U.S. Department of Transportation
Federal Highway Administration
1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE
Washington, DC 20590

Skip to content
Facebook iconYouTube iconTwitter iconFlickr iconLinkedInInstagram

Federal Highway Administration Research and Technology
Coordinating, Developing, and Delivering Highway Transportation Innovations

This report is an archived publication and may contain dated technical, contact, and link information
Back to Publication List        
Publication Number:  FHWA-HRT-16-040    Date:  July 2016
Publication Number: FHWA-HRT-16-040
Date: July 2016


Evaluation of Pedestrian Hybrid Beacons and Rapid Flashing Beacons


This research is sponsored by the FHWA as part of the "Evaluation of Pedestrian Hybrid Beacons and Rapid Flashing Beacons" project.

The project was under the direction of Ann Do of FHWA. The following panel members provided comments and advice and generously donating their time and effort during the project: George Branyan, Michael Cynecki, Dwight Kingsbury, Peter Koonce, Ransford McCourt, Richard Nassi, and Gary Schatz. Their advice and guidance was greatly appreciated during the course of the study.

Several TTI employees assisted the authors with the closed-course study or the open-road studies by collecting data, including Susan T. Chrysler, Daniel P. Walker, Nicholas S. Wood, Ivan G. Lorenz, Nada D. Trout, Sandra K. Stone, Laura L. Higgins, Richard A. Zimmer, and Diana G. Wallace.

Several TTI student employees also assisted the authors with either the closed-course or open‑road studies by collecting or reducing the data, including Benjamin C. Starnes, Shannon E. Duffie, George F. Gillette, II, Farinoush Sharifi, Eathan R. Langdale, Brittany C. Bednarz, Aaron C. White, Carla Beltran, Maria C. Rodriguez, Darshan Padmanabha, Sarah E. Motes, Kent Krueger, Amanda B. Martin, Julie L. Smith, Rachel D. Musgrove, Kathryn E. Bender, Kelsey R. Zorn, Kendra A. Zorn, Carla B. Kolber, Apoorba Bibeka, and Crystal Salazar.

The research team is also grateful to the representatives and staff of the cities that participated in and facilitated the open-road study, including Aurora, IL (Eric Gaullt); Austin, TX (Jim Dale, Ronnie Bell, and Jonathan Lammert); Douglas County, CO (Amy E. Branstetter, Duane Cleere, Leonard Cheslock, and Carlos Zambrano); Garland, TX (Dave Timbrell and Chris Moore); Marshall, TX (William ‘Bill' Marshall, J.C. Hughes, and Buzz Snyder); Phoenix, AZ (Kerry Wilcoxon); and Tucson, AZ (Richardo Montano and Diahn Swartz).

The authors of this report also value the comments provided by reviewers of draft versions of this material and members of the NCUTCD.



Federal Highway Administration | 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE | Washington, DC 20590 | 202-366-4000
Turner-Fairbank Highway Research Center | 6300 Georgetown Pike | McLean, VA | 22101