Skip to contentU.S. Department of Transportation/Federal Highway Administration

Highway Taxes and Fees 2008

State Liquid-Fuels Inspection Fees 1/

Based on information obtained from state authorities and on the law of the states

Table MV-103 Part 1 of 2

Status as of January 1, 2008

STATE 1. AUTOMOBILES 2. SINGLE-UNIT TRUCKS
FEE BASIS (1) APPROXIMATE RANGE 3/ FEE FOR TYPICAL VEHICLE4/
(4)
FEE BASIS
(5)
APPROXIMATE FEE RANGE 5 / FEE FOR TYPICAL VEHICLES 7/ HEAVY SINGLE
FROM
(2)
TO
(3)
REGULARREGISTRATION
(6)
SPECIAL RATES FOR FARM TRUCKS 6 /
(7)
NON-FARM
(8)
FARM
(9)
-UNIT8/
(10)
Alabama Flat fee. A $1.25 issuance fee is included in columns (2) through (4). $24.25 $24.25 $24.25 Gross weight groups. A $1.25 issuance fee is included in columns (8), (9) and (10). $23 for up to 8,000 pounds to $890 for 80,001 pounds and over. $30 for up to 30,000 pounds to $85 for 42,000 pounds. $236.25 $31.25 $586.25
Alaska Flat fee for 2-year period. 68.00 68.00 68.00 Unladen weight. $158 for 5,000 pounds or less to $640 18,001 pounds and over. Pickup trucks 10,000 pounds or less pay $78.00. Trucks not exceeding a total net weight of 16,000 pounds registered for $68. 158.00 68.00 640.00
Arizona Flat fee. 8.00 8.00 8.00 Flat fee plus gross weight groups. $8.00 flat fee plus $7.50 for 8,000 pounds or less to $324.00 for 30,000 pounds. A $4.00 commercial fee is included in columns (8) and (9). No special rates. 210.00 210.00
Arkansas Unladen weight groups: $17 for 3,000 pounds or less; $25 for 3,001 to 4,500 pounds; $30 for 4,501 pounds and over. 17.00 25.00 17.00 Flat fee plus gross weight groups. $21.00 for 6,000 pounds or less to $12.35 per 1,000 pounds for 60,000 pounds. Weight fee based on gross weight and number of axles, with a minimum fee of $32.50 and a maximum fee of 130.00 65.00
California California charges a flat fee of $41 per vehicle - the fee consists of a $31 registration fee and a $10 "CHP" fee 41.00 41.00 41.00 Flat fee plus weight fee based on unladen weight and number of axles. The weight fee ranges from $8 to $1,039. The $41 flat fee applies to 2-axle trucks of 10,000 pounds or less, plus a weight fee ranging from $8 to $1,016. No special rates. 49.00 1,057.00 1,325.00
Additional fees supporting a variety of local issues such as freeway service, air quality improvement can add $1-$6. Vehicles over 10,000 pounds. pay flat fees of $177 as well as weight fees.
Vehicle License Fees are also charged based on the vehicle value. Local fees and Vehicle License Fees also apply.
Colorado Empty weight groups: $6.00 for 2,000 pounds or less; $6.00 plus 20 cents per cwt. over 2,000 pounds; $12.50 plus 60 cents per cwt. over 4,500 pounds. An additional registration fee of $12.00 for vehicles less than 7 yrs. old; $10.00 for 7 yrs. but less than 10 yrs; and $7.00 for 10 yrs. and older. An additional fee of $1.50, a $4.00 clerk fee, a 50 cent emissions fee, $1.00 Emergency Medical Network. 19.00 28.20 26.60 Empty weight for 16,000 pounds or less. Declared gross weight plus annual mileage groups for over 16,000 pounds. $7.60 for 2,000 pounds or less to $233.00 for 16,000 pounds. An additional registration fee of $12.00 for vehicles less than 7 yrs old; $10.00 for 7 yrs. but less than 10 years; and $7.00 for 10 years and older. $273.00 for 16,001 pounds and driven less than 30,000 miles per year to $2,373.00 for over 74,000 pounds and driven more than 30,000 miles per year plus $10.00. An additional fee of a $1.50, a $4.00 clerk fee, a 50 cent emission fee, and $1.00 Emergency Medical Network. $6.20 for 2,000 pounds or less to $110.00 plus $1.50 per cwt. for over 16,000 pounds. An additional registration fee of $12.00 for vehicles less than 7 yrs. old; $10.00 for 7 yrs. but less than 10 yrs; and $7.00 for 10 yrs. and older. An additional fee of $1.50, a $4.00 clerk fee, a 50 cent emissions fee, $1.00 Emergency Medical Network 117.00 46.10 1,788.00
Connecticut Flat fee for 2-year period. 70.00 70.00 70.00 Gross weight. $1.15 per cwt. for up to 20,000 pounds to $1.90 per cwt. for over 73,000 pounds. Minimum fee: $39.00. Flat fee for 2-year period. 281.00 28.00
Delaware Flat fee. $40 per year of registration. 40.00 40.00 40.00 Gross weight. $40 for first 5,000 pounds and $18 for each additional 1,000 pounds. $40.00 for first 5,000 pounds and $3.80 for each additional 1,000 pounds. 272.00 59.00 876.80
District of Columbia Empty weight groups: $72 for 3,499 pounds or less to $155 for 5,000 pounds and over. A $25 inspection fee is assessed every two years in to the fees shown. $72.00 $155.00 $72.00 Empty weight groups. A $25 inspection fee is assessed every year in addition to the fees shown. $125 for less than 3,499 pounds to $575 for 10,000 pounds and over. $25 per each additional 1,000 pounds over 10,000 pounds. No special rates. $125.00 $575.00
Florida Empty weight groups: $14.50 for 2,499 pounds or less to $32.50 for 3,500 pounds and over. A $2.50 service charge, a 50 cent reflectorized plate fee, a 50 cent fee for Real Time Vehicle Information System fee, a $1.00 Air Pollution Control fee, a $1.50 Transportation Disadvantaged fee, $1.00 Law Enforcement Radio System fee, a $2.00 License Plate Replacement fee, a $2.00 surcharge, 10 cents Emergency Medical Services fee, $1 Juvenile Justice fee, and a $1 Decal on Demand fee are included in columns (2) through (4). 27.10 45.10 35.10 Empty weight groups: $14.50 for 1,999 pounds or less to $32.50 for 3,001 pounds to 5,000 pounds. Add-on fees identical to those listed in column (1) for automobiles. Gross weight groups: Twelve different weight groups for vehicles over 5,000 pounds, ranging from flat rate of $45.00 to $979.00. Add-on fees are similar to those listed in column (1) for automobiles, except that Transportation Disadvantaged fee does not apply to trucks over 5,000 pounds, and for vehicles of 10,000 pounds or more there is an additional $5.00 surcharge. Add-on fees are included in columns (6) through (10). $27.60 flat fee for 1,999 pounds or less to $994.60 for 72,000 pounds or more. Gross vehicle weight: $81.60 for less than 44,000 pounds, $256.60 for 44,000 pounds or more. Vehicles classified as 147.60 81.60 588.60
Georgia Flat fee. 20.00 725.00 Variable Gross weight. Private trucks: $20 to $400. For-Hire trucks: $20 to $725. Flat fee of $20. 38.00 20.00 365.00
Hawaii For the City and County of Honolulu, Hawaii County, Maui County and Kauai County:
Flat fee ($25.00) plus net weight tax of 3.00 cent per pound ($12.00 minimum) for the City and County of Honolulu. 130.00
9/
236.50
9/
167.50
9/
Flat fee ($20.00) plus net weight tax of 3.50 cents per pound for the City and County of Honolulu. $178.00 for 3,000 pounds to $900.50 for 20,000 pounds for the City and County of Honolulu. $155.50 for 3,000 pounds to $750.50 for 20,000 pounds for the City and County of Honolulu. 167.50
10/
167.50
10/
 
Flat fee ($18) plus net weight tax of 0.75 cents per pound ($6.00 minimum) for Hawaii County 75.30
10/
115.78
10/
90.15
10/
Flat fee($18.00) plus net weight tax of 2 cents per pound for Hawaii County $126.00 to $593.50 for Hawaii County. $126.00 to $443.50 for Hawaii County. 233.10
11/
169.90
11/
483.10
11/
Net weight tax of 0.0125 per pound ($6.00 minimum) for Maui County. 53.24 10/ 93.69 10/ 71.90 10/ Net weight tax of 0.02 cent per pound for Maui County. $89.00 to $471.50 for Maui County. $89.50 to $321.50 for Maui County. 239.08
11/
140.18
11/
Net weight tax of 0.0125 cent per pound ($12.00 minimum) for Kauai County. 52.74
10/
93.19
10/
71.40
10/
Net weight tax of 0.025 cent per pound for Kauai County. $103.50 to $571.00 for Kauai County. $103.50 to $421.00 for Kauai County. 278.14
11/
179.24
11/
For State of Hawaii:
Flat fee ($25.00) plus State net weight tax 0.75 cent per pound for 4,000 pounds or less; 1 cent per pound for 4,001 to 7,000 pounds; 1.25 cents per pound for 7,001 to 10,000 pounds; flat rate of $150.00 for over 10,000 pounds 9/ Flat fee ($25.00) plus State net weight tax of 0.75 cents per pound for 4,000 pounds or less; 1 cent per pound for 4,001 to 7,000 pounds; 1.25 cents per pound for 7,001 to 10,000 pounds; flat rate of $150 for over 10,000 pounds. 9/ 6,000 pounds or over used for agricultural purposes are not subject to the State weight tax.
Idaho Age groups: $24.00 for vehicles over 8 years old to $48.00 for vehicles 1 and 2 years old. A $3.00 reflectorized plate fee ($5.00 per automobile) is assessed when new plates are issued. A $1.25 emergency medical services fee is included in columns (2) through (4). $25.25 $37.25 $29.25 Gross weight groups. A $3.00 reflectorized plate fee ($6.00 per truck) is assessed when new plates are issued. A $1.25 emergency medical services fee is included in columns (8), (9) and (10). $48 for 16,000 pounds or less to $515.40 for 50,001 to 60,000 pounds. $210.00 to $4,500.00 depending on miles traveled for 60,000 pounds to 106,000 pounds. $48.00 for 8,001 to 16,000 pounds to $311.68 for 50,001 to 60,000 pounds. $210.00 to $4,500.00 depending on miles traveled for 60,000 pounds to 106,000 pounds. $144.65 $62.33 $516.65
Illinois Flat fee. 78.00 78.00 78.00 Flat fee plus fee based on gross weight. $10 flat fee plus $68 for gross weight of 8,000 pounds or less to $1,380 for 45,000 pounds. $10 flat fee plus $140 for 16,000 pounds or 'less to $800 for 45,000 pounds. 490.00 226.00 1,698.00
Optional basis: flat fee plus mileage weight tax. $10 flat fee plus $73 for gross weight of 12,000 pounds or less to $695 for 45,000 pounds with per mile taxes on mileage exceeding stipulated amounts. No special rates. 190.00 226.00 863.00
Indiana Flat fee of $12.00. A 25 cent Public Safety fee and a 50 cent financial responsibility fee are included in columns (2) through (4). 12.75 12.75 12.75 Gross weight groups. A 25 cent Public Safety fee and a 50 cent financial responsibility fee are included in columns (8) and (9). $20 for 7,000 pounds or less to $956 for over 66,000 pounds. One half regular fee for trucks over 11,000 pounds. 175.75 88.25 810.75
Iowa Empty weight and value: 40 cents per cwt. plus one percent of value. The portion based on value drops to 0.75 percent after 5 registrations, 0.5 percent after 6 registrations and after 8 registrations (if 1994 model or newer ) the registration fee is a flat $35. 23.00 35.00 27.00 Gross weight groups. $65 for 3 tons or less (decreasing with age to a minimum of $35) to $1,695 for 40 tons. Over 40 tons is $1,695 plus $80 for each ton in excess of 40 tons. $80 for 6 tons to $675 for 32 tons. 235.00 150.00 1,060.00
Kansas Gross weight groups: $25.00 for 4,500 pounds or less; $35.00 for more than 4,500 pounds. A $2.25 service fee is included in columns (2) through (4). 27.25 37.25 27.25 Gross weight groups. $35.00 for 12,000 pounds or less to $1,925.00 for 85,500 pounds. A $2.25 service fee is included in column (8). $35.00 for 16,000 pounds or less to $600.00 for 85,500 pounds. A $2.25 service fee is included in column (9). 132.25 42.25
Kentucky Flat fee. A $9.00 service charge, an additional county clerk fee of $6.00, and a State fee of $3.00 are included in columns (3) through (5). 21.00 21.00 21.00 Gross weight groups. A $9 service charge, a 50 cent Reflectorized Plate fee, a $6.00 County Clerk and a $3.00 State are included in columns (7), (8) and (9). $21.00 for 10,000 pounds or less to $474.00 for 44,000 pounds. $21.00 for 38,000 pounds or less to 40 percent of regular fee for over 38,000 pounds. 149.00 21.00 703.50
Louisiana Actual value: $10 per year for a 4 year period for $10,000 or less to $10 plus $1 per $1,000 over $10,000. 10.00 41.00 15.00 Gross weight groups. $10 per year for a 4 year period for 6,000 pounds or less to $1,056 for 88,000 pounds, paid annually. $3 per year for a 4 year period for 6,000 pounds or less to $40 for 88,000 pounds. 76.00 10.00 348.00
Maine Flat fee. 25.00 25.00 25.00 Gross weight groups. $25 for 6,000 pounds or less to $982 for 90,000 pounds. $40 rebate for vehicles registered for more than 23,000 pounds gross vehicle weight and attesting to exclusive operation in the power unit semi-trailer mode. $21 for 6,000 pounds or less to $469 for 69,000 pounds. 186.00 99.00 638.00
Maryland Shipping weight groups: $27.00 for 3,700 pounds or less to $40.50 for over 3,700 pounds. An $8.00 surcharge is included in columns (2) through (4). $35.00 $48.50 $35.00 Chassis weight groups with gross weight limits or manufacturer's rated capacity for 1/2 and 3/4 ton. $33.75 for 3/4 ton or less manufacturer's rated capacity. Others $47.50 (minimum gross weight 10,000 pounds) to $940.00 (maximum gross weight 80,000 pounds). An $8.00 surcharge is included in columns (8) and (10). $2.75 per 1,000 pounds of gross registered weight; $27.50 (minimum gross weight of 10,000 pounds) to $195.00 (maximum gross weight of 65,000 pounds). An $8.00 surcharge is included in column (9). $88.75 $54.75 $596.00
Massachusetts Flat fee for lifetime of registration. $36.00 $36.00 $36.00 Gross weight. $24 biennial per 1,000 pounds for 5,000 pounds or less. Minimum fee: $96. $15 per 1,000 pounds for greater than 5,000 pounds. Annual minimum fee: $90. No special rates. 252.80 252.75 840.00
Michigan Empty weight: 1983 or older model vehicles are based. $29 for 3,000 pounds or less to 90 cents per cwt. for over 10,000 pounds. 1984 or newer model vehicles are based on mfrs. base list price; $30 for $5,999 or less to 0.5 % of the base list price for over $30,000 plus a $5 processing fees. Decrease in 2nd, 3rd and 4th year by 10 % per year. 29.00 211.00 58.00 Gross weight groups, except empty weight for trucks less than 8,000 pounds. $39.00 for commercial pickups 4,000 pounds or less empty weight to $49.00 for 5,000 pounds. $1.40 per cwt. for other trucks (not used in combination) for 2,500 pounds empty weight to $2.72 per cwt. for 8,000 pounds plus $5.00; $378.00 to 24,000 pounds gross weight to $2,398.00 for over 160,000 pounds. 74 cents per cwt. of empty weight plus $5. 190.00 55.00 975.00
Minnesota Value and age: The base value is the manufacturer's suggested retail price plus the destination charges. Value depreciation every other year until minimum tax. 99.00 464.00 125.00 Gross weight and age groups. Fee reduced in the eighth year of vehicle life. $90 for 9,000 pounds or less and older than 8 years to $1,760 for 81,000 pounds. Fees reduced by 25 percent for vehicles 9 years old and older. $21 for 12,000 pounds or less and older than 8 years to $1,056 for 81,000 pounds. Fees reduced by 45 percent for vehicles 9 years old and older. 145.00 65.00 865.00
Mississippi Flat Fee. $8.75 decal fee plus $15.00 privilege tax. An additional $1.25 is assessed when new plates are issued. 23.75 23.75 23.75 Flat fee plus gross weight groups. $8.75 decal fee plus $7.20 for 6,000 pounds or less to $2,862.00 for 80,000 pounds. An additional $1.25 is assessed when new plates are issued. $8.75 decal fee plus $7.20 for 6,000 pounds or less to $2,214.00 for 80,000 pounds. An additional $1.25 is assessed when new plates are issued. 503.50 425.00 1,663.00
Missouri Horsepower groups: $18 for less than 12 horsepower to $51 for 72 horsepower and over. 21.00 33.00 24.00 Gross weight groups. $25.50 for 6,000 pounds or less to $1,719.50 for over 78,000 pounds. $15.50 for 6,000 pounds or less to $350.50 for over 72,000 pounds. 63.00 20.50
Montana Empty weight groups: $10.25 for 2,850 pounds or less; $15.25 for 2,851 pounds and over. An additional $2.00 fee collected when new plates are issued. 10.25 15.25 15.25 Flat fee plus gross weight fee. $15.25 flat fee plus gross weight fee of $21.00 for 16,000 pounds or less to $750.00 for 80,000 pounds plus additional $46.00 for each 2,000 pounds over 80,000 pounds. $15.25 flat fee plus 35 percent of gross vehicle weight fee schedule with minimum fee of $6.00. 43.25 21.25 415.25
Nebraska Flat fee. An additional fee of $5.50 is included in columns (2) through columns (4). A $3.25 per plate fee is assessed when new plates are issued. 20.50 20.50 20.50 Gross vehicle weight. An additional fee of $5.50 is included in columns (8) and (9). A $3.25 per plate fee is assessed when new plates are issued. $18 for 3 tons or less to $1,140 for 47 tons. $18 for 5 tons or less to $335 for 47 tons. 138.00 24.50
Nevada Flat fee. 33.00 33.00 33.00 Declared gross weight groups. $33 for 6,000 pounds or less to $48 for 10,000 pounds. Over 10,000 to 26,000 pounds, $12 per 1,000 pounds. Over 26,000 to 80,000 pounds, $17 per 1,000 pounds. No special rates. 252.00 252.00 986.00
New Hampshire Gross weight groups: $31.20 for 3,000 pounds or less to 96 cents per cwt. for 8,001 pounds and and over. Additional $4.00 per plate reflectorized plate fee when new plates are issued. $31.20 $55.20 $43.20 Gross weight. Plus additional $4.00 per plate reflectorized plate fee when new plates are issued. $31.20 for 3,000 pounds or less to 96 cents per cwt. for 8,001 pounds and over. $24 for 16,000 pounds or less. Plus 74 cents per cwt. for any additional weight above 16,000 pounds. $192.00 $54.00 $556.80
New Jersey Shipping weight groups and age: $14 for under 2,700 pounds for 1970 and older models to $51 for over 3,800 pounds for 1971-1979 models. $25 for under 3,500 pounds to $50 for over 3,500 pounds for 1980 and newer models. A $2.50 inspection fee is assessed in addition to the fees shown. 25.00 50.00 25.00 Gross weight. $53.50 for 5,000 pounds or less to $11.50 for each additional 1,000 pounds for over 40,000 to 70,000 pounds. Solid Waste Vehicles: $50 for 5,000 pounds or less to $11.50 for each additional 1,000 pounds up to 60,000 pounds. Contractor: $922.50 for $41,000 pounds (minimum) to $22.50 for each additional 1,000 pounds up to 70,000 pounds. 1/2 the fee provided for trucks. A $2.50 inspection fee is assessed in addition to the fees shown. 161.50 80.75
New Mexico Shipping weight groups and age: $27 for 2,000 pounds or less; $39 for 2,001 to 3,000 pounds; $56 for over 3,000 pounds. Fees are $21, $31, and $45, respectively, after 5 years. 21.00 56.00 45.00 Gross weight groups. 12/ $40 for 4,000 pounds or less to $172 for 48,001 pounds and over. Fee reduced 20 percent after 5 years for trucks under 26,000 pounds. 2/3 of regular registration fee for vehicles over 6,000 pounds. 157.00 104.67 172.00
New York Shipping weight: 86 cents per cwt. or major fraction thereof for 3,500 pounds or less plus $1.29 per cwt. or major fraction thereof over 3,500 pounds rounded to the nearest 25 cents. Minimum $13.80 (less than 6 cylinders); $17.25 (6 cylinders or more). Maximum ' $74.75. $17.25 for electrically propelled vehicles. A reflectorized plate fee, not to exceed $1.50 above actual cost, rounded to the nearest 25 cents, is assessed when new plates are issued. 17.25 37.00 24.85 Gross weight. A reflectorized plate fee, not to exceed $1.50 above actual cost, rounded to the nearest 25 cents, is assessed when new plates are issued. $2.88 per 500 pounds gross vehicle weight, or fraction thereof, rounded to the nearest 25 cents. Agricultural trucks owned by a person engaged in food production, $2.01 per 500 pounds gross vehicle weight or fraction thereof, rounded to the nearest 25 cents. Farm vehicles operated upon a highway connecting by the most direct route any farms or portions of a farm under single or common ownership or operation, $1.00 flat fee. 115.25 80.50 334.25
North Carolina Flat fee. Passengers cars - $28. 28.00 28.00 28.00 Gross weight and flat fee. $3.00 plus 59 cents per cwt. For 4,000 pounds or less to $1.54 per cwt. For over 17,000 pounds. Minimum annual fee $28.00 $3.00 plus 29 cents per cwt. For 4,000 pounds or less to 77 cents per cwt. For over 17,000 pounds. Minimum annual fee $24.00 236.40 115.75 870.75
North Dakota Gross weight and age groups: $49 for 3,199 pounds or less for the 13th and subsequent registrations to $274 for 9,000 pounds and over for the 1st through 6th registrations. 49.00 79.00 57.00 Gross weight and age groups. $49 for 4,000 pounds or less for the 11th and subsequent registrations to $191 for 26,000 pounds for the 1st through 7th registrations. Special rate for trucks registered from 20,000 to 105,000 pounds: $65 for 22,000 pounds for the 11th and subsequent registrations to $649 for 105,000 pounds for the 1st through 6th registrations. 109.00 632.00
Ohio Flat fee. A $3.50 service charge and an $11.00 Hwy Safety Fee is included in columns (2) through (4). A 25 cent county tag fee is assessed in to the fees shown. A 50 cent reflectorized plate fee is assessed when a new plates are issued. The fee does not include the local tax ranging from $0 to $20 in increments of $5. 34.50 34.50 34.50 Gross weight. A $3.50 service charge and an $11.00 Hwy Safety Fee is included in columns (8), (9) and (10). A 50 cent reflectorized plate fee is assessed when new plates are issued. The fee does not include the local tax ranging from $0 to $20 in increments of $5. $56.00 for 2,000 pounds or less to $1,351 for 80,000 pounds. Empty weight. License tax is $5.00 plus additional license tax that varies according to the weight of the vehicle. 164.50 67.50 739.50
Oklahoma Flat fee, value and age: Fee for 1st to 4th year is $85 plus $5.75 in additional fees to the 17th year and over for $15 plus $5.75 in additional fees. 20.00 90.00 100.25 Gross weight and age on trucks up to 15,000 pounds. Over 15,000 pounds based only on gross weight registered. A $1.75 administrative fee and a $3.00 general revenue fund fee are included in columns (8), (9) and (10). $101.00 for under 15,000 pounds to $1,084.00 for 90,000 pounds. Fee reduced after 5th year on trucks under 15,000 pounds. Minimum fee: $30.00. Flat fee. 100.00 36.00 653.00
Oregon Flat fee is for 24 consecutive months. A $1.00 reflectorized plate fee ($2 per automobile) is assessed when new plates are issued. 30.00 30.00 30.00 Gross weight groups. 13/ $15 for 8,000 pounds or less to $415 for 105,500 pounds. $15 for 8,000 pounds or less to $385 for 105,500 pounds. 190.00 60.00 220.00
Pennsylvania Flat fee. $36.00 $36.00 $36.00 Gross weight. $58.50 for 5,000 pounds or less to $1687.50 for 80,000 pounds. $76.50 or 1/3 of the standard annual fee for class, whichever is greater. 14/ $355.50 $188.50 $882.00
Rhode Island Gross weight groups. A $1.50 technology fee is assessed at each 2 year renewal. 30.00 70.00 30.00 Gross weight groups. A $1.50 technology fee is assessed at each 2 year renewal. $34 for 4,000 pounds or less to $972 for 74,000 pounds plus $24.00 per 2,000 pounds over 74,000 pounds. A flat fee of $10 for all farm vehicles. 194.00 10.00 140.00
South Carolina Flat fee for a 2-year period. 24.00 24.00 24.00 Gross weight groups. $30 for 4,000 pounds or less to $1,600 for 80,000 pounds. $12 for 26,499 pounds or less to $120 for 80,000 pounds. 195.50 15.00 844.00
South Dakota Shipping weight groups and age: $30.00 for 2,000 pounds or less to $55.00 for 4,001 to 6,000 pounds, inclusive. Fee reduced 30 percent when vehicle is 5 or more years old. Additional fee for Solid Waste Management of $0.25 per tire, not to exceed $1.00 per vehicle. 21.00 40.00 30.00 Shipping weight groups and age. $48 for 6,001 pounds to 8,000 pounds. Additional fees for vehicles over 8,000 pounds. Fee reduced 30 percent when vehicle is 5 or more years old. No special rates. 49.00 49.00 873.00
Tennessee Flat fee. A $2.50 clerk's fee is included in columns (2) through (4). A $1.00 reflectorized plate fee is assessed when new plates are issued. 23.00 23.00 23.00 Gross weight groups. $39.75 for 9,000 pounds or less to $1,334.25 for 80,000 pounds. $19.50 for 9,000 pounds or less to $493.75 for 80,000 pounds. 360.25 129.75 898.25
Texas Age groups or flat rate and gross weight. $40.50 for model year more than 6 years from date of annual registration to $58.50 for model year 3 years or less from date of annual registration. $25.00 plus 60 cents per cwt. for vehicles over 6,000 pounds. A 30 cent reflectorized plate fee is included in columns (2) through (4). 40.80 58.80 50.80 Flat fee plus gross weight groups. A 30 cent reflectorized plate fee is included in columns (8) and (9). $25.00 plus 44 cents per cwt. For 6,000 pounds or less to 99 cents per cwt. for over 31,000 pounds. Diesel trucks pay 11 percent additional fee. 1/2 regular fee plus $5. 180.07 95.19
Utah Flat fee. A $2.50 driver education fee is included in columns (2) through (4). A $1.00 reflectorized plate fee ($2.00 per automobile) is assessed when new plates are issued. 22.50 49.50 22.50 Gross weight groups. $22.50 for 12,000 pounds or less. For over 14,000 pounds add $18.50 for each 2,000 pounds or fraction thereof in excess. Vehicles over 80,000 pounds must purchase an overweight permit, and if over length, an oversize permit as well. Annual permits for overweight vehicles are $300.00, and for oversize vehicles are $50.00. $22.50 for 12,000 pounds or less. $33.00 for 12,001 pounds to 14,000 pounds. Add $9.00 for each 2,000 pounds or fraction thereof in excess of 14,000 pounds. Farm trucks in excess of 80,000 pounds or over length must purchase overweight and/or oversize permits with the same limits as regular registrations. 105.00 60.00 419.50
Vermont Flat fee. A $1.00 emission fee is assessed in addition to the fees shown. 59.00 59.00 59.00 Gross weight groups. A $1.00 emission fee is assessed in addition to the fees shown. $59.00 for less than 6,000 pounds to $20.42 per 1,000 pounds for over 80,000 pounds. additional fees of $29.00 for 10,000 pounds to $319.07 for 60,000 pounds and over. $40 for less than 18,000 pounds to $189 for over 55,000 pounds 271.00 40.00
Virginia Shipping weight groups: $33.00 for 4,000 pounds or less; $38.00 for over 4,000 pounds. A $1.50 State Police Inspection fee and $4.00 Emergency Medical Service fee are included in columns (2) through (4). 39.50 44.50 39.50 Flat fee plus fee based on gross weight. A $1.50 State Police inspection fee and an additional $5.00 fee for vehicles over 6,500 pounds are included in columns (8) and (10). $13.00 flat fee plus $2.60 per 1,000 pounds for 10,001 pounds to $13.25 per 1,000 pounds for 80,000 pounds. Minimum fee of $34.00 for vehicles with gross weight of 6,501 pounds to 10,000 pounds. 15/ Vehicles exclusively on the farm or on highways connecting farms, not in excess of twenty miles, are exempt from registration. Other two-axle farm vehicles 7,500 pounds or more pay 1/2 of fee per thousand pounds of gross 131.50 56.00 599.50
Washington Flat $30.00 fee. A $2.00 reflectorized plate fee ($4.00 per automobile) is assessed when new plates are issued. A $3.00 filing fee is included in each registration. A passenger vehicle weight fee is included in each registration. This fee varies by scale weight. The typical weight vehicle 3/ or 4/ would be assessed a $10.00 vehicle weight fee. A $0.75 Licensing Services fee is included in each registration. Average weight vehicles as listed below, powered by natural gas or liquefied petroleum gas are assessed an additional fee of $135.00. A $5.00 filing fee is included in each registration. $43.75 $43.75 $43.75 Declared gross weight groups including surcharge. A $2.00 reflectorized plate fee ($4.00 per automobile) is assessed when new plates are issued. A $3.00 filing fee is included in each registration. A passenger vehicle weight fee is included in each registration. This fee varies by scale weight. The typical weight vehicle 3/ or 4/ would be assessed a $10.00 vehicle weight fee. A $0.75 Licensing Services fee is included in each registration. $40.00 for up to 4,000 pounds to $501.00 for 40,000 pounds. $27.50 for 4,000 pounds or less to $263 for 40,000 pounds. Trucks operating within 15 miles of farm require only a $5 decal and are exempt from regular registration. A $3.00 filing fee is included in each registration. A $0.75 Licensing Services fee is included in each registration. $171.00 $98.00 $771.00
West Virginia Flat fee. A $1.50 additional fee is included in columns (2) through (4). 30.00 30.00 30.00 Gross weight groups. A $1.50 additional fee is included in $28.50 for 4,000 pounds or less to $78.50 for 16,000 pounds, plus $10.00 per $30 for 8,001 pounds to $250 for 90.00 61.50 754.75
Wisconsin Flat fee. 75.00 75.00 75.00 Gross weight groups. $75.00 for 4,500 pounds or less to $2,560.00 for 80,000 pounds. $45 for 12,000 pounds or less, 1/4 regular fee for over 12,000 pounds. 356.00 89.00 1,135.00
Wyoming Flat fee. 15.00 15.00 15.00 Empty weight groups. 16/ $2 for 1,000 pounds or less to $60 for 6,001 pounds or over. No special rates. 60.00 60.00 60.00

Part 2