TEA-21 logo TEA-21 - Transportation Equity Act for the 21st Century
Moving Americans into the 21st Century
TEA-21 Home | DOT Home | Calendar of Events

Transportation Equity Act for the 21st Century Listening Session
New Orleans, Louisiana
September 15, 1998

New Orleans, Louisiana, has been selected as the site for one of the five national listening sessions on the Transportation Equity Act for the 21st Century (TEA-21). TEA-21 was enacted into law on June 9, 1998, replacing the Intermodal Surface Transportation Efficiency Act of 1991 (ISTEA).

The legislation reaffirms the commitment to rebuilding America by providing a record, balanced investment in our highways, transit systems, and intermodal facilities. It provides $211 billion for transportation, including $173 billion from the U.S. Highway Trust Fund and $36 billion from the U.S. Transit Trust Fund over 6 years. The act protects America's health and safety through increased safety initiatives, strengthens proven strategies to safeguard public health and the environment, and expands opportunities for all Americans through a new Access to Jobs program.

In a concerted effort to hear from constituencies within the transportation community prior to implementation of many TEA-21 programs, the U.S. Department of Transportation is conducting a series of regional multimodal outreach sessions over the next 3 months. The outreach program includes five national listening sessions and five subject-specific conferences conducted by USDOT officials in cities around the country. During these full-day sessions, panels of regional, state, and local officials and representatives of other interested organizations will comment on the implementation of TEA-21.

The session in New Orleans will be held on September 15, 1998, from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. at the Hotel Inter-Continental at 444 St. Charles Avenue. Interested individuals or groups are invited to attend and provide oral or written comments on the implementation of TEA-21 programs. Mr. Tony Sussmann is the local contact and he can be reached at 504-389-0464.

TEA-21 Listening Session
Hotel Inter-Continental, 444 St. Charles Avenue., New Orleans, LA
September 15, 1998, 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

New Orleans Hotels

Hilton Hotel
(AC-504) 561-0500
Poydras at Mississippi River
No government rate available
Holiday Inn, French Quarter*
(AC-504) 529-7211
124 Royal Street
Government rate $88.00
Regular rate $125.96
(AC-504) 581-3111
833 Poydras Street
No government rate available
Maison Dupuy*
(AC-504) 586-8000
1001 Toulouse Street
No government rate available
Marriott Hotel*
(AC-504) 581-1000
Canal & Chartres Streets
Government rate available $99.00
Regular rate $199.00

All rooms require 11% tax and $1.00 or $2.00 occupancy fee.

*Not walking distance

U.S. Department of Transportation
TEA-21 New Orleans Listening Session
9:00 a.m., Tuesday, September 15, 1998
Hotel Inter-Continental, 444 St. Charles Avenue


8:30 a.m. Registration and coffee
9:00 a.m. Mark Morial, Mayor, City of New Orleans (invited)
9:15 a.m. USDOT Introductory Remarks
  • Mort Downey, Deputy Secretary USDOT
  • Gloria Jeff, Deputy Administrator, FHWA
  • Charlotte Hrncir, Director Intergovernmental Affairs, NHTSA
  • Kelley Coyner, Administrator, RSPA
  • Jim McQueen, Associate Administrator, FRA
  • Lee Waddleton, Regional Administrator, FTA
9:45 a.m. Panel A (10-minute presentation and panelist, then Q&A)
  • Frank Denton, Secretary, Louisiana Department of Transportation
  • Ken Warren, Executive Director, Mississippi Department of Transportation
  • Dan Flowers, Director, Arkansas Department of Transportation
  • Kristina Ford, Director, City Planning Commission, New Orleans, LA
10:45 a.m. Break
11:00 a.m. Panel B (10-minute presentation and panelist, then Q&A)
  • Walter Brooks, Deputy Director, New Orleans Regional Planning Commission
  • Clarke Holmes, Director, Central Mississippi Planning & Development District
  • Dennis Foltz, Executive Director, Middle Rio Grande Council of Governments
  • Carl Bauer, Chairman Louisiana Governorís I-49 Task Force
  • Ken Adler, EPA
12:00 NoonAudience Questions and Answers
12:30 p.m.Lunch (Afternoon Panels Reconvene at 1:30 p.m.)
1:30 p.m. Panel C (10-minute presentation and panelist, then Q&A)
  • Glenn Guillot, General Manager Southeastern Motor Freight
  • Ted Knappen, American Bus Association
  • Jodie Paden, Local Government Technology Center, Oklahoma State University
  • Paulson Chaco, Director, Navajo Department of Transportation
  • Al Prater, President, Louisiana Parish Engineers Association
2:30 p.m.Break
2:45 p.m. Panel D (10-minute presentation and panelist, then Q&A)
  • Ron Brinson, President, Port of New Orleans
  • Thomas Moore, Director, Little Rock Port Authority
  • Pat Younger, Government Relations Manager, Port of Houston
  • John McGuire, Councilman, City of Mandeville, LA
3:45 p.m. Panel E (10-minute presentation and panelist, then Q&A)
  • John Bartosiewicz, General Manager, Fort Worth Transportation Authority
  • Larry Hall, President, Southwest Transit Association
  • Jim Champagne, Louisiana Governorís Safety Representative
  • Cathy Childers, Motherís Against Drunk Driving
4:30 p.m.Audience Questions and Answers
5:00 p.m.Adjourn

TEA-21 Home | DOT Home | Calendar of Events
United States Department of Transportation