Skip to content U.S. Department of Transportation/Federal Highway AdministrationU.S. Department of Transportation/Federal Highway Administration
Office of Planning, Environment, & Realty (HEP)
2012 TPEA logo

Transportation Planning Excellence Awards - 2012

Winners and Honorable Mentions

Sponsored by the Federal Highway Administration and Federal Transit Administration
Co-sponsored by the American Planning Association and Transportation Research Board

Photo: 2012 TPEA winners as described in the caption.

Award winners with FHWA and FTA program managers. From left to right: James Cheatham, FHWA; Wayne Aldrich, City of Normal, IL; Rae Keasler, FHWA; Jeff Fritzen, City of Normal, IL; Franz Lowenhertz, City of Bellevue, WA; Beth Alden, Hillsborough County MPO; Thomas McQueen, Georgia DOT; Gena Torres, Hillsborough County MPO; Mary McInnes, Pioneer Valley Transit Authority; Kasey St. John, Indian Nations Council of Governments; Randy Blankenhorn, Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning; Mary Ivey, New York State DOT; John Sprowls, FTA; Michael Skipper, Nashville Area MPO; Faith Hall, FTA; Fred Bowers, FHWA.

The Transportation Planning Excellence Awards Program is a biennial awards program developed by the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) and Federal Transit Administration (FTA) and co-sponsored by the American Planning Association and the Transportation Research Board. The program provides a unique opportunity to recognize and celebrate the outstanding transportation planning practices performed by planners and decisionmakers in communities across the country.

An independent, expert panel of judges reviewed each nomination, and identified nine Award Winning projects that went well beyond standard practice to demonstrate an exceptional level of innovation and creativity. Another six projects were recognized as Honorable Mentions.

We applaud the winners for their projects as well as all of the outstanding projects nominated for an award this year. Due to the tremendous responses and the number of exceptional planning submittals, the job of our independent panel of judges to select the most outstanding projects was particularly challenging.

We recognize all applicants for their efforts in applying to the program and appreciate the work that is being done to advance transportation planning across the county. The following list of award winners and honorable mentions represent excellence in transportation planning and may serve as models for their peers.

Award Winners

2035 Regional Transportation Plan: Linking Health & Mobility
Nashville Area Metropolitan Planning Organization
Nashville, TN

Fast Forward Transit Plan Mobile Outreach Bus
Indian Nations Council of Governments
Tulsa, OK

Georgia Statewide Freight and Logistics Plan
Georgia Department of Transportation
Atlanta, GA

GO TO 2040 Comprehensive Regional Plan
Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning
Chicago, IL

Hillsborough Countywide Bicycle Safety Action Plan
Hillsborough County Metropolitan Planning Organization
Tampa, FL

Holyoke Multi-modal Transportation Center Project
Pioneer Valley Transit Authority
Springfield, MA

Lake Champlain Bridge Project
New York State Department of Transportation
Schenectady, NY and
Vermont Agency of Transportation
Montpelier, VT

Toward Universal Access: Leveraging Technology for ADA Compliance
City of Bellevue, WA

Uptown Circle
Town of Normal, IL

Honorable Mentions

Aquidneck Island Transportation Study
Aquidneck Island Planning Commission
Newport, RI

Emil "Lucky" Reznik Administration, Maintenance and Operations Facility
South Bend Public Transportation Corporation
South Bend, IN

Haywood County Comprehensive Bicycle Plan
Haywood County Recreation and Parks Department
Waynesville, NC

Highway District Transportation Plan
Kentucky Transportation Cabinet, Division of Planning
Frankfort, KY

Memphis MPO Regional Bicycle and Pedestrian Plan
Memphis Urban Area Metropolitan Planning Organization
Memphis, TN

Minnesota GO: Crafting a Transportation Vision for Generations
Minnesota Department of Transportation
St. Paul, MN

Updated: 8/13/2012
HEP Home Planning Environment Real Estate
Federal Highway Administration | 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE | Washington, DC 20590 | 202-366-4000