Skip to content U.S. Department of Transportation/Federal Highway AdministrationU.S. Department of Transportation/Federal Highway Administration
Office of Planning, Environment, & Realty (HEP)

Principles and Practices for Eight Categories of Eligible Project Activities

There are eight categories of eligible project activities. After reviewing the Grant Information, select the category that most completely reflects what will be accomplished by the proposed project. Respond to the Principles, Practices and "Complete Applications Include" sections of these instructions for the selected category as you prepare your application. The electronic application form will include additional statements to help applicants focus their proposals. See

List of Eight Grant Categories

  1. State and Tribal Programs
  2. Corridor Management Plan
  3. Safety Improvements
  4. Byway Facilities
  5. Access to Recreation
  6. Resource Protection
  7. Interpretive Information
  8. Marketing Program
Updated: 9/3/2013
HEP Home Planning Environment Real Estate
Federal Highway Administration | 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE | Washington, DC 20590 | 202-366-4000