Skip to content U.S. Department of Transportation/Federal Highway AdministrationU.S. Department of Transportation/Federal Highway Administration
Office of Planning, Environment, & Realty (HEP)


What's New?

Electronic Submission

To facilitate review, we are limiting the number of attachments and requiring applicants to submit all materials in electronic form, along with one signed copy. Additional attachments beyond those requested in the Nomination Application will not be considered. Directions on how to submit attachments electronically will be found within the online application itself.

Provision of Alternative Text Descriptions for Photographs

We will be asking you to provide alternative text descriptions for all photos submitted. This is different than writing a caption. Alternative text will be used to describe your photo to those who, for various reasons, will not be able to see it. The NSBP Image Style Guide has been rewritten to include tips on how to write alternative descriptions, and some examples of how they are used. Please see

Indian Tribes

Since the last round of nominations, additional provisions have been made to permit Indian tribes to nominate roads for national designation directly to FHWA. Indian tribes had previously been required to submit their nominations through the State or Federal land management agency.

In 2005, the Safe, Accountable, Flexible, Efficient Transportation Equity Act: A Legacy for Users (SAFETEA-LU) amended the National Scenic Byways Program to allow the nomination of America's Byways® by Indian tribes. Please see 23 U.S.C. Section 162 for participation by Indian tribes

In accordance with 23 U.S.C. Section 162 an Indian tribe may nominate a road only if a Federal land management agency (other than the Bureau of Indian Affairs), a State, or a political subdivision of a State does not have jurisdiction over the road or responsibility for managing the road.

Consistent with other programs, such as the Indian Reservation Roads Program, any Indian tribe that the Secretary of the Interior has determined is eligible for services generally available to Indians under Federal laws specifically applicable to Indians can participate in the National Scenic Byways Program. There are 562 federally recognized American Indian tribes and Alaska Natives in the United States. See July 12, 2002 Federal Register.

It is important to note that the Interim Policy, the principal policy for the Program, was established prior to SAFETEA-LU. While most of the information in the Interim Policy also applies to Indian tribes, there are inconsistencies in language between the Interim Policy and the statute. In such cases the statutory language governs.

Updated: 1/31/2017
HEP Home Planning Environment Real Estate
Federal Highway Administration | 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE | Washington, DC 20590 | 202-366-4000