U.S. Department of Transportation
Federal Highway Administration
1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE
Washington, DC 20590
202-366-4000


Skip to content
FacebookYouTubeTwitterFlickrLinkedIn

FHWA Resource Center

FHWA Home / Resource Center / Geotechnical Engineering and Hydraulics Team

Geotechnical and Hydraulic Engineering

Geotechnical and Hydraulic Engineering Team

We are pleased to offer our services and provide you with the latest in Geotechnical and Hydraulic Engineering information and technology.

Here you will find important information about FHWA Geotechnical and Hydraulics initiatives along with who to contact for training and assistance.

Listed below are the Resource Center Geotechnical and Hydraulics experts. Please email or call the specialist nearest you.

Team Members

Geotechnical and Hydraulic Engineering Acting Team Manager
Eric Brown

eric.r.brown@dot.gov

Melvin Harris
melvin.harris@dot.gov

Geotechnical Team Members
Team Member Specialty Area(s)
Naser Abu-Hejleh, Ph.D., P.E.
Geotechnical Engineer Specialist
naser.abu-hejleh@dot.gov
• LRFD Implementation
• Driven Piles
• Spread Footings
• Load Testing of Deep Foundation
• Promary contact for Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Ohio, Wisconsin
Daniel Alzamora, P.E.
Geotechnical Engineer
daniel.alzamora@dot.gov
• Column Supported Embankments
• Earth Retaining Structures
• Reinforced Soil Slopes
• Geosynthetics
• Geosynthetic Reinforced Soil - Integrated Bridge System (GRS-IBS)
• Primary contact for Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Kansas, Nevada, New Mexico, Puerto Rico, Texas
   
Justice Maswoswe, Ph.D., P.E.
Senior Geotechnical Engineer
justice.maswoswe@dot.gov
• Geotechnical Seismic Engineering
• Ground Improvement
• Drilled Shafts
• Instrumentation
• Slop Stability
• Primary contact for Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia
   
Benjamin Rivers, P.E.
Geotechnical Engineer
benjamin.rivers@dot.gov
• Earthwork and Embankments
• Trenchless Technology
• Subsurface Drainage
• Subsurface Investigations
• Geophysics
• Primary contact for Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, West Virginia
   
Barry Siel, P.E.
Senior Geotechnical Engineer
barry.siel@dot.gov
• Soil Nailing
• Ground Anchors
• Micropiles
• Rock Slopes
• Geology
• Primary contact for Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, Wyoming
   
Hydraulic Engineering Team Members
Team Member Specialty Area(s)
 
Bart Bergendahl, P.E.
Senior Hydraulic Engineer
bart.bergendahl@dot.gov
Open Channel/Bridge/Culvert Hydraulics
River Mechanics/Sediment Transport/Scour Analyses
Stream Stability/Countermeasure Design
Aquatic Organism Passage Design
Urban Drainage Design
Pump Station Design
Eric Brown, Ph.D.
Senior Hydraulic Engineer
eric.r.brown@dot.gov
Open Channel Hydraulics
River Stabilization
Restoration and Monitoring
Culvert Hydraulics
Highway Drainage Design

Scott Hogan, P.E.
Senior Hydraulic Engineer
scott.hogan@dot.gov
Open Channel Hydraulics
One- and Two-dimensional Hydraulic Modeling
Bridge Hydraulics and Scour
Sediment Transport Analysis
Stream Stability and Countermeasures
Culvert Design and Rehabilitation
Energy Dissipator Design
Cynthia Nurmi, P.E.
Senior Hydraulic Engineer
cynthia.nurmi@dot.gov
Drainage
FEMA Floodplain development
Plans of Action
Scour
Urban Drainage
Hydraulics

Page last modified on September 6, 2017
Federal Highway Administration | 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE | Washington, DC 20590 | 202-366-4000