United States Department of Transportation - Federal Highway AdministrationSkip to contentFHWA HomeFeedback
Catastrophic Hurricane Evacuation Plan Evaluation: A Report to Congress
 Table of Contents | Previous | Next

Appendix B: State, Parish, and County Agency Plans Included in the Assessments

The U.S. DOT acquired copies of the evacuation plans through three means: (1) the DHS National Planning Review, (2) the Secretary of Transportation's letter to the Governors, and (3) direct contact with State and local emergency managers or transportation officials. The U.S. DOT also consulted with the State emergency management agencies to validate that the plans provided for review included all relevant plans available in each State. While evacuation plans were not available from every jurisdiction, the U.S. DOT collected evacuation planning documents from each of the Gulf Coast States and from more than 54 percent of the State, county, and parish plans identified for the study. The set of collected plans provided a sufficient base from which to assess the overall adequacy of evacuation planning for those areas in the Gulf Coast region with the greatest threat of catastrophic hurricanes.

The team received 82 plans, 63 of which have been assessed and ranked, as presented in Table

B-1. The remaining 19 plans were deemed incomplete as essential information pertaining to evacuation-related processes and planning was missing. Consequently, these documents have not been reviewed and are listed in Table B-2. In addition, four host states (i.e., Arkansas, Georgia, Oklahoma, and Tennessee) were evaluated against criteria that focused on the sheltering of evacuees.

Table B-1 - State, Parish, and County Plans Included in the Assessment

No. State State, Parish, and County Plans
1 Alabama State
2 Mobile
3 Florida Alachua County
4 Bay County
5 Bradford County
6 Broward
7 Calhoun
8 Charlotte
9 Clay
10 Collier
11 Duval
12 Flagler
13 Franklin
14 Glades
15 Hillsborough
16 Indian
17 Leon
18 Liberty
19 Madison County
20 Martin
21 Miami-Dade
22 Monroe
23 Okaloosa County
24 Orlando
25 Orange
26 Pasco
27 Pinellas
28 Santa Rosa
29 St. Johns
30 Suwannee
31 Volusia
32 Walton County
33 State

No State State, Parish and County Plans
34 Louisiana Acadia Parish
35 Ascension Parish
36 Concordia Parish
37 Iberia Parish
38 Jefferson Davis
39 Jefferson Parish
40 Lafayette Parish
41 Lafourche Parish
42 Livingston Parish
43 New Orleans
44 Plaquemines
45 St. Charles
46 St. Bernard
47 St. Helena
48 St John the Baptist Parish
49 St. James Parish
50 St. Martin Parish
51 St. Mary Parish
52 State
53 Mississippi Harrison
54 Jackson
55 Pearl River
56 Pike
57 Stone
58 State
59 Texas Fort Bend
60 Harris
61 Montgomery
62 Nueces County (Corpus Christi)
63 State

Table B-2 - State, Parish and County Plans Not Included in the Assessment

No State County/Parish
1 Florida Baldwin
2 Baker
3 Brevard
4 Escambia
5 Hardee
6 Lake
7 Lee
8 Manatee
9 Nassau
10 Palm Beach
11 Polk
12 Seminole
13 Washington
14 Louisiana St. Tamany
15 Tangipahoa
16 Washington
17 Texas Live Oak
18 Tarrant
19 Travis

Sheltering States Assessments

Four host states were evaluated against criterion that focused on the sheltering of evacuees. Oklahoma, Georgia, and Tennessee provided complete plans, and Arkansas provided its National Plan Review response.

 Table of Contents | Previous | Next
FHWA Home | Feedback