Skip to contentUnited States Department of Transportation - Federal Highway AdministrationFHWA HomeFeedback

Excellence in Highway Design

PDF Version (3 mb)

Excellence Award Winners 2010

From streets that are the heartbeat of a community to dramatic modern bridges, the Federal Highway Administration's (FHWA) Excellence in Highway Design Biennial Awards Program recognizes outstanding highway transportation, highlighting the best in highway design. One of the critical challenges facing our industry is providing context sensitive highway solutions that enhance safety, improve mobility, protect the environment, make effective use of limited resources, and deliver projects in a timely manner. These award winners showcase how innovative practices and methods have been integrated into the development and delivery of these projects to meet this challenge with resounding success.


The 2010 awards for Excellence and Honorable Mention in 10 categories were announced at the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials' annual meeting in Biloxi, Mississippi, held October 28-November 1. The individual awards will be presented to the winners at later dates by their local FHWA Division offices.

For more information on the awards program, contact Brooke Struve (phone: 202-366-1317 or email: or visit



Michael Matzke
Office of Program Administration
E-mail Michael

PDF files can be viewed with the Acrobat® Reader®
Updated: 04/08/2011

United States Department of Transportation - Federal Highway Administration