TEA-21 logo TEA-21 - Transportation Equity Act for the 21st Century
Moving Americans into the 21st Century
TEA-21 Home | DOT Home | Calendar of Events

September 8, 1998

On June 9, 1998, the President signed into law PL 105-178, The Transportation Equity Act for the 21st Century (TEA-21) authorizing highway, highway safety, transit and other surface transportation programs for the next six years. TEA-21 builds on the initiatives established in the Intermodal Surface Transportation Efficiency Act of 1991 (ISTEA), which was the last major authorizing legislation for surface transportation. TEA-21 reaffirms the commitment to rebuilding America by providing a balanced investment in our highways, transit systems, and intermodal facilities, and provides almost $218 billion for surface transportation over 6 years. The bill protects America’s health and safety through increased safety initiatives, strengthens proven strategies to safeguard public health and the environment, and expands opportunity for all Americans through a new Access to Jobs program.

In a concerted effort to hear comments concerning the implementation of the new TEA-21 legislation, the U.S. Department of Transportation (USDOT) is conducting a series of TEA-21 outreach sessions to consult with its partners and customers. As part of this series of outreach sessions, USDOT officials will convene a listening session for the Mid-Atlantic Region on September 8, 1998 in Camp Hill, Pennsylvania (near Harrisburg). During this full-day session, panels of regional, state, and local officials, as well as other interested parties, will be asked to comment on a broad range of issues and concerns related to the implementation of TEA-21.

The Mid-Atlantic listening session will be held at the Radisson - Penn Harris Hotel and Convention Center, Camp Hill Bypass and US 11 & 15, in Camp Hill (see directions on the following page). The session, hosted by the USDOT, will begin at 8:30 AM and end at 5:00 PM. Interested individuals or groups are invited to attend.

For further information on this listening session, please contact Mr. Robert Hall, Federal Highway Administration Division Office, at (717)221-3759.

A block of 50 overnight rooms have been placed on hold at the Radisson-Penn Harris for the night of September 7, at a rate of $65, plus tax. For those individuals planning on staying overnight, reservations must be placed at the hotel by Wednesday, August 26. The phone number at the Radisson-Penn Harris is (717)763-7117. Please indicate that you are reserving your accommodations under the block of “FHWA” in order to receive the special conference rate.

For questions concerning the meeting facility, overnight accommodations or directions to the Radisson, please contact Ms. Anita Everhard, PennDOT, at (717) 787-2913.


7:30 - 8:30Registration and Continental Breakfast
8:30 - 9:00 Welcome and Opening Remarks by Administrator Kenneth R. Wykle
Session Format and DOT Panel Introductions
Remarks by the Listening Panel Modal Administrators

U. S. DOT Panel:
Secretary Rodney E. Slater
FHWA Administrator Kenneth R. Wykle
NHTSA Deputy Administrator Philip R. Recht
FRA Administrator Jolene M. Molitoris
FTA Deputy Administrator Nuria Fernandez
Acting Assistant Secretary for Budgets and Programs Peter J. Basso

9:00 - 9:45 First Panel:
Jim Atwell, Assistant Commissioner for Finance, Virginia Department of Transportation
Kathy English, Deputy Director, Delaware Dept. of Public Safety
Emil Wolanin, Chief, Systems Management Section, Montgomery County, Maryland
10:00 - 11:30 Second Panel:
Bradley L. Mallory, Secretary Pennsylvania Department of Transportation
David L. Winstead, Secretary, Maryland Department of Transportation
Shirley Ybarra, Secretary, Virginia Department of Transportation
Anne P. Canby, Secretary, Delaware Department of Transportation
Sam Bonasso, Secretary, West Virginia Department of Transportation Cellerino Bernardino, District of Columbia
11:30 - 12:00Remarks by Secretary Rodney E. Slater and Chairman Bud Shuster
Noon-1:30Lunch   on your own
Noon-1:30Press Opportunity/Other Events - Secretary Slater and Chairman Shuster
1:30 - 2:25 Third Panel:
John Coscia, Executive Director, DVRPC, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Ken Green, Executive Director, Eastern Panhandle RP&D Council, West Virginia
Paul Skoutelas, Executive Director, Port Authority Transit, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Michael Rogers, Executive Director, Metro Washington, D. C. Council of Governments
2:25 - 3:20 Fourth Panel:
Jim Runk, Executive Director, Pennsylvania Motor Truck Association
Lawrence Malski, Executive Director and General Counsel, Lackawanna County, Railroad Authority
Randy Evans, CSX Transportation
James Dwyer, Deputy Director for Plannning and Business Development for Maryland Port Administration
3:20 - 3:35Break
3:35 - 4:30Fifth Panel:
Chris Miller, President, Piedmont Environmental Council, Virginia
Carol Cocuzzi, Accessibility Development Association, Inc. Pennsylvania
Thomas P. Sexton, Rails to Trails Conservancy, Pennsylvania Field Office
William Cummings, President, Associated Pennsylvania Constructors
4:30 - 5:00Audience Questions and Comments session

Because time may not permit us to hear from everyone who wishes to provide input, written statements may be sent to the U.S. Department of Transportation, Office of Governmental Affairs, Room 10405, 400 7th Street, S.W., Washington, D.C. 20590.

TEA-21 Home | DOT Home | Calendar of Events
United States Department of Transportation