U.S. Department of Transportation
Federal Highway Administration
1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE
Washington, DC 20590

Skip to content
Facebook iconYouTube iconTwitter iconFlickr iconLinkedInInstagram

Federal Highway Administration Research and Technology
Coordinating, Developing, and Delivering Highway Transportation Innovations

Research Home
This summary report is an archived publication and may contain dated technical, contact, and link information
Publication Number: N/A

State Planning and Research (SP&R) Guide

Research Advisory Committee (RAC)

The RAC is comprised of representatives from the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials' (AASHTO) 52 member departments, and it is a subgroup of AASHTO's Standing Committee on Research (SCOR). RAC is committed to being a proactive committee that promotes quality and excellence in research and applies research findings to improve State transportation systems. RAC actively contributes to the transportation research community by conducting an annual meeting in January and summer national RAC meeting, participating in the National Cooperative Highway Research Program (NCHRP) and in the pooled fund program, and producing items that help RAC members perform their jobs. This section contains an overview of RAC, its functions and responsibilities, links to the SCOR/RAC Web site, and a sample agenda for a recent RAC meeting. AASHTO provides a new member guide on SCOR and RAC, which describes the purpose and structure of each committee. RAC regional bylaws and other policy and procedure documents can be found on the SCOR/RAC Web site.


Map showing the RAC regions: Region One includes CT, DC, DE, MA, MD, ME, NH, NJ, NY, PA, PR, RI and VT. Region Two includes AL, AR, FL, GA, KY, LA, MS, NC, SC, TN, VA and WV. Region Three includes IA, IL, IN, KS, MI, MN, MO, NE, OH, and WI. Region Four includes AK, AZ, CA, CO, HI, ID, MT, ND, NM, NV, OK, OR, SD, TX, UT, WA and WY.

The Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) serves as the secretary (nonvoting member) to each of the four RAC regions. Region One is Connecticut, the District of Columbia, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, and Vermont. Region Two is Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia. Region Three is Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, Ohio, and Wisconsin. Region Four is Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming.


SP&R Guide Home | Legislation/Regulation | Oversight/Stewardship | Peer Exchange | Pooled Funds | TRB | RAC

Federal Highway Administration | 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE | Washington, DC 20590 | 202-366-4000
Turner-Fairbank Highway Research Center | 6300 Georgetown Pike | McLean, VA | 22101