U.S. Department of Transportation
Federal Highway Administration
1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE
Washington, DC 20590

Skip to content
Facebook iconYouTube iconTwitter iconFlickr iconLinkedInInstagram

Home / Briefing Room / Press Releases

Briefing Room

Subscribe to FHWA Press Releases

U.S. DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION, Office of the Secretary, Office of Public Affairs, Washington, DC 20590

Monday, December 11, 2000
Contacts: TaMara McCrae, FHWA, (202) 366-0660
Kathy Hoffman, RSF, (202) 857-1231, (202) 366-0660
FHWA 129-00

FHWA Announces National Roadway Safety Leadership Awards

Federal Highway Administrator Kenneth R. Wykle today announced that the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) and the Roadway Safety Foundation (RSF) are sponsoring the fourth biennial 2001 National Roadway Safety Leadership Awards, which will recognize roadway safety excellence by State, local and Federal agencies and the private sector.

"These prestigious awards allow us an opportunity to recognize and commend the government and industry initiatives and innovations to improve the safety on our nation’s highways," Wykle said.

The awards will be given in three categories: safety improvements; operational improvements; and program planning, development and evaluation.

Roadway Safety Foundation President Tom Chaffin added, "We are very pleased to co-sponsor this program with the FHWA to recognize and share these life-saving practices and innovations."

The 1998 award recipients were the South Dakota Department of Transportation for its "Work Zone Speed Enforcement Program"; AAA Michigan for its "Road Improvement Program"; Lincoln, Neb., for its program to "Reduce Red Light Running"; Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles, Drive Smart Virginia, Chesterfield County School System, and the Virginia Trucking Association for their "Don't Hang Out in the No Zone Program"; New York State Department of Transportation for its "Intelligent Transportation System/Commercial Vehicle Operation Business Plan"; Georgia Utilities Coordinating Council for its "Clear Roadside Program"; and California Department of Transportation’s District 5 for its "SR41/46 safety project."

Entry forms for the awards program may be obtained from the FHWA or RSF and should be submitted by April 16, 2001. For further information contact the FHWA Office of Safety by telephone, (202) 366-1795, or through the Internet at http://safety.fhwa.dot.gov or contact the Roadway Safety Foundation, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington DC 20036, telephone (202) 857-1200.


Visit the DOT Public Affairs Web Site at:


FHWA Press Releases

Page last modified on September 14, 2012
Federal Highway Administration | 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE | Washington, DC 20590 | 202-366-4000