U.S. Department of Transportation
Federal Highway Administration
1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE
Washington, DC 20590

Skip to content
Facebook iconYouTube iconTwitter iconFlickr iconLinkedInInstagram

Home / Briefing Room / Press Releases

Briefing Room

Subscribe to FHWA Press Releases

U.S. Department of Transportation, Office of Public Affairs, 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE, Washington, D.C. 20590, www.dot.gov/briefingroom - News Follow us on Twitter @USDOTFHWA U S D O T briefing room

FHWA 29-15
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Contact: Nicole Jones
(202) 366-0660

FHWA Names Environmental Excellence Award Recipients for 2015

WASHINGTON – The U.S. Department of Transportation’s Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) today revealed this year’s Environmental Excellence Award recipients. Selected by an independent panel, the awards are the agency’s biennial recognition of innovative efforts to preserve the environment while enhancing America’s highways.

“Building a 21st-century transportation system that is cost-efficient and protects the environment requires creativity and innovation,” said U.S. Transportation Secretary Anthony Foxx. “These awards demonstrate FHWA’s support of projects that approach current and future transportation challenges with new solutions.”

The winning projects used a wide range of innovative methods and approaches to promote environmental sensitivity and sustainability without sacrificing mobility. FHWA will recognize the award recipients at the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials’ Conference on 21st Century Mobility and Passenger Transportation to be held this July in Salt Lake City, Utah.

The projects span a wide range of professional disciplines, from historic preservation and water quality improvements to wetlands and habitat restoration.

For example, California’s Philip S. Raine Safety Roadside Rest Area project helps to preserve the environment by saving an estimated 52.3 percent in energy use and over 10 million gallons in annual water savings compared to conventional methods.

“Finding a better balance between the environment and America’s roadways is a key to creating jobs, scaling back our dependence on oil and reducing pollution,” said Deputy Federal Highway Administrator Gregory Nadeau.

“Through innovation technologies and other means, this year’s award recipients are shortening project delivery, reducing cost to taxpayers, and helping us make every day count.”

This year’s winning entries include:

Animal Road Crossing (ARC) Solutions
Excellence in Environmental Leadership
Awardees: ARC Solutions, Arizona Department of Transportation

Improvements in Historic Preservation
Excellence in Programmatic Agreements
Awardee: California Department of Transportation

Philip S. Raine Safety Roadside Rest Area
Excellence in Roadside Resource Management and Maintenance
Awardee: California Department of Transportation

Green Infrastructure Standards
Excellence in Wetlands, Watersheds, and Water Quality
Awardee: District of Columbia Department of Transportation

Project Development and Environment Services for US 41, 10th Street to 14th Street in Sarasota, Florida
Excellence in Cultural and Historical Resources
Awardees: H.W. Lochner, Inc.; Florida Department of Transportation

Longleaf Pine and Gopher Tortoise Habitat Restoration Project
Excellence in Ecosystems, Habitat, and Wildlife
Awardee: Georgia Department of Transportation

PB-85 Stream, Floodplain, and Wetland Restoration
Excellence in Wetlands, Watersheds, and Water Quality
Awardee: Maryland State Highway Administration

Montana Highway 78
Excellence in Educational and Training Programs
Awardee: Montana Department of Transportation

Right-of-Way Carbon Sequestration Research Project
Excellence in Environmental Research
Awardee:  New Mexico Department of Transportation

Syracuse Connective Corridor, Phase 1
Excellence in Collaboration and Partnership
Awardees: Barton and Loguidice, D.P.C.; CH2M HILL; New York State Department of Transportation

Strategic Assessment of Land Use and Transportation Plans for the Corvallis Area
Excellence in Air Quality Improvement and Climate Change
Awardee: Oregon Department of Transportation

Potters Mills Gap Transportation Project
Excellence in Environmental Streamlining
Awardees: McCormick Taylor; Pennsylvania Department of Transportation

Klyde Warren Park in Dallas, Texas
Excellence in Context Sensitive Solutions
Awardee: Texas Department of Transportation

River Science Climate Resilience Strategy
Excellence in Climate Change Adaptation and Resilience
Awardee: Vermont Agency of Transportation

Humpback Bridge Replacement and Joyce Street Improvements
Excellence in Nonmotorized and Multimodal Transportation
Awardees: FHWA Eastern Federal Lands Highway Division; Virginia Department of Transportation

Additional information about the 2015 Environmental Excellence Award recipients can be found at www.fhwa.dot.gov/environment/environmental_excellence_awards/eea_2015/.

# # #

FHWA Press Releases

Page posted on April 22, 2015
Federal Highway Administration | 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE | Washington, DC 20590 | 202-366-4000