Skip to contentU.S. Department of Transportation/Federal Highway Administration
Office of Highway Policy Information

Motor Fuel Data and the Highway Trust Fund

Highway Taxes and Fees 2008

Summary Of State Motor-vehicle Registration Fee Schedules 1/

Based on information obtained from state authorities and on the laws of the states.

Table MV-103 Part 2 of 2

Status as of January 1, 2008

STATE 3. TRUCK TRACTORS 4. SEMITRAILERS 17 / TYPICAL VEHICLE 3-AXLE 18 / TYPICAL VEHICLE 5-AXLE 19 / TWIN SEMITRAILER COMBINATION 20 /
FEE BASIS
(1)
APPROXIMATE FEERANGE
(2)
FEE BASIS
(3)
APPROXIMATE FEE RANGE
(4)
TRUCK TRACTOR 21/
(5)
SEMI-TRAILER
(6)
COMBINATION
(7)
TRUCK TRACTOR 21/
(8)
SEMI-TRAILER
(9)
COMBINATION
(10)
TRUCK TRACTOR 21/
(11)
FIRST SEMI-TRAILER
(12)
SECOND SEMI-TRAILER
(13)
COMBINATION
(14)
Alabama Gross vehicle weight. A $1.25 issuance fee is included in columns (5) and (8). $23 for up to 8,000 pounds to $890 for 80,001 pounds and over. Flat fee. A $1.25 issuance fee is included in columns (6) and (9). $20 per semitrailer, or $60 one time fee for permanent trailer plate $586.25 $21.25 $647.00 $816.25 $21.25 $877.50
Alaska Unladen weight. $78 for 10,000 pounds or less to $640 for 18,001 pounds and over. Flat fee. $10 permanent registration. 246.00 10.00 256.00 494.00 10.00 504.00 494.00 10.00 10.00 514.00
Arizona Flat fee plus fee based on gross weight of combination. $12.00 flat fee plus $7.50 for 8,000 pounds or less to $918 for 80,000 lbs. Flat fee. Registered with tractor truck plus $49 flat fee. 534.00 49.00 583.00 930.00 49.00 979.00
Arkansas Gross weight of combination. $6.50 per 1,000 pounds for 6,001 pounds to $14.30 per 1,000 pounds for 80,000 pounds. Flat fee. Registered with tractor truck plus $20 identification tag fee. 497.00 20.00 517.00 1,350.00 20.00 1,370.00 1,350.00 20.00 20.00 1,390.00
California Flat fee plus weight fee based on unladen weight and number of axles. $41 flat fee plus $8 for 3,000 pounds or less 2-axle truck to $1,016 for a 3-axle truck over 15,000 pounds. Gross vehicle limit in CA is 80,000 Flat fee of $20 with annual renewal every five years.   1,216.00 20.00 1,236.00 2,119.00 20.00 2,139.00 2,119.00 20.00 20.00 2,159.00
Colorado Empty weight for 16,000 pounds or less. Declared gross weight plus annual mileage groups for over 16,000 pounds. $7.60 for 2,000 pounds or less to $233.00 for 16,000 pounds. An additional registration fee of $12.00 for less than 7 yrs. old; $10.00 for '7 yrs. old but less than 10 yrs. old; $7.00 for 10 yrs. and older. $273.00 for 16,001 pounds and driven less than 30,000 miles per year to $2,373.00 for over 74,000 pounds and driven more than 30,000 miles per year plus $10.00. An additional fee of $1.50, a $4.00 clerk fee, a 50 cent emission fee, $1.00 Emergency Medical Network. Flat fee. $7.50 per semitrailer. An additional fee of $1.50, a $4.00 clerk fee and 50 cent emission fee are included in columns (6), (9), (12) and (13). 709.00 10.50 719.50 2,105.00 10.50 2,115.50 2,105.00 10.50 10.50 2,126.00
Connecticut Gross weight of combination. $1.15 per cwt. up to 20,000 pounds to $1.90 per cwt. for over 73,000 pounds. Minimum fee: $39.00. Flat fee. $35 per semitrailer. 788.00 35.00 823.00 1,520.00 35.00 1,555.00
Delaware Gross weight. $40 for first 5,000 pounds and $18.00 for each additional 1,000 pounds. Gross weight. Vehicle owners are allowed to put the entire registration weight on the truck tractor and no weight on trailer. $40 for first 5,000 pounds and $18.00 for each additional 1,000 pounds. 440.00 238.40 678.40 708.80 507.20 1,216.00
Optional basis: Gross of combination       692.00 20.00 712.00 1,280.00 20.00 1,300.00
District of Columbia Empty weight groups. A $25 inspection fee is assessed every year in addition to the fees shown. $125 for less than 3,500 pounds to $750 for 17,999 pounds Empty weight groups. A $25 inspection fee is assessed every year in addition to the fees shown. $125 for less than 1,499 pounds to $500 for 9,999 pounds 228.00 176.00 404.00 340.00 361.00 701.00
Florida Gross weight of combination. Flat fees in twelve different weight groups and applicable add-on fees are identical to those contained in column (5) for single-unit trucks, gross weight groups. Add-on fees are included in column (2). $256.60 for 34,999 pounds or less to $994.60 for 72,000 pounds and over. Flat fee. A $2.50 service charge, a 50 cent reflectorized plate fee, a 50 cent Real Time Vehicle Information System fee, a $1 Air Pollution Control fee, a $1 Law Enforcement Radio System fee, a $2 License Plate Replacement fee, a $2 surcharge, 10 cent Emergency Medical Services fee, $1 Juvenile Justice fee, and a $1 Decal on Demand Fee are included in columns (4) through (13) $21.60 per semitrailer. $588.60 $21.60 $610.20 $994.60 $21.60 $1,016.20
Georgia Gross weight. $20 for 14,000 pounds or less to $400 to maximum weight, "not for hire" trucks, or to $725 to maximum weight, " for hire" trucks. Flat fee. Registered with tractor truck; plus $12 flat fee; permanent registration fee is $48. 190.00 12.00 202.00 400.00 12.00 412.00
Hawaii For the City and County of Honolulu, Hawaii County, Maui County and Kauai County:                          
Flat fee ($25.00) plus net weight tax of 3.50 cents per pound for the City and County of Honolulu. 10/ $316.50 for 6,000 pounds to $896.00 for 20,000 pounds in the City and County of Honolulu. Same schedule as for tractor trucks. Same schedule as for tractor trucks. 491.31 361.50 854.81 701.90 627.00 1,328.90
Flat fee ($18.00) plus net weight tax of 2.00 cents per pound for Hawaii County. 11/ $223.50 to $593.50 for Hawaii County. Same schedule as for tractor trucks. Same schedule as for tractor trucks. 366.23 253.50 619.73 482.30 439.50 921.80 482.30 439.50 329.50
Net weight tax of 0.02 per pound for Maui County. 11/ $171.50 to $471.50 for Maui County. Same schedule as for tractor trucks. Same schedule as for tractor trucks. 393.67 191.50 485.17 394.10 344.00 738.10
Net weight tax of 0.025 per pound for Kauai County. 11/ $201.00 to $571.00 for Kauai County. Same schedule as for tractor trucks. Same schedule as for tractor trucks. 244.18 157.50 401.68 319.90 286.50 606.40
Flat fee ($25.00) plus net weight tax of 0.75 cent per pound for 4,000 pounds or less; 1 cent per pound for 4,001 to 7,000 pounds; 1.25 cent per pound for 7,001 to 10,000 pounds flat rate of $150.00 for over 10,000 pounds. 9/                          
Idaho Gross weight of combination. A $3.00 reflectorized plate fee ($ 6.00 per tractor truck) is assessed when new plates are issued. A $ 1.25 emergency medical services fee is included in columns (5), (8) and (11). 22/ $48.00 for 16,000 pounds or less to $515.40 for 50,001 to 60,000 pounds . $210.00 to $ $4,500.00 depending on miles traveled for 60,001 to 106,000 pounds. Flat fee. A $3.00 reflectorized plate fee is assessed when new plates are issued. A $1.25 emergency medical services fee is included in columns (6), (9), (12) and (13). $15 per semitrailer. 361.25 16.25 377.50 3,201.75 16.25 3,218.00 4,501.25 16.25 16.25 4,533.75
Illinois Flat fee plus fee based on gross weight of combination. $10 flat fee plus $68 for gross weight of 8,000 pounds or less to $2,780 for 80,000 pounds. Flat fee. Registered with tractor truck. Additional $19 fee one-time. (Paid when first registered.) $1,538.00 $1,538.00 $2,790.00 $2,790.00
Optional basis: Flat fee plus mileage weight tax. $10 flat fee plus $73 for 12,000 pounds or less to $1,415 for 80,000 pounds with per mile tax on annual mileage exceeding stipulated amounts. Optional basis: Flat fee plus mileage weight tax. Registered with tractor truck. Additional $19 fee one-time. (Paid when first registered.) 863.00 863.00 1,425.00 1,425.00
Indiana Gross weight of combination. A 25 cent Public Safety fee and a 50 cent financial responsibility fee are included in columns (5), (8) and (11). $170 for 20,000 pounds or less to $1,350 for over 78,000 pounds. Flat fee or gross weight of tractor and trailer combined. A 25 cent Public Safety fee and a 50 cent financial responsibility fee are included in columns (6), (9), (12) and (13). $30 per semitrailer on an annual basis. 660.75 30.75 691.50 1,350.75 30.75 1,381.50 1,350.75 30.75 30.75 1,412.25
Iowa Gross weight of combination. $65 for 3 tons or less (decreasing with age to a minimum of $35) to $1,695 for 40 tons. Over 40 tons is $1,695 plus $80 for each ton in excess of 40 tons. Flat fee. $10 per semitrailer. 835.00 10.00 845.00 1,695.00 10.00 1,705.00
Kansas Gross weight of combination. $35.00 for 12,000 pounds or less to $1,925.00 for 85,500 pounds. A $2.25 service fee is included in columns (5) and (8). Gross weight groups. $15.00 for 8,000 pounds or less to $35.00 for 12,000 pounds or more. A $2.25 service fee is included in columns (6) and (9). 602.25 37.25 639.50 1,727.25 37.25 1,764.50
Kentucky Gross weight groups. A $9 service charge , a 50 cent Reflectorized Plate fee, an additional county clerk fee of $6.00, and a State fee of $3.00 are included in columns (5) and (8). $21.00 for 10,000 pounds or less to $1,410.00 for 82,000 pounds. Flat fee. A $1.00 service charge is included in columns (6) and (9). Registered with tractor truck, plus $19.50 flat fee. 703.50 20.50 724.00 1,444.50 20.50 1,465.00
Louisiana Gross weight of combination. $10 per year for a 4 year period for 6,000 pounds or less to $1,056 for 88,000 pounds, paid annually. Flat fee. $10 per semitrailer. 273.50 10.00 283.50 494.00 10.00 504.00
Maine Gross weight of combination. $25 for 6,000 pounds or less to $982 for 90,000 pounds. $40 rebate for vehicles registered for more than 23,000 pounds gross vehicle weight and attesting to exclusive operation in the power unit semitrailer mode. Flat fee. $20 per semitrailer. 408.00 20.00 424.00 835.00 20.00 851.00
Maryland Gross weight of combination. $14.50 per 1,000 pounds for 60,000 pounds or less, 40,000 pounds minimum, to $16.00 per 1,000 pounds up to 80,000 pounds. An $8.00 surcharge is included in columns (6) and (9). Freight-flat rate. Nonfreight-gross weight limit. Trailer fee (freight) $20.25. Trailer fee (nonfreight) $13.50 for 3,000 pounds or less up to $81.00 for 20,000 pounds. 660.50 20.25 680.75 1,288.00 20.25 1,308.25
Massachusetts Gross weight of combination. $15 per 1,000 pounds for greater than 5,000 pounds. Annual minimum fee, $90. Flat fee for 5 years. $250 for 5 years. $675.00 $250.00 $925.00 $1,200.00 $250.00 $1,450.00 $1,575.00 $250.00 $250.00 $2,075.00
Michigan Gross weight of combination. $378 for under 24,000 pounds to $2,398 for over 160,000 pounds. Empty weight. $17 for 500 pounds or less to $39 for over 1,500 pounds. 773.00 39.00 812.00 1,277.00 39.00 1,316.00
Minnesota Gross weight of combination and age. Fee reduced in the eighth year of vehicle life. $90 for 9,000 pounds or less to $1,760 for 81,000 pounds. Fee reduced by 25 percent for vehicles 9 years old and older. Manufacturing cost of plate. Registered with power unit. Registered with power unit. 595.00 595.00 1,760.00 1,760.00
Mississippi Flat fee plus gross weight of combination. $10.00 tag fee plus $7.20 for 6,000 pounds or less to $2,862.00 for 80,000 pounds combined gross weight. Flat fee. Tag fee plus privilege tax. Registered with tractor truck, plus $10 tag fee and $10 privilege tax. 1,338.25 20.00 1,358.25 2,872.00 20.00 2,892.00
Missouri Gross weight of combination. $25.50 for 6,000 pounds or less to $1,719.50 for over 78,000 pounds. Flat fee. $7.50 per semitrailer. 550.50 7.50 558.00 1,719.50 7.50 1,727.00
Montana Flat fee plus gross weight fee. $15.25 flat fee plus gross weight fee of $21.00 for 16,000 pounds or less to $750.00 for 80,000 pounds plus $46.00 for each 2,000 pounds over 80,000 pounds. Empty weight. $10.25 for 6,000 pounds or less; $15.25 for more than 6,000 pounds. 125.25 15.25 140.50 315.25 15.25 330.50 315.25 15.25 15.25 345.75
Optional basis: Gross weight of combination. $571.00 for 42,000 pounds or less to $1,653.00 for 78,000 pounds plus $65.00 for each 2,000 pounds over 78,000 pounds. No additional fee. Registered with tractor truck. 691.00 691.00 1,718.50 1,718.50 2,570.00 2,570.00
Nebraska Gross weight of combination. An additional fee of $5.50 and (8). A $3.25 per plate fee is assessed when new plates are issued. $18 for 3 tons or less to $1,140 for 47 tons. Flat fee. An additional fee of $5.50 is included in columns (6) and (9). A $3.25 per plate fee is assessed when new plates are issued. $1.00 per semitrailer. 487.50 3.50 491.00 932.50 3.50 936.00
Nevada Declared gross weight groups. $33 for 6,000 pounds or less to $48 for 10,000 pounds. Over 10,000 to 26,000 pounds, $12 per 1,000 pounds. Over 26,000 to 80,000 pounds, $17 per 1,000 pounds. Empty weight. $12 for empty weight of 1,000 pounds or less to $24 for over 1,000 pounds. Plus $60 per 1,000 pounds over 80,000 up to 129,000 pounds. Maximum fee: $2,940. 765.00 24.00 789.00 1,360.00 24.00 1,384.00 1,360.00 24.00 24.00 1,408.00
New Hampshire Gross weight of combination plus additional $4.00 per plate reflectorized plate fee when new plates are issued. For gross combination weights to 73,280 pounds, 96 cents per cwt. Plus for gross combination weights over 73,281 pounds $1.44 per cwt. or portion thereof. No additional fee for first (heaviest) semitrailer. Registered with tractor truck. Additional semitrailer, $24.00 flat fee plus $4.00 reflectorized plate fee when new plates are issued. 432.00 432.00 1,240.00 1,240.00
New Jersey Gross weight of combination. A $2.50 inspection fee is assessed in addition to the fees shown. $53.50 for 5,000 pounds or less to $11.50 for 1,000 pounds for over 40,000 to 70,000 pounds. Flat fee. A $2.50 inspection fee is assessed in addition to the fees shown. $18 per year. $433.50 $18.00 $451.50 $841.00 $18.00 $859.00
New Mexico Gross weight of combination and age. 12/ $40 for 4,000 pounds or less to $201 for 26,000 pounds. $118 for 26,001 to 48,000 pounds, and $172 for 48,001 pounds and over. Fee reduced 20 percent after 5 years for trucks under 26,000 pounds. Flat fee. $13 per semitrailer. Permanent registration. 118.00 118.00 172.00 172.00
New York Gross weight of combination. A reflectorized plate fee not to exceed $1.50 above actual cost, rounded to the nearest '25 cents, is assessed when new plates are issued. $1.21 per cwt. or fraction thereof, rounded to the nearest 25 cents. Flat fee. A reflectorized plate fee, not to exceed $1.50 above actual cost, rounded to the nearest 25 cents, is assessed when new plates are issued. $23 per semitrailer. Optional basis: 1989 or later model year registered for a period of not less than 5 1/2 nor more than 6 1/2 years for a fee of $69. 544.50 23.00 567.50 968.00 23.00 991.00
North Carolina Gross weight of combination and flat fee. $3.00 plus 59 cents per cwt. For 4,000 pounds or less to $1.54 per cwt. for over 17,000 pounds to a maximum of 80,000 pounds. Minimum fee: $28.00. Flat fee. $19 per semitrailer. 543.00 19.00 562.00 963.00 19.00 982.00
North Dakota Gross weight of combination and age $100 for 20,001 pounds for 13th and subsequent registrations to $1,792 for 105,500 pounds for the 1st through 7th registrations. Flat fee. Registered with tractor truck plus a $20 identification fee. 562.00 20.00 582.00 1,059.00 20.00 1,079.00 1,277.00 20.00 20.00 1,297.00
Ohio Gross weight of combination. A $3.50 service charge and an $11 Hwy Safety Fee is included in columns (5) and (8). A 50 cent reflectorized plate fee is assessed when new plates are issued. The fee does not include the local tax ranging from $0 to $20 in increments of $5. Rates vary between several weight classes. (Ex.: $56.00 for 2,000 pounds. or less. $1,351 for vehicles with a gross weight between 78,001 pounds and 80,000 pounds.) This fee does not include the local tax ranging from $0 to $20 in increments of $5. Flat fee. A $3.50 service charge and an $11.00 Hwy Safety Fee is included in columns (6) and (9). A 50 cent reflectorized plate fee is assessed when new plates are issued. The fee does not include the local tax ranging from $0 to $20 in increments of $5. $36.00 per semitrailer. 611.00 36.00 647.00 1,351.00 36.00 1,387.00
Oklahoma Gross weight groups: A $1.75 administration fee and a $3.00 general revenue fund fee are included in columns (5) and (8). $101.00 for under 15,000 pounds to $1,084.00 for 90,000 pounds. Minimum fee $100.00. Flat fee. A $1.75 administration fee, a 50 cent tax commission fee, and a $3.00 general revenue fund fee are included in columns (6) $46.00 per semitrailer, and $4, thereafter, for every year with the same owner. 405.50 45.50 451.00 953.50 45.50 999.00
Oregon Gross weight groups. 13/ $15 for 8,000 pounds or less to Flat fee. $10 per semitrailer. 185.00 10.00 195.00 320.00 10.00 330.00 415.00 10.00 10.00 435.00
  $415 for 105,000 pounds.                        
Pennsylvania Gross weight of combination. $58.50 for 5,000 pounds or less to $1687.50 for 80,000 pounds Gross weight. $6 for 3,000 pounds or less to $12 for 10,000 pounds. $27 flat fee for over 10,000 pounds. $828.00 $12.00 $840.00 $1,687.50 $27.00 $1,714.50 $1,687.50 $27.00 $12.00 $1,726.50
Rhode Island Gross weight of combination. A $5 reflectorized plate fee is assessed when new plates are issued. $34 for 4,000 pounds or less to $972 for 74,000 pounds plus $24 per 2,000 pounds over 74,000 pounds. Flat fee. A $5 reflectorized plate fee is assessed when new plates are issued. Registered with tractor truck, plus $5 flat fee. (maximum of 10 trailers with a single tractor truck.) 608.00 12.00 620.00 1,044.00 12.00 1,056.00
South Carolina Gross vehicle weight. $30 for 4,000 pounds or less to $1,600 for 80,000 pounds. Flat fee. $20 per semitrailer. 680.00 20.00 700.00 1,600.00 20.00 1,620.00
South Dakota Gross weight of combination and age. $85 for 4,000 pounds or less to $250 for 20,000 pounds plus $40 for each additional 2,000 pounds in excess of 20,000. Fee reduced 10 percent when vehicle is 5 or more years old. Flat fee. Registered with tractor truck, plus $10 flat fee. 693.00 20.00 700.00 1,311.00 20.00 1,321.00 1,779.00 10.00 10.00 1,799.00
Tennessee Gross weight of combination. $39.75 for 9,000 pounds or less to $1,334.25 for 80,000 pounds. Flat fee. $50 per semitrailer. Permanent registration. 770.25 50.00 820.25 1,334.25 50.00 1,384.25
Texas Flat fee plus gross weight of combination. A 30 cent reflectorized plate fee is included in columns (5) and (8). $40 plus 60 cents per cwt. For 36,000 pounds or less to $1.00 per cwt. for over 62,000 pounds. Diesel combinations do not pay any additional fees. Combinations must have gross weight of over 18,000 pounds. Flat fee. A 30 cent reflectorized plate fee is included in columns (6) and (9). Registered with tractor truck, plus $15 flat fee. 445.30 15.30 460.60 840.30 15.30 855.60
Utah Gross weight groups. $49.50 for 12,001 pounds to 14,000 pounds. Add $18.50 for each 2,000 pounds or fraction thereof in excess of 80,000 pounds. All vehicles over 80,000 pounds must purchase an overweight permit, and if over length, an oversize permit as well. Annual permits for overweight vehicles are $300.00 and for oversize are $50.00. Flat fee. $11 annual fee or $110 382.50 11.00 393.50 660.00 11.00 671.00 960.50 11.00 11.00 982.50
Vermont Gross weight of combination. A $1.00 emission fee is assessed in addition to the fees shown. $59.00 for less than 6,000 pounds to $20.42 per 1,000 pounds for over 80,000 pounds. Additional fees of $29.00 for 10,000 pounds to $319.07 for 60,000 pounds and over. Flat fee. A $1.00 emission fee is assessed in addition to the fees shown. Registered with tractor truck, plus $20 flat fee. 1,091.50 40.00 1,131.50 1,909.50 40.00 1,949.50
Virginia Flat fee plus fee based on gross weight of combination. A $1.50 State Police inspection fee and an additional $5.00 fee for vehicles over 6,500 pounds are included in columns (5) and (8). 15/ $23.00 flat fee plus $3.17 per 1,000 pounds for 10,001 pounds to $16.17 per 1,000 pounds Minimum fee of $38.00 for vehicles with a gross weight of 6,501 pounds to 10,000 pounds. Flat fee. A $1.50 State Police inspection fee is included in column (6) and (9). Registered with tractor truck $33 flat fee for 4,000 pounds or less, and $38 for 4,000 pounds through 6,500 pounds and $39 for 6,501 through 10,000 pounds 348.00 23.50 371.50 979.50 23.50 1,003.00
Washington Declared gross weight of combination including surcharge. A $12.00 reflectorized plate fee ($4 per truck) is assessed when plates are issued. A $3.00 filing fee is included in each registration. A $0.75 Licensing Services fee is included in each registration. $90 for 14,000 pounds to $3,402 for 105,500 pounds. Flat fee. A $2.00 reflectorized plate fee ($4 per truck) is assessed when plates are issued. A $3.00 filing fee is included in each registration. A $0.75 Licensing Services fee is included in each registration. If registered with tractor truck, $36 flat fee for lifetime registration. A $3.00 filing fee is included in each registration. A $0.75 Licensing Services fee is included in each registration. $686.00 $36.00 $722.00 $1,832.00 $36.00 $1,868.00 $2,919.00 $36.00 $36.00 $3,046.00
West Virginia Fee based on gross weight of combination. A $1.50 additional fee is included in columns (5) and (8). $28.50 for 4,000 pounds or less to $1,131.25 for 80,000 pounds. Flat fee. If over 2,000 pounds and registered separately $18.50, otherwise waived. 348.00 23.50 371.50 979.50 23.50 1,003.00
Wisconsin Gross weight of combination. $93.00 for 4,500 pounds or less to $2,578.50 for 80,000 pounds. Flat fee. $50 per semitrailer. Permanent registration. 1,081.00 50.00 1,131.00 2,578.00 50.00 2,628.00 2,578.00 50.00 50.00 2,687.00
Wyoming Empty weight groups. 16/ $2 for 1,000 pounds or less to $60 for 6,001 pounds and over. Empty weight groups. 16/ Same schedule as for tractor trucks. 60.00 60.00 120.00 60.00 60.00 120.00 60.00 60.00 60.00 180.00

Part 1