U.S. Department of Transportation
Federal Highway Administration
1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE
Washington, DC 20590
Highway Statistics 2007
Tax Rates on Motor Fuel - 2007 1/
(CENTS PER GALLON)
1/ This table shows motor-fuel tax rates in effect as of January 1, and any subsequent changes that have occurred through the date shown in the title. Only taxes that are levied as a dollar amount per volume of motor fuel are included on sheet 1. Taxes that apply to all petroleum products without distinguishing motor fuel are omitted. Local option taxes are included only when they have been adopted uniformly Statewide. For States marked with an asterisk, see the notes below:
Alabama - The gasoline, gasohol, and diesel rates include a 2¢ per gallon inspection fee. Alabama-registered LPG vehicles pay an annual fee based on vehicle type in lieu of the volume tax.
Arizona-The fuel tax on diesel remains at 18 cents per gallon for light and exempt vehicles, but is set at 27 cents per gallon if used to propel a truck with more than two axles or with a declared gross vehicle weight over 26,000 pounds.
Arkansas - The gasoline, gasohol, and diesel rates include 0.4 ¢ per gallon Environmental Assurance Fee. Applicants for LPG user permits must pay a fee in lieu of the volume tax.
California - LPG users may pay an annual fee in lieu of the volume tax.
Colorado - Owners of LPG vehicles registered in the State must pay an annual fee in lieu of the volume tax.
Connecticut - The tax is computed at 5% of the gross earnings from the first sale of a petroleum product in the State.
Florida - Tax rates are variable, adjusted annually. For gasoline and gasohol, in addition to the rates shown, there is a State-imposed State Comprehensive Enhanced Transportation System (SCETS) tax that varies by county from 0-5.0¢ per gallon. All counties levy the SCETS tax on gasoline, but a few levy less than the maximum rate. LPG vehicles registered in the State pay an annual fee in lieu of the tax on alternative fuels and the SCETS tax. For the month of August, 2004, the gas tax temporarily drops 8 cents
Idaho - LPG users may pay an annual fee based on vehicle weight in lieu of volume tax.
Illinois - Motor carriers pay an additional 6.3¢ per gallon on gasoline, 6.5¢ on diesel, and 5.9¢ on LPG.
Indiana - Motor carriers pay an additional 11¢ per gallon. LPG vehicles pay an annual fee.
Iowa - effective 7/1/2002, motor fuel tax rates will be adjusted annually based on the amounts of ethanol blended gasoline being sold and distributed annually.
Kansas - LPG users may pay an annual fee based on mileage and gross vehicle weight in lieu of the volume tax.
Kentucky - Tax rates are variable, adjusted quarterly. A 2% surtax is imposed on gasoline and 4.7% on special fuels for any vehicle with 3 or more axles. The gasoline, gasohol, and diesel rates include 1.4¢ per gallon Petroleum Environmental Assurance Fee.
Louisiana - Owners of LPG vehicles of 10,000 pounds or less gross vehicle weight pay an annual fee based on mileage.
Maine - Rates are variable, adjusted every February based on past years Consumer Price Index. Rates are effective on the following July 1.
Michigan - For vehicles defined under the Motor Carrier Fuel Tax Act, diesel fuel is discounted 6 cents per gallon at the pump; and is assessed a 12 cents per gallons surcharge on a quarterly return, with a provision for a 6 cent per gallon refund on fuel purchased in Michigan.
Minnesota - There is a credit to the wholesaler of 15¢ per gallon of alcohol used to make gasohol.
Mississippi - The gasoline, gasohol, and diesel rates include 0.4¢ per gallon dedicated to the Groundwater Protection Trust Fund.
Missouri - LPG vehicles 18,000 pounds or less gross vehicle weight registered in the State pay an annual fee in lieu of the volume tax.
Montana - LPG vehicles registered in the State pay an annual fee based on gross weight in lieu of the volume tax. Out-of-State vehicles purchase trip permits. There is an alcohol distiller credit of 30¢ per gallon of alcohol produced in the State with State agricultural products and used to make gasohol.
Nebraska - Rates are variable, adjusted quarterly. The gasoline and gasohol include 0.6¢ per gallon and diesel rate includes 0.2¢ per gallon Petroleum Release Remedial Action Fee. Effective 1/1/2002, new Nebraska ethanol production facilities may receive an ethanol production credit equal to 18 cents per gallon of ethanol used to fuel motor vehicles.
New Hampshire - The gasoline, gasohol, and diesel rates include 0.7¢ per gallon Oil Discharge and Disposal Cleanup Fee. Alternative fuel vehicles pay twice the usual registration fee in lieu of the volume tax.
New Jersey - In addition to the rates shown, there is a Petroleum Products Gross Receipts Tax. The tax is computed on a cents-per-gallon basis and is applicable to a wide variety of petroleum products.
New Mexico - The gasoline, gasohol, and diesel rates include the Petroleum Products Loading Fee of $150 per 8,000 gallons (1.875¢ per gallon). Rate was $80 per 8,000 gallons (1¢ per gallon) prior to 7/1/96. Owners of LPG-powered vehicles up to 54,000 pounds gross vehicle weight may pay an annual fee in lieu of the volume tax.
New York - Rates are variable, adjusted annually. Rates include the Petroleum Business Tax of 14.6¢ per gallon. The gasoline rate includes a 0.5 mill (0.05¢) per gallon Petroleum Testing Fee.
North Carolina - Rates are variable, adjusted semiannually.
North Dakota - A special excise tax of 2% is imposed on all sales of special fuel (diesel or LPG) that are exempted from the volume tax if the fuel is sold for use in the State. There is a producer credit of 40¢ per gallon of agriculturally derived alcohol produced in the State and used to make gasohol.
Ohio - Commercial vehicles formerly subject to the highway use tax pay an additional 3¢ per gallon. Dealers are refunded 10¢ per gallon of each qualified fuel (ethanol or methanol) blended with unleaded gasoline.
Oklahoma - Rates shown include 1¢ per gallon tax dedicated to the Petroleum Underground Tank Release Environmental Cleanup Indemnity Fund. When the Fund reaches specified balance, future tax revenues will be deposited in a highway fund. The gasoline, gasohol, and LPG rates include 0.08¢ for fuel inspection. LPG users may pay an annual fee in lieu of the volume tax.
Oregon - The diesel and LPG rates shown are paid by users for vehicles not under the jurisdiction of Public Utility Commissioner. Vehicles under the jurisdiction of the Public Utilities Commissioner and paying motor-carrier fees are exempt from payment of the motor-fuel tax.
Pennsylvania - The rates include the Oil Franchise Tax for Maintenance and Construction, a variable rate tax adjusted annually. LPG rate is based on the gasoline gallon equivalent.
Rhode Island - Rates includes 1¢ per gallon tax for the Underground Storage Tank Financial Responsibility Fund.
South Dakota - There is a credit at the rate of the gasoline tax to distributors blending gasoline with ethanol to produce gasohol. There is also a producer incentive payment of 20¢ per gallon.
Tennessee - LPG users without permits must pay in advance at the beginning of the fiscal year; others pay quarterly. Fee is based on vehicle weight and fuel efficiency. Sales tax rate on aviation fuel is 4.5 percent.
Texas - Owners of LPG vehicles registered in the State must pay an annual fee in lieu of the volume tax.
Utah - LPG is tax exempt if user purchases annual exemption certificate.
Vermont - Diesel vehicles 10,000 pounds and over pay 26¢ per gallon. LPG vehicles are subject to a registration fee 1.75 times the usual fee. The gasoline, gasohol, and diesel rates include 1¢ per gallon for the Petroleum Cleanup Fund.
Virginia - Vehicles weighting 26,000 pounds or more or having 3 or more axles pay an additional 3.5¢ per gallon.
Washington - Owners of LPG vehicles pay an annual fee.
West Virginia - Rates are variable, adjusted annually.
Wisconsin - Rates are variable, adjusted annually.
Wyoming - LPG is subject to sales tax. The gasoline, gasohol, and diesel rates include 1¢ for the Underground Storage Tank Corrective Action Account.
2/ The gasohol rates shown are for gasoline blended with 10 percent ethanol.
Excel files can be viewed with the Excel Viewer
PDF files can be viewed with the Acrobat® Reader®