR
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ Kaibab Plateau-North Rim Parkway NSB
Mount Rainier National Park, WA Chinook Scenic Byway, AAR
Yosemite National Park, CA Tioga Road/Big Flat Oak Road, AAR
Canyons of the Ancients National Monument, CO Trail of the Ancients, NSB
Gila Cliff Dwellings National Monument, NM Trail of the Mountain Spirits, NSB

The USDA Forest Service and the Bureau of Land Management have well-developed byway programs designed to identify, manage, and promote byways on or through lands they manage. Both programs work closely with the National Scenic Byways Program.

National Forest Scenic Byways

The USDA Forest Service established its scenic byways program in 1988. Since that time, the Forest Service has designated 143 National Forest Scenic Byways in National Forests and Grasslands in 33 States. Like the America's Byways® collection, National Forest Scenic Byways are accessible to passenger automobiles. In addition to The Blue Ridge Parkway and the Natchez Trace Parkway, the America's Byways® collection includes 35 other National Forest Scenic Byways. [1]

Bureau of Land Management Back Country Byways

The Bureau of Land Management (BLM) established its byways program in 1989. To date, the BLM has designated nearly 2,500 miles of scenic drives along 54 byway routes in eleven western States. BLM Back Country Byways present a rugged alternative to the America's Byways® collection, with many requiring four-wheel drive vehicles to travel the often unpaved routes. The Gold Belt Scenic and Historic Byway (CO) is both a BLM Back Country Byway and a National Scenic Byway.

Federal agencies also participate in the Program as partners in resource management and tourism promotion. In addition to the agencies mentioned above, these partner Federal agencies include:

  1. A complete listing of National Forest Scenic Byways designated as America's Byways® is available at: America's Byways. ^ back

Updated: 9/3/2013
HEP Home Planning Environment Real Estate
Federal Highway Administration | 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE | Washington, DC 20590 | 202-366-4000