U.S. Department of Transportation
Federal Highway Administration
1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE
Washington, DC 20590

Skip to content U.S. Department of Transportation/Federal Highway AdministrationU.S. Department of Transportation/Federal Highway Administration

Special Federal-aid Funding


ARCHIVED: 2012 Discretionary Grant Programs

Delta Region Transportation Development

This collection of information is voluntary and will be used to support and encourage multistate transportation planning and corridor development, provide for project development, facilitate decision making, and support construction in the eight States comprising the Delta Region. Public reporting burden is estimated to average 90 minutes per response, including the time for reviewing instructions searching existing data sources, gathering and maintaining the data needed, and completing and reviewing the collection of information. Please note that an agency may not conduct or sponsor, and a person is not required to respond to, a collection of information unless it displays a currently valid Office of Management and Budget (OMB) control number. The OMB control number for this collection is 2125-0615 with an expiration date of July 31, 2013. Send comments regarding this burden estimate or any other aspect of this collection of information, including suggestions for reducing this burden to: Information Collection Clearance Officer, Federal Highway Administration, 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE, Washington, DC 20590.


The Delta Region Transportation Development Program (DRTDP) is authorized in section 1308 of the Safe, Accountable, Flexible, Efficient Transportation Equity Act: A Legacy For Users (SAFETEA-LU, Pub. L. 109-59), and has been reauthorized and continued through March 31, 2012. The program provides grants to: (1) support and encourage multistate transportation planning and corridor development; (2) provide for transportation project development; (3) facilitate transportation decision making; and (4) support transportation construction in the Delta region. The Delta region includes the portions of Alabama, Arkansas, Illinois, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, and Tennessee under the authority of the Delta Regional Authority ( http://www.dra.gov/about-us/eight-state-map.aspx).

Entities Eligible to Apply for Funding

Delta Region States and metropolitan planning organizations in a Delta Region State are eligible for DRTDP discretionary grants.

Estimated Amount Available for Grants* $4,700,000
*Note: Actual amount available for award subject to reduction pending final obligation limitation distribution and lop-off calculation.

How to Apply

Application Deadline January 6, 2012

Updated: 02/27/2019
Federal Highway Administration | 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE | Washington, DC 20590 | 202-366-4000