U.S. Department of Transportation
Federal Highway Administration
1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE
Washington, DC 20590
202-366-4000


Skip to content
Facebook iconYouTube iconTwitter iconFlickr iconLinkedInInstagram

Center for Accelerating Innovation

FHWA Home / OIPD / Accelerating Innovation / CAI Contacts List

Contacts


Name Title and Programs Phone E-Mail
Thomas Harman Director | Center for Accelerating Innovation (202) 366-6377 Tom.Harman@dot.gov
Jeffrey Zaharewicz Senior Advisor | AMR Program | Stakeholder Engagement (202) 366-1325 Jeffrey.Zaharewicz@dot.gov
Sara Lowry Program Coordinator | National STIC Network & Incentive Program, Increased Federal-share (614) 280-6835 Sara.Lowry@dot.gov
Fawn Thompson Program Coordinator | AID Demonstration (404) 895-6229 Fawn.Thompson@dot.gov
Julie Zirlin Program Coordinator | EDC Program / Newsletters (202) 366-9105 Julie.Zirlin@dot.gov


EDC-6 Innovation Name and Office Phone E-Mail
Mobility
Crowdsourcing for Advancing Operations James Colyar
FHWA Office of Operations

Greg Jones
FHWA Resource Center

Ralph Volpe
FHWA Resource Center
(360) 753-9408

(404) 895-6220

(404) 985-1268
James.Colyar@dot.gov

GregM.Jones@dot.gov

Ralph.Volpe@dot.gov
Next-Generation TIM: Integrating Technology, Data, and Training Paul Jodoin
FHWA Office of Operations

James Austrich
FHWA Office of Operations
(202) 366-5465

(202) 366-0731
Paul.Jodoin@dot.gov

James.Austrich@dot.gov
Shortening Project Delivery
e-Ticketing and Digital As-Builts Rob Elliott
FHWA Resource Center

e-Ticketing:
Kat Weisner
FHWA Resource Center

Digital As-Builts:
David Unkefer
FHWA Resource Center
(404) 895-6080

(202) 823-2267

(404) 764-7498
Rob.Elliott@dot.gov

Kathryn.Weisner@dot.gov

David.Unkefer@dot.gov
Quality
Targeted Overlay Pavement Solutions Asphalt Materials:
Tim Aschenbrener
FHWA Office of Infrastructure

Concrete Materials:
Sam Tyson
FHWA Office of Infrastructure
(720) 963-3247

(202) 366-1326
Timothy.Aschenbrener@dot.gov

Sam.Tyson@dot.gov
UHPC for Bridge Preservation and Repair Zach Haber
FHWA Turner-Fairbank Highway Research Center

Mark Leonard
FHWA Resource Center
(202) 493-3469

(720) 963-3747
Zachary.Haber@dot.gov

Mark.Leonard@dot.gov
Workforce Development
Strategic Workforce Development Karen Bobo
FHWA Office of Innovative Program Delivery
Center for Transportation Workforce Development

Victoria Peters
FHWA Office of Innovative Program Delivery
Center for Local Aid Support
(202) 366-1333

(720) 963-3522
Karen.Bobo@dot.gov

Victoria.Peters@dot.gov
Planning and Environment
Virtual Public Involvement Jill Stark
FHWA Office of Planning, Stewardship & Oversight

Lana Lau
FHWA Office of Project Development & Environmental Review

Carolyn Nelson
FHWA Office of Project Development & Environmental Review
(202) 366-8870



(202) 366-2052



(202) 860-6173
Jill.Stark@dot.gov



Lana.Lau@dot.gov



Carolyn.Nelson@dot.gov
EDC-5 Innovation Name and Office Phone E-Mail
Safety
Safe Transportation for Every Pedestrian (STEP) Becky Crowe
FHWA Office of Safety

Peter Eun
FHWA Office of Safety
(202) 507-3699


(360) 753-9551
Rebecca.Crowe@dot.gov


Peter.Eun@dot.gov
Reducing Rural Roadway Departures Cathy Satterfield
FHWA Office of Safety

Dick Albin
FHWA Resource Center
(202) 309-0465


(303) 550-8804
Cathy.Satterfield@dot.gov


Dick.Albin@dot.gov
Mobility
Weather-Responsive Management Strategies David Johnson
FHWA Office of Operations
(202) 366-1301 David.Johnson@dot.gov
Use of Crowdsourcing to Advance Operations James Colyar
FHWA Office of Operations

Paul Jodoin
FHWA Office of Operations
(360) 753-9408


(202) 366-5465
James.Colyar@dot.gov


Paul.Jodoin@dot.gov
Shortening Project Delivery
Project Bundling Romeo Garcia
FHWA Office of Infrastructure

David Unkefer
FHWA Resource Center
(202) 366-1342


(404) 764-7498
Romeo.Garcia@dot.gov


David.Unkefer@dot.gov
Value Capture: Capitalizing on the Value Created by Transportation Stefan Natzke
FHWA Office of Planning, Environment, & Realty

Thay Bishop
FHWA Center for Innovative Finance Support
(202) 366-5010


(404) 562-3695
Stefan.Natzke@dot.gov


Thay.Bishop@dot.gov
Quality
Advanced Geotechnical Exploration Methods Ben Rivers
FHWA Resource Center

Silas Nichols
FHWA Office of Infrastructure
(404) 562-3926


(202) 336-1554
Benjamin.Rivers@dot.gov


Silas.Nichols@dot.gov
Collaborative Hydraulics: Advancing to the Next Generation of Engineering (CHANGE) Scott Hogan
FHWA Resource Center

Laura Girard
FHWA Resource Center
(720) 576-6026

(970) 217-3894
Scott.Hogan@dot.gov

Laura.Girard@dot.gov
Unmanned Aerial Systems (UAS)

James Gray
FHWA Office of Infrastructure

John Haynes
FHWA Utah Division

(703) 509-3464


(801) 955-3526
James.Gray@dot.gov


John.Haynes@dot.gov
Environment
Virtual Public Involvement Carolyn Nelson
FHWA Office of Project Development & Environmental Review
(202) 860-6173


Carolyn.Nelson@dot.gov




EDC-4 Innovation Name and Office Phone E-Mail
Mobility
Automated Traffic Signal Performance Measures (ATSPMs) Eddie Curtis
FHWA Resource Center

Rick Denney
FHWA Resource Center
(404) 562-3920


(410) 913-3339
Eddie.Curtis@dot.gov


Richard.Denney@dot.gov
Road Weather Management –
Weather-Savvy Roads
     
Using Data to Improve Traffic Incident Management Paul Jodoin
FHWA Office of Operations
(202) 366-5465 Paul.Jodoin@dot.gov
Safety
Data-Driven Safety Analysis (DDSA) Jerry Roche
FHWA Office of Safety

John McFadden
FHWA Resource Center
(515) 233-7323


(410) 962-0928
Jerry.Roche@dot.gov


John.McFadden@dot.gov
Safe Transportation for Every Pedestrian (STEP) Rebecca Crowe
FHWA Office of Safety
(804) 775-3381 Rebecca.Crowe@dot.gov
Quality
Collaborative Hydraulics: Advancing to the Next Generation of Engineering (CHANGE) Scott Hogan
FHWA Resource Center
(720) 576-6026 Scott.Hogan@dot.gov
Pavement Preservation
(When, Where, and How)
Pavement Preservation: When and Where
Thomas Van
FHWA Office of Infrastructure

Jason Dietz
FHWA Resource Center

Pavement Preservation: How
Antonio Nieves
FHWA Office of Infrastructure
(202) 366-1341


(720) 810-0871


(720) 810-0871
Thomas.Van@dot.gov


Jason.Dietz@dot.gov


Antonio.Nieves@dot.gov
Ultra-High Performance Concrete Connections for PBES Benjamin Graybeal
FHWA Turner Fairbank Highway Research Center

Mark Leonard
FHWA Resource Center
(202) 493-3122


(720) 963-3747
Benjamin.Graybeal@dot.gov


Mark.Leonard@dot.gov
Environment
Community Connections Kenneth Petty
FHWA Office of Planning, Environment and Realty

Robert Mooney
FHWA Office of Infrastructure
(202) 366-6654


(202) 366-2221
Kenneth.Petty@dot.gov


Robert.Mooney@dot.gov
Integrating NEPA and Permitting Mike Ruth
FHWA Office of Planning, Environment and Realty
(202) 366-9509 Mike.Ruth@dot.gov
Shortening Project Development and Delivery
e-Construction and Partnering: A Vision for the Future Kat Weisner
FHWA Resource Center
(202) 823-2267
Kathryn.Weisner@dot.gov


Page last modified on August 28, 2020
Federal Highway Administration | 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE | Washington, DC 20590 | 202-366-4000