U.S. Department of Transportation
Federal Highway Administration
1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE
Washington, DC 20590
202-366-4000


Skip to content
Facebook iconYouTube iconTwitter iconFlickr iconLinkedInInstagram

FHWA Resource Center

FHWA Home / Resource Center / Geotechnical and Hydraulics Engineering Team

Geotechnical and Hydraulic Engineering

Geotechnical and Hydraulic Engineering Team

We are pleased to offer our services and provide you with the latest in Geotechnical and Hydraulic Engineering information and technology.

Here you will find important information about FHWA Geotechnical and Hydraulics initiatives along with who to contact for training and assistance.

Listed below are the Resource Center Geotechnical and Hydraulics experts. Please email or call the specialist nearest you.

Team Members

Technical Director

Gregory Punske
Geotechnical and Hydraulic Engineering Technical Director
gregory.punske@dot.gov

Team Member Specialty Area(s)
Naser Abu-Hejleh, Ph.D., P.E.
Geotechnical Engineer Specialist
naser.abu-hejleh@dot.gov
• LRFD Design & Implementation
• Foundation Load Tests
• Design of Driven Piles & Drilled Shafts
• Selection and Design of Shallow Foundations
• Large Size Driven Piles
• Geotechnical Performance Management
Daniel Alzamora, P.E.
Senior Geotechnical Engineer
daniel.alzamora@dot.gov
• Earth Retaining Structures
• Slope Stability & Embankments
• Mechanically Stabilized Soils
• Geosynthetics
• Geosynthetic Reinforced Soil - Integrated Bridge System (GRS-IBS)
   
Justice Maswoswe, Ph.D., P.E.
Senior Geotechnical Engineer
justice.maswoswe@dot.gov
• Deep Foundations
• Ground Improvement
• Subsurface Investigations
• Slope Stability & Embankments
• Soil Tunnels (ITT, TBM, C&C)
   
Benjamin Rivers, P.E.
Senior Geotechnical Engineer
benjamin.rivers@dot.gov
• Subsurface Characterization
• Soil and Rock Slopes
• Drilled Shaft Construction
• Earthwork Construction
• Geohazards
   
Derrick Dasenbrock, P.E., D.GE, F. ASCE
Geotehcnical Engineer
derrick.dasenbrock@dot.gov
• Site Characterization
• Geotechnical Testing (In-situ and lab)
• Soil, Rock, and Soil-Structure Behavior
• Instrumentation
• Measurement, and Inspection
• Performance Monitoring and Data Visualization
• Alternative Procurement
Team Member Specialty Area(s)
Veronica Ghelardi, P.E.
Senior Hydraulic Engineer
veronica.ghelardi@dot.gov
Open Channel/Bridge/Culvert Hydraulics
River Mechanics/Scour Analyses
Stream Stability/Countermeasure Design
Urban Drainage Design
Pump Station Design
Scott Hogan, P.E.
Senior Hydraulic Engineer
scott.hogan@dot.gov
Open Channel Hydraulics
One- and Two-dimensional Hydraulic Modeling
Bridge Hydraulics and Scour
Sediment Transport Analysis
Stream Stability and Countermeasures
Culvert Design and Rehabilitation
Energy Dissipator Design
Laura Girard, P.E.
Hydraulic Engineer
laura.girard@dot.gov
Bridge and Culvert Hydraulics
Bridge Scour Assessment
Countermeasure Design
River Engineering Analyses
Cynthia Nurmi, P.E.
Hydraulic Engineer
cynthia.nurmi@dot.gov
Drainage
FEMA Floodplain development
Plans of Action
Scour
Urban Drainage
Hydraulics

Page last modified on August 13, 2020
Federal Highway Administration | 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE | Washington, DC 20590 | 202-366-4000