Skip to contentU.S. Department of Transportation/Federal Highway Administration
Home > About FHWA > Highway History > FHWA By Day


A Look at the History of the Federal Highway Administration
Table of Contents - Previous Day - Next Day
December 12
1914 Twenty highway officials meeting in Washington, DC's Raleigh Hotel form AASHO. Henry G. Shirley, then of Maryland, is elected the first President (1914-1916). Dr. Joseph Hyde Pratt of North Carolina serves as Secretary until December 1921. Director Logan Page, P. St. J. Wilson, and J. E. Pennybacker, Jr., represent OPR. At 2 o'clock, the highway officials are received by President Woodrow Wilson and pose for a photograph in front of the executive office of the White House.
Photo: P. St. J. Wilson<
P. St. J. Wilson
Assistant Director
Office of Public Roads

1959 While on loan to the United Nations to study Egypt's highways, BPR's H. A. Radzikowski is evaluating how construction of the Aswan Dam will affect highway requirements. Today, he interviews General Ibrahim El-Habbal, General Manager of the Kima Fertilizer Plant, and Dr. Hassen Zaky, President of the Aswan High Dam Department.
previous next

Return to FHWA By Day