U.S. Department of Transportation
Federal Highway Administration
1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE
Washington, DC 20590
202-366-4000


Skip to content
Facebook iconYouTube iconTwitter iconFlickr iconLinkedInInstagram

FHWA Resource Center
Office of Innovation Implementation

FHWA Home / Resource Center / Geotechnical and Hydraulic Engineering Team

Geotechnical and Hydraulic Engineering

Geotechnical and Hydraulic Engineering Team

We are pleased to offer our services and provide you with the latest in Geotechnical and Hydraulic Engineering information and technology.

Here you will find important information about FHWA Geotechnical and Hydraulics initiatives along with who to contact for training and assistance.

Listed below are the Resource Center Geotechnical and Hydraulics experts. Please email or call the specialist nearest you.

Team Members

Technical Director

Scott Hogan, P.E.
Acting Technical Director, Senior Hydraulic Engineer
scott.hogan@dot.gov

Daniel Alzamora, P.E.
Acting Technical Director, Senior Geotechnical Engineer
daniel.alzamora@dot.gov

Team Member Specialty Area(s)
Justice Maswoswe, Ph.D., P.E.
Senior Geotechnical Engineer
justice.maswoswe@dot.gov
• LRFD Design & Implementation
• Foundation Load Tests
• Design of Driven Piles & Drilled Shafts
• Selection and Design of Shallow Foundations
• Large Size Driven Piles
• Geotechnical Performance Management
Benjamin Rivers, P.E.
Senior Geotechnical Engineer
benjamin.rivers@dot.gov
• Deep Foundations
• Ground Improvement
• Subsurface Investigations
• Slope Stability & Embankments
• Soil Tunnels (ITT, TBM, C&C)
   
Derrick Dasenbrock, P.E., D.GE, F. ASCE
Geotechnical Engineer
derrick.dasenbrock@dot.gov
• Subsurface Characterization
• Soil and Rock Slopes
• Drilled Shaft Construction
• Earthwork Construction
• Geohazards
   
  • Site Characterization
• Geotechnical Testing (In-situ and lab)
• Soil, Rock, and Soil-Structure Behavior
• Instrumentation
• Measurement and Inspection
• Performance Monitoring and Data Visualization
• Alternative Procurement
Team Member Specialty Area(s)
Laura Girard, P.E.
Senior Hydraulic Engineer
laura.girard@dot.gov
Bridge and Culvert Hydraulics
Bridge Scour Assessment
Countermeasure Design
River Engineering Analyses
Resilience and Climate Change
   
Ryan Lizewski
Hydraulic Engineer
ryan.lizewski@dot.gov
Urban Drainage
Bridge and Culvert Hydraulics
Coastal Hydraulics and Resilience
Floodplain Hydraulics
   
Megan Frye, P.E
Hydraulic Engineer
megan.frye@dot.gov
Hydrologic Analyses
Hydraulic Modeling
Culvert Hydraulics
Roadway Drainage
   
David Claman
Hydraulic Engineer
david.claman@dot.gov
Culvert Hydraulics
Bridge Hydraulics
Roadway Drainage
Floodplains
Hydrologic Analyses
   
Page last modified on June 2, 2022
Federal Highway Administration | 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE | Washington, DC 20590 | 202-366-4000