U.S. Department of Transportation
Federal Highway Administration
1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE
Washington, DC 20590

Skip to content

Home / Briefing Room / Press Releases

Briefing Room

Subscribe to FHWA Press Releases

U.S. DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION, Office of the Secretary, Office of Public Affairs, Washington, DC 20590

Wednesday, December 11, 2002
Contact: Bill Outlaw
Tel: 202-366-0660
FHWA 47-02

U.S. Transportation Secretary Mineta Announces Eisenhower Transportation Fellowship Recipients

U.S. Transportation Secretary Norman Y. Mineta today announced the recipients of the Federal Highway Administration's (FHWA) Dwight David Eisenhower Transportation Fellowships. The program supports study and research in transportation by students - college juniors and seniors and master's and doctoral degree candidates - as well as by selected faculty.

"These fellowships help underscore our commitment to education and to providing the workforce necessary for the advancement of transportation in the future," U. S. Transportation Secretary Norman Y. Mineta said. "Communities throughout this country face a continuing need for skilled transportation workers. These fellowships represent an investment in human resources for future transportation needs."

The Eisenhower Transportation Fellowship Program was established in 1992 under the provisions of the Intermodal Surface Transportation Efficiency Act of 1991 and was re-authorized in 1998 by the Transportation Equity Act for the 21st Century. It annually seeks to attract the best and brightest minds to the field of transportation research and the transportation workforce. It encompasses all modes of transportation.

Selection criteria for student awards include applicants' academic achievements, recommendations and likelihood for pursuit of a career in transportation. The FHWA's National Highway Institute manages the program.

"The Eisenhower Transportation fellowship program is one example of our outreach efforts to attract the best and brightest minds to the transportation industry," FHWA Administrator Mary E. Peters said. "Through this program we will expose students to the wealth of career opportunities in transportation."

Eisenhower Fellowship Awards are presented in six categories: Graduate (GRAD), Grants for Research (GRF), Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCU), Hispanic Serving Institutions (HSI), Tribal Colleges (TC) and Faculty (FF). Since its inception, the program has been funded at $2 million per year and has supported approximately 2000 students and faculty.

The 2002 Eisenhower Transportation Fellowship recipients include the following:

    Alabama: Michael G. Marshall (HBCU) and Thomas J. Nunez (HBCU), Alabama A&M University, Montgomery.

    Arkansas: Steven R. Beam Jr. (GRAD), University of Arkansas, Fayetteville; Casandra A. Sanders (HBCU) and Angela D. Jackson (HBCU), Philander Smith College, Little Rock.

    California: Karen Frick (GRAD) and Natasha Goguts (GRAD), University of California- Berkeley; Deborah Salon (GRAD), University of California-Davis; Constance Boussalis (HSI), Kaolyn Mannino (HSI), Rosalba Santana (HSI), Alexander Tascon (HSI) and Hassan Hashemian, Ph.D. (FF), California State University-Los Angeles.

    Florida: Darnell Haney (HBCU), Darin Richardson (HBCU) and Clive Staple (HBCU), Florida A&M University, Tallahassee; Natasha J. Yacinthe (GRAD), Florida Atlantic University, Boca Raton.

    Georgia: Brian M. Lewis (GRAD) and Danena L. Lewis, (GRAD), Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta; Elicia Hargrove (HBCU), Albany State University; Teri Fair (HBCU), Elijah Jarrett (HBCU) and Erica Knight (HBCU), Clark Atlanta University, Atlanta; LaTonya Johnson (GRF), Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta.

    Illinois: Jacob E. Hiller (GRAD), University of Illinois-Urbana.

    Iowa: Justin Doornink (GRAD), Iowa State University, Ames.

    Louisiana: Samuel Boggan (HBCU), Alison Ford (HBCU) and Symoane Mizzell (HBCU), Southern University A&M College-Baton Rouge; Laurence Lambert (GRF), Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge.

    Maryland: LaTasha Peele (HBCU), Andrew Burke (HBCU), Kevin Sullivan (HBCU) and Ronald Vaughn Jr. (HBCU), Morgan State University, Baltimore.

    Massachusetts: Pericles C. Zegras (GRAD), Frances Switkes (GRAD), and Thomas E. Hutchison (GRAD), Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge; Andreas Savvides (GRF), Harvard University, Cambridge.

    Michigan: Virginia P. Sisiopiku, Ph.D. (FF), Michigan State University, Lansing.

    New Jersey: John L. Renne (GRAD), Rutgers University, New Brunswick.

    North Carolina: Lynnia Bethea (HBCU), Tanya King (HBCU) and J. Candace Underwood (HBCU), North Carolina A&T State University, Greensboro; Brandie Flemming (HBCU), Camilla Stanley (HBCU), Ayesha Williams (HBCU) and Kimberlee Wynn (HBCU), Winston-Salem State University.

    Oklahoma: Byron Bolton (HBCU), Dekisha Carter-Smith (HBCU), Tiffany Lowe (HBCU), Erica Morgan (HBCU), Porsha Richardson (HBCU) and Marion Kay Wachtstetter (FF), Langston University.

    Oregon: Susan E. Lee (GRAD), Portland State University.

    Puerto Rico: Isabel Diaz-Godineaux (HSI), Miguel Nieves-Kim (HSI), Lynette Alicea-Leon (HSI), Erika Alicea-Meidna (HSI), Magaly Colon-Nieves (HSI), Lizaida Ramos-Troche (HSI) and Rosana Aguilar-Zapata (HSI), University of Puerto Rico- Mayaguez.

    South Carolina: Johnell O. Brooks (GRAD), Clemson University; David Amaker, (HBCU), Brandon J. Chapman (HBCU), Jacqueline T. Davis (HBCU), Shirlonda Hambrick (HBCU), Vickey McNeil (HBCU) and Sojourner Stokes, (HBCU), Benedict College, Columbia; Seneca Dixon (HBCU), Dylan Eagleton (HBCU), Khaleedah Stroman (HBCU), South Carolina State University, Orangeburg.

    Tennessee: Kiana Barnes (HBCU), Lashun King (HBCU), Nicole McClain (HBCU) and Khalid Woods (HBCU), Tennessee State University, Nashville.

    Texas: Patricia Dillon (HBCU), Douglas Russell (HBCU) and Keith Taylor (HBCU), Texas Southern University, Houston; Theresa Black (HBCU) and Tenika G. Brown (HBCU), Prairie View A&M University; Allison M. Lockwood (GRAD), University of Texas-Austin; Katherine Hoyt (HSI), Christopher Bollig (HSI), Alejandro Reyna (HSI) and Gabriel Villarreal (HSI), University of Texas -San Antonio; Michael J. Alvarez (HSI), Texas A&M University-Kingsville; Gisel Alvarado (HSI), Tommy Fan (HSI), Gabriela Mares (HSI), Robert Williams (HSI) and Hong-Sioe Oey, Ph.D. (FF), University of Texas-El Paso.

    Virginia: Matthew W. Green (GRAD), University of Virginia, Charlottesville; Michael Morris (HBCU) and Marcus Sale (HBCU), Hampton University; Treymayne Albert (HBCU), Feleshia Ballou (HBCU), Ayanna Gormley (HBCU), LaTonya Hill (HBCU) and Charity Williams (HBCU), Virginia State University, Petersburg.

    Washington: Ala R. Abbas (GRF), Washington State University, Pullman.

    Washington, DC: Charles O. Oluokun (GRAD), The George Washington University; Suzannah Codlin (HBCU), Christine Earle (HBCU), Lauriston Lawrence (HBCU) and Omar Stephenson (HBCU), Howard University.

    Wisconsin: James M. Tinjum (GRAD), University of Wisconsin-Madison.

    Canada: Talia McCray, Ph.D. (FF), L'Universite Laval, Sainte-Foy, Quebec.


FHWA Press Room


FHWA Press Releases

Page last modified on September 14, 2012.
Federal Highway Administration | 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE | Washington, DC 20590 | 202-366-4000