U.S. Department of Transportation
Federal Highway Administration
1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE
Washington, DC 20590
202-366-4000


Skip to content U.S. Department of Transportation/Federal Highway AdministrationU.S. Department of Transportation/Federal Highway Administration

Bridges & Structures

 

Interstate Technical Group on Abandoned Underground Mines: Group Information

About the Group: A group of technically oriented individuals responsible for the remediation of underground mines beneath transportation facilities.

Common Area of Interest: The flow of information related to abandoned underground mines beneath transportation facilities.

Goals: 1. Generate and disseminate information.
 2. Obtain outside funding or cooperatively share in the costs of research
 or other mutually beneficial efforts.

Group Members:

Alabama
Mr. Willard L. Sitz, P. G.
Chief Geologist
Alabama Department of Transportation
Bureau of Materials and Tests
3700 Fairground Road
Montgomery, AL 36110
Phone: 334-206-2279
Fax: 334-264-6263
E-mail: sitzw@dot.state.al.us

Federal Highway Administration
Mr. Thomas Lefchik
Asst. Bridge and Technology Transfer Engineer (retired)

Mr. Matt DeMarco
Geotechnical Engineer
Federal Highway Administration
Central Federal Lands
P.O. Box 25246 HTS-16.6
Denver, CO 80225
Phone: (720)963-3520
Fax: (303)236-3405
E-mail: matthew.demarco@fhwa.dot.gov

Mr. Khamis Haramy
Geotechnical Engineer
Federal Highway Administration
Post Office Box 25246, HMT-16.6
Denver, CO 80225
Phone: (720)963-3521
Fax: (303)236-3405
E-mail: Khamis.Haramy@fhwa.dot.gov

Federal Railroad Administration
Mr. Chet Rhodes Jr.
Safety Inspector
DOT/FRA Railroad (Track)
195 Alpha Park
Highland Heights, OH 44143-2230
Phone: (216)522-4890
Fax: (216)522-4890
E-Mail: chet.rhodes@fra.dot.gov

Illinois
Heather Shoup, P.E
Central Office Geotechnical Engineer
Bureau of Materials & Physical Research
Illinois Department of Transportation
126 E. Ash Street
Springfield, IL 62704
(217) 785-9972 phone
(217) 782-2572 fax
Email: Heather.Shoup@illinois.gov

Indiana
Jon Paauwe
Geotechnical Geologist III
Indiana Department of Transportation
Materials and Tests Division
120 South Shortridge Road
Indianapolis, Indiana 46219
Phone: (317)610-7251, extension 229
Fax: (317)356-9351
E-Mail: jpaauwe@indot.in.gov

Iowa
Mr. Matthew Trainum
Geologist
Iowa Department of Transportation
800 Lincoln Way
Ames, Iowa 50010
Phone: (515)239-1476
Fax: (515)239-1873
E-Mail: Matthew.Trainum@dot.iowa.gov

Kansas
Mr. Bob Henthorne
Chief Geologist
Kansas Department of Transportation
Material and Research Center
2300 Van Buren
Topeka, KS 66611-1195
Phone: (785)291-3860
Fax: (785)296-2526
E-Mail: roberth@ksdot.org

Kyle Halverson
Topeka Regional Geologist
Kansas Department of Transportation
Bureau of Structures and Geotechnical Services
Topeka, KS
Phone: 785-291-3862
E-Mail: kyleh@ksdot.org

Kentucky
Mr. James Grider
Division of Professional Services
Kentucky Transportation Cabinet
Rm. 610
501 High Street
Frankfort, Kentucky 40622
Phone: (502)564-4555
Fax: (502)564-0991
E-Mail: jamescgrider@ky.gov

Mr. Christian Wallover
Engineering Technologist
Kentucky Dept. of Highways,
Geotechnical Branch
1236 Wilkinson Blvd.
Frankfort, KY 40601
Phone: (502)564-2374
Fax: (502)564-4839
E-Mail: christian.wallover@ky.gov

Maryland
Eric Dougherty, Chief
Engineering Geology Division
Office of Materials Technology
Maryland State Highway Administration
7450 Traffic Drive
Hanover, MD 21076
Phone: 443-572-5171
Fax: 443-695-0939
E-Mail: edougherty@sha.state.md.us

Michigan
Mr. Richard Endres
Foundation Analysis Engineer
Michigan Department of Transportation
Secondary Governmental Complex
8885 Ricks Road
P.O. Box 30049
Lansing, MI 48909
Phone: (517)322-1207
Fax: (517)322-5664
E-Mail: endresr@michigan.gov

Minnesota
Mr. Jason L. Richter, P.G
Geologist
Minnesota Department of Transportation
Office of Materials/Geotechnical Engineering Section
1400 Gervais Avenue, MS 645
Maplewood, MN 55109-2044
Phone: (651) 366-5453
Fax: (651) 366-5510
E-mail: jason.richter@state.mn.us

Missouri
Mr. George Davis
Geotechnical Liaison
Missouri Department of Transportation
P.O. Box 270
Jefferson City, MO 65102
Phone: (573)526-4344
Fax: (573)526-4345
E-Mail: george.davis@modot.mo.gov

Natural Resources Canada
Dr. Marc C. Bétournay
Senior Scientist
Natural Resources Canada
555 Booth Street
Ottawa, Ontario
Canada, K1A 0G1
Phone: (613)995-1147
E-Mail: mbetourn@nrcan.gc.ca

Nevada
Abbas Bafghi, P.E.
Senior Geotechnical Engineer
Geotechnical Section-Materials Division
Nevada Department of Transportation
1263 S. Stewart Street
Carson City, Nevada 89712
Phone: (775)888-7876
Fax: (775)888-7501
E-mail: abafghi@dot.state.nv.us

New Jersey
John P. Jamerson
Project Engineer, Geology
New Jersey Department of Transportation
Geotechnical Engineering Unit
1035 Parkway Avenue
Trenton, NJ 08625
Phone: (609)-530-3733
Fax: (609)-530-2704
email: John.Jamerson@dot.state.nj.us

New York
Ms. Priscilla Duskin
Engineer Geologist III
NYDOT, Geotechnical Engineering Bureau
1220 Washington Avenue, Building 7
Albany, NY 12232-0863
Phone: (518)457-4731
Fax: (518)457-8080
E-Mail: pduskin@dot.state.ny.us

North Dakota
Mr. William Dodd
N. Dakota Public Service Commission
State Capital
Bismarck, ND 58505-0480
Phone: (701)328-4101
Fax: (701)328-2410
E-Mail: wdodd@nd.gov

Ohio
Brian K. Logston, P.E
Ohio Department of Transportation
Office of Geotechnical Engineering
Design Resources Section
1600 W. Broad St., Rm 2033
Columbus, OH 43223-1102
Phone: 614-275-1398
Fax: 614-887-4088
E-Mail: brian.logston@dot.state.oh.us

Ontario, Canada
Mr. Chris Hamblin
Project Manager
Abandoned Mines Rehabilitation Fund
4th Floor, 933 Ramsey Lake Road
Sudbury, Ontario
Canada, P3E 6B5
Phone: (705) 670-5806 or
1-888-415-9845 ext. 5806
Cell: (705)670-4952
Fax: (705)670-5803
E-Mail: chris.hamblin@ndm.gov.on.ca

Pennsylvania
Mr. Dennis Neff
Assistant Geotechnical Engineer
PennDOT Bureau of Project Delivery
81 Lab Lane
Harrisburg PA 17120
Phone: 814-762-5020
Fax: 814-765-0837
E-Mail: dneff@pa.gov

Pennsylvania Turnpike
Mr. Kenneth M. Heirendt
P.G., Manager-Geotech.Engr
Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission
2200 North Center Avenue
New Stanton, PA 15672
Phone: (724)755-5187
Fax: (724)755-5142
E-Mail: kheirend@paturnpike.com

Virginia
Clay Stowers, CPG, P.E.
VDOT
870 Bonham Road
Bristol, VA 24201
Office: 276-669-9953
Cell: 276-623-3710
E-mail: CD.Stowers@VDOT.Virginia.gov

Dr. Brian Bruckno, PhD, PG
District Engineering Geologist
Virginia Department of Transportation
811 Commerce Rd
Staunton, VA 24401
Phone: (540) 480-5896
Fax: (540) 332-9181
E-Mail: brian.bruckno@vdot.virginia.gov

Updated: 10/24/2016
Federal Highway Administration | 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE | Washington, DC 20590 | 202-366-4000

All Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) information technology systems will be unavailable, Friday, December 2, at 10:00 p.m. to Sunday, December 04, at 11:59 p.m., EDT, while work is being performed on the network. During that time, users will not be able to access any FHWA systems.

If you have any questions or problems, please contact the 5-Help Service Center @ (866) 466-5221 or 5-HelpServiceCenter@dot.gov.